We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Well I can honestly say this is Beverley’s very precious gem of a Hotel. We had a family wedding here in December and it truly was a wonderful experience from start to finish. All of the staff were so attentive throughout the whole experience. We has use of all of the downstairs rooms which as is was the festive season were beautifully decorated adding to the theme of the Christmas wedding. Many family members stayed over the night and they were all very happy with the standard of accommodation and spoke very highly of the breakfast too! This wonderful hotel in the heart of Beverley has a traditional yet very elegant feel to it. All in all my son and his wife couldn’t have wished for a more perfect day and it with great thanks to the lairgate hotel and it’s fabulous staff. Would highly recommend this venue for celebrating all occasions.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank odettechilvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018

Sadly this hotel is not the usual high standard of a Best Western hotel. We stayed overnight and unfortunately the room we stayed in was cold as two of the radiators didn't work, curtains wouldn't close and generally shabby. This was supposed to be a special stay in a four poster bed as we had never experienced this before. When I mentioned the issues of the room we were immediately relocated to another one, it was much better however still a bit tired and could do with some general maintenance. Both rooms were very big with furniture fitting the age of the building.
The communal areas in the hotel were very pleasant and inviting with a lovely welcoming feel.
We had thought about having a drink before going out but not sure if the bar was functioning or not. Although I had seen tea and coffee being drunk as we arrived.
Breakfast was excellent with good choice and nice staff.
There is a car park.
Toiletries and tea making facilities, iron etc
Ideally situated in the centre of Beverley and withing walking distance of markets, bars, shops and restaurants.
Despite the hotel being a disappointment the staff must be highly commended. They were pleasant, polite, helpful and obliging. I cannot praise them too highly. Without this brilliant team I feel the hotel would fail.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YorkshireBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Stayed just one night but wished it could have been longer as we loved the little town of Beverley. My daughter and I enjoyed a lovely large room in an annexe at the back of the hotel which may have once been the coach house or stables area. The reception rooms in the main building of the hotel had lovely olde worlde charm with comfy armchairs and plenty of antique furniture and decor. I felt that being located in the annexe our room lacked a little of this charm, it was slightly more modern and lacked the more lush period decor of the main building. We did have lovely William Morris style wall paper below the dado and a couple of comfy wing back chairs and the beds were very comfortable so this is just a small personal nitpick with the ambience and nothing to with the quality of the decor which was excellent throughout. The bathroom was large, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. There was a good size car park, which in these little towns is a big bonus as parking is usually quite difficult to find. Just wanted to flag one thing that I thought could be a problem in the warmer months. The annexe rooms look directly out onto an el fresco terrace area which I think might get a tad noisy into the evening on fine nights so bear that in mind when booking in Summer and perhaps request a room in the main building which may be quieter. For us travelling in Winter it was no problem and we had a very quiet and restful night. Breakfast was excellent in a charming dining area and all the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Stayed at this hotel for one night 15th December and will definitely return. The lady who booked us in (even though we were very early) was lovely and very helpful. Our room was warm and comfy and clean. Lashings of hot water and nice towels. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much ch trouble. Location is excellent and is near everything you could possibly want to see. We will return in the Spring when the weather is kinder.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be fine
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bownessEngland_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank BremenMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We were staying over for one night in Beverley. We were greeted by lovely friendly staff booked in then taken through the hotel to our room. It is a very made up of several very old buildings so as you walked through there was something different to take your eye, a cast iron fireplace in the hallway, an old thief proof strong room door and the most welcoming lounge all warm and cosy. Our room was filled with sunshine during the afternoon but a little chilly later but we had a convector heater which soon warmed up. The bathroom was huge, everything was clean and lovely. Breakfast was amazing and it lasted us all day before we ate again. We shall definitely be returning. This is not a corporate hotel but a quirky home from home.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

It was such a relief to arrive here after a long journey and it is a real plus to find a hotel with parking in a smallish town like this. The room was just outside the hotel, the only problem being that people tend to stand beside it smoking. The room was large with two 'double' beds although you would have to be pretty friendly to fit two adults in the smaller of the two. There were most facilities available but no ironing board and no soap for washing hands, though there were bath gels. I'm sure I could have gone to reception to ask for these but once I was in the warm I didn't want to go out again. The towels are green and a bit shabby. Lovely to have a bath as well as a shower. Two radiators in the room that you can adjust so it was really snug.
The biggest annoyance as a business traveller is that the wifi kept dropping out.
There is a nice lounge here and a small tea room although they don't do sandwiches which I found surprising. The breakfast was quite full and varied and all cooked to order. I don't think they should leave the porridge out because it becomes dry, congealed and unappetising but staff were happy to cook me some fresh.
Check in was quick and the staff friendly and helpful throughout. It was good value too.
Beverley is an interesting town with quirky shops and a big modern shopping centre nearby. The Minster is also beautiful. The hotel was in walking distance of all these.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank travellerkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
616 reviews
5.2 km away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
8.5 km away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
9.1 km away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lairgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lairgate Hotel

Address: 30-34 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8EP, England (Formerly The Lairgate in Beverley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range: $103 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lairgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of the market town of Beverley, the Best Western Lairgate Hotel boasts a grand Georgian entrance hall. Each room includes a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms benefit from an en-suite bath or shower room with complimentary toiletries. In the mornings, the Best Western Lairgate offers an extensive breakfast menu. The options include full English breakfast and smoked haddock. Dishes are prepared using fine local produce. With a terrace, the Lairgate Hotel is just 750 yards from the Beverley and East Riding Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lairgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairgate In Beverley Hotel Beverley
Best Western Beverley
The Lairgate Hotel Beverley
Best Western Lairgate Hotel Beverley, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing