We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
241
260
157
90
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
260
157
90
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive coach trip gb tours large hotel reading room waiting staff bus stop breakfast and evening meal meal times very pleasant stay cooked breakfast twin room great weekend weekend break north devon couldn't fault full english
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My hubby treated me to a romantic stay in the jacuzzi room...WOW! Fantastic...when we checked in we were given a complimentary cream tea which was delicious. The room was lovely with rose petals on the bed and a basket containing hotel chocolat chocaolates and biscuits and crisps. The bathroom was out of this world. We ate in the restaurant and i have to say the food was brilliant. Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durranthousehotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on trip advisor, its great to hear that you have a lovely romantic stay and found the food to be brilliant. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Durrant House hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had spent the day visiting Paignton and Dawlish and heading back by train to Barnstaple decided it would be fairly late in the evening when we would arrive at our ultimate destination. We discussed various places to stop for a meal and as we knew the Durrant Hotel served food up until 9:30 pm decided to eat there.
We have eaten here on a number of occasions since moving down to this part of the country and always appreciated the hard work of the staff in keeping the hotel looking so inviting.
We decided to eat in the bar area which is less formal and suited our attire (being a lovely warm day we were in shorts and t-shirts). Chose the 2 courses for £9.50 from the table menus (£8.50 for same meals up to 5pm.) We chose the battered fish with thick cut chips and peas with a slice of blackcurrant cheesecake for dessert. The portions were fairly large and filling but I found the fish to be a little overdone and the batter quite hard. The dessert was well presented and again a fairly large serving. This is the first time we had had the fish, usually my husband chooses the daily roast and I will have a more vegetarian option.
On this occasion the tables in the bar were not cleared and wiped down quite as quickly as on previous experience an the bar person taking our initial order was not sure of the procedure before ordering and had to get a colleague to take over.
None of the aspects of this visit were detrimental to our view of the Durrant. We put the issues we experienced down to how late it was and possibly training up of new staff.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank MrsBee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durranthousehotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your Trip advisor review on a recent meal at the Durrant House Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you are a regular guest to the hotel and find it to be kept looking inviting. We do have new staff members joining our skilled team from time to time however this should not impact your visit and I am happy to hear that our more senior team members were happy to step in where necessary and am glad you did not find this detrimental to your view of the hotel. I am saddened to hear your comments regarding the food, if we are ever made aware at the time that a guest is unhappy with their meal we will always act to rectify this immediately and where not possible offer an alternative. Thank you again for all of your feedback and continued custom. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Durrant House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay here on a coach holiday,very big hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was very good and breakfast was good, very organised staff serving,they had to be as there was 5 coach loads in,entertainment was also good,2 games of bingo then the entertainment, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a special room with a four poster bed!!! Would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JoanS2396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durranthousehotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. I am delighted to read your review and all of your lovely comments on the staff being very friendly, helpful and well organised and that the food and entertainment was good throughout your stay with us. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Durrant House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

It was a bit tired and needed a makeover. Most of the staff were good and very obliging all but one who was rude at times. we had to wait qite a whlie for our food and one morning we went in for breakfast and the table was not even set.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P9487DIsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durranthousehotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your trip advisor review. All feedback is extremely important to us at the hotel as it helps with continuous improvement throughout the hotel and services we offer. We strive ourselves on offering great customer service and can only apologise if you feel this was not delivered, all of your comments raised will of course be looked into thoroughly. We do hope to see you at the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Durrant House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Dirty uncleaned room
Disorganised
Staff very sharp when asked question.

All together not impressed or happy
Hope to not retern again.

Dinnertime was a shambles.. and I stay in hotels every week
This one's possibly the worst

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durranthousehotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Richard,
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. We are extremely disappointed to read your review after your stay with us last week with your Coach party. If you had made us aware during your stay that you were unhappy in any way at all we would have been more than happy to help and would have immediately acted to rectify the situation. We do like to work closely with our coach drivers/organisers staying in the hotel to help ensure that our mutual guests have an enjoyable stay and am saddened that you did not come to us with any of the above points raised in your review. We have a full time housekeeping Team who do visit the bedrooms every day as we aim to deliver a high standard of cleanliness and apologies if anything was missed however had we been told a member of housekeeping would have been happy to visit your room or offer an alternative room. We are disheartened by your comments overall and that you felt Dinner time was a Shambles, our experienced food and beverage Team do always aim to deliver a smooth Dinner Service plus Tea and Coffee each evening and strive ourselves on delivering a high level of customer service. We always ensure that table checks are carried out to ensure that all guests are happy and to allow guests to raise any problems, I understand from our food and beverage managers that they spoke with you on several occasions with no problems raised. Again thank you for your review as these help us with continuous improvements to the hotel and services we offer and all points raised will of course be investigated.
Kind Regards,
Durrant House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews