We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
167
55
4
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
55
4
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel owners were friendly local suppliers town centre warm welcome new owners breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast comfortable bed on arrival minute walk full english an excellent hotel guest lounge would highly recommend this hotel stayed two nights visiting the area
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 239 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2016

ideal base to explore north devon. room 4 spacious plenty of storage spotlessly clean.first class breakfast served by steve who was always helpful with local info on places to see and where to eat .We would not hesitate to stay their again

Room tip: room 4 view to the estuary
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 127stuarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

What more can I say than everything about staying here was excellent: the hotel is in a nice quiet location and the hotel owners are very welcoming. Everything was clean and tidy and nicely appointed. The room overlooked the lovely back garden and he food was excellent.

Room tip: Nice view of the garden from my room
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016

I have found in our recent trip in the UK that not all "hotels" are real hotels but probably b&bs with a bar that you would not bother to try and they can then call them hotels..
As a b&bs this property was very good although the proximity to the river is quiet misleading.
One would expect a hotel to serve meals but no that does not happen and you either catch a cab about 2miles into town if you want an evening meal and drinks or risk being breath tested if you drive it. On our night there the only place with food open was one of the pubs with very average Thai food.
The owner was very helpful with information and usually appeared out of no where when you had any queries.
Without his help we would not have been able to get our cases down to the basement rooms as the very narrow stairs has a disability lift taking up a lot of space.
The

Room tip: Go upstairs not down
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dirkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2016

We stayed in the King Room on the Ground Floor. We loved the decor, comfort and cleanliness, and the English breakfasts are wonderful, and the guest lounge, bar with local beers, and sun terrace are great for relaxing in the evening. Good proximity to Bideford town centre, and we appreciated being able to lock our bikes up safely overnight. Our hosts Jane and Steve are friendly and welcoming and we would definitely stay here again when in North Devon.

Room tip: The King Room Ground Floor is quiet.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay! We have currently stayed 3 out of 4 nights here and it has been an exceptional stay so far! Steve and Jane are lovely people and very warm and welcoming! They put so much effort into making this hotel friendly, very clean, warm and cosy. And the breakfast is out of this world! Best scrambled egg ever! And the coffee is delicious too! Steve and Jane can offer you brilliant advice on top places to eat and visit during your stay! Nothing is too much trouble for them and it's clear they put their heart and sole into running this place! We had a lovely room with a stunning view of Bideford and the river! We would not hesitate to stay here again when we visit Devon. As the location is perfect. Close by the all the popular visitor attractions. We have explored lots of North Devon but there is always more to see! Thank you Steve and Jane for such a lovely stay!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews