We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Raleigh Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Liverpool...
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Raleigh Barn. The only thing we could be critical about was the weather as Sarah and Myles have everything else at the barn to a very high standard. The barn was beautifully furnished with quality fixtures and fittings. The beds and bedding were soo comfortable and the bathrooms with their Laura Ashley towels were fab. My husband actually complained that our pillows at home are not as good as those at Raleigh Barn (cue shopping trip!) As mentioned by others, Sarah left a delicious cake to welcome us and packed away our online groceries before we arrived.
We loved the peace and serenity of the place but the only thing I would mention is that it is a 10 minute drive to the nearest pub if you want to eat out. A pub within walking distance would have been nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs ”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Absolutely wonderful place to stay. High spec barn renovation. Extremely warm and cosy especially with the weather being so cold and you can't beat underfloor heating! Very thoughtful touches by the owners. Have no hesitation in recommending staying here. If you want peace and quiet and the feeling of getting away from everything, this is the place to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryH813...
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hunkered down in Devon”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Due to the weather we only managed to get out a couple of times during our four day stay at Raliegh Barn. However, the Barn offers the peaceful, secluded comfort which is ideal for those stay in and chill out days. It seems that all guests are provided with a cake as part of the welcome package and we were no exception. It was all part of the warm reception provided by Sarah and Myles who really made us feel very welcome. The barn is comfortably and tastefully furnished and it matches modern facilities with traditional materials and decor. A top rate few days which could only have been improved by kinder weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm and friendly welcome.
Liked least: Difficult to think of anything apart from the weather.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Well Located Tranquility and Comfort”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A beautifully converted barn in a very tranquil rural area but only minutes away from the North Devon coast and all the amenities you could want.
Very welcoming hosts (they had even packed away our on-line grocery shop and baked us a lovely cake). Sally the Springer gave us a very affectionate welcome too!
Loads to see and do in the area; highlights for us being local walks (give the Gnome Reserve a try, its fun - especially in the rain!); cycling on the Tarka Trail; Appledore and Instow, Clovelly and especially Hartland and Hartland Point for for great pubs and walking in very dramatic coastal scenery. The RHS gardens at Rosemoor are a must too.
The barn was spotlessly clean and very well maintained and is thoroughly recommended. Having the lovely owners nearby was helpful and their wealth of local knowledge and advice very useful.
We would love to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top,quality accommodation
Liked least: Nothing apart from the rain!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic secluded barn with all you could wish for!”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This barn is truly out of the way, down green lanes and in a tiny hamlet of houses. The barn is finished to an extremely high standard, with high quality linens, towels, furniture etc and Myles and Sarah are so helpful. My sister and I stayed for a get away from it all break and it was perfect. We ventured out to try out the local walks Myles provided with printed maps but mainly enjoyed relaxing in the barn. The underfloor heating was the best we have ever experienced and we had to turn it down it was so effective. Sarah's Victoria Sponge was to die for and the eggs from the chickens were great. Sally the spaniel was so cute and friendly and the chickens were very friendly too. The only wish was that they had a barn that my husband and I could rent with our cocker spaniel!! All in all a great stay. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Not being able to bring our dog to stay.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASandERW7
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we loved this place!”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

great, comfortable, stylish, fab bathrooms and a beautiful part of the country, Sarah and Myles amazing and helpful hosts ,what more could you want ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ever thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and 5* comfort (with cake!) made our three week stay sublime”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful three week stay with superb weather too. There was homemade cake and fresh flowers in the property on arrival. Very comfortable accommodation with great attention to detail. Peaceful location with countryside views. Owners were very friendly and obliging.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing