We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasure to return to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We held our wedding reception in this lovely old building 30 years ago and decided to celebrate our latest anniversary at the same location by inviting family and friends for a re-union last weekend. We requested buffet food and were able to choose the menu, to include some vegetarian options. This was excellent and fully appreciated by our party of 35 guests, as was our breakfast the following morning.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and our bedroom (the one with the four-poster bed) was large, clean and comfortable.
While making the arrangements for this event with Karen and during our stay we found the staff to be friendly, polite and helpful and we are particularly grateful to Paul and the bar staff for making this re-union go so well.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel, which has the same charm now that it held for us 30 years ago.

Room Tip: no 38 with the four-poster bed is ideal for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffmaryoverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Absolutely great location near to the Saturday market & loads of shops & cafes. Beautiful William Morris wallpaper throughout. Our room was vast but had not a single picture on the wall. They knew there would be 2 of us but there was only one cup & one mini packet of biscuits provided & no tissues. Felt very scrimped. The shower was like something from the 70s with really weedy water pressure. Comfortable bed & helpful, friendly staff. Quite noisy as we were on the road side of the hotel. If it had been £50 I'd consider it reasonable but for £90 I expect a lot more.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MazyWoodsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

good clean hotel near centre of town but very tired. limited parking spaces we only just squeezed in. staff very friendly and welcoming.the room was ok but the shower was ineffective to say the least. would not like to stay for more than one or two nights.this hotel needs a lot of work doing to it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Very tired hotel, very 80's in feel, needs updating. We had room 26 which was outside, big room, big walk in closet, huge bathroom & bath, seemed great at first but it was in the courtyard where everyone smoked, so it could get noisy & smelly. The staff were really nice though & it was in a great location in the town with free parking.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank blueval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

You cannot fault the hotel for cleanliness but everywhere just looks soooooo tired. Stayed in the four poster room £136 b&b. Really not worth it. There was no soap in the bathroom and only shower gel and shampoo for 1 person. The mattress was very hard (but I understand that is a personal matter). Breakfast..... the sausage tasted like old deep fat fried.

Room Tip: Rooms maybe in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WENDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

My room was dirty and the staff were rude. Never again. It completely dominated my stay and put me off ever travelling to this area again. There is nothing more I can think of to say. Just not good at a all.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 417margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We booked a two night break for my husbands birthday and we were not disappointed.
Greeted by Paul on reception who throughout our stay was very friendly and helpful, by the time we had reached our room a "birthday" balloon and a bottle of cider had been left ..lovely touch. Throughout our stay all members of staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble, Kevin the night staff gave great recommendations for places to eat.
Our room was number 1, a large room overlooking the road, not disturbed by traffic etc.
We had breakfast on both days the choice was very good, excellent quality and plentiful .
The hotel is not new but its very comfortable and clean we would not hesitate to return and to recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
607 reviews
5.2 km away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
0.5 km away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#1 of 15 in Beverley
358 reviews
0.5 km away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lairgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lairgate Hotel

Address: 30-34 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8EP, England (Formerly The Lairgate in Beverley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range: $97 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lairgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of the market town of Beverley, the Best Western Lairgate Hotel boasts a grand Georgian entrance hall. Each room includes a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms benefit from an en-suite bath or shower room with complimentary toiletries. In the mornings, the Best Western Lairgate offers an extensive breakfast menu. The options include full English breakfast and smoked haddock. Dishes are prepared using fine local produce. With a terrace, the Lairgate Hotel is just 750 yards from the Beverley and East Riding Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Lairgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairgate In Beverley Hotel Beverley
Best Western Beverley
The Lairgate Hotel Beverley
Best Western Lairgate Hotel Beverley, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing