We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of The 5 Eastgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 5 Eastgate
Ranked #2 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We enjoyed our short stay with Ray & Julie very much. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, the rooms were nicely presented and warm and comfy and the breakfast was a real tasty treat, good quality food which was cooked beautifully. We would definitely return as it's so well situated in the town, as close as you would want to be to all the shops, pubs and restaurants, not forgetting the lovely historic Minster. We would like to thank them for their warm hospitality and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyMCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. What a warm welcome from Ray and Julie! Their love of The Eastgate shines through. We hope to return very soon to coincide with Beverley Races and will certainly recommend that family and friends head to The Eastgate if they are in East Yorkshire. The breakfast? Lived up to expectation!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We enjoyed some unseasonal sunbathing in Beverley in March. The guesthouse was absolutely perfect for what we needed with a great breakfast. Most important of all, the owners, Ray and Julie, gave us a really friendly welcome and were very helpful to us throughout our stay. It was also helpful for my elderly father to have a single en suite room on the ground floor which suited him ideally. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertc403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The Eastgate guest house was not only beautiful and quaint and well cared for...but had the nicest owners, Raymond and Julie. They really made you feel at home! And the guesthouse has been in Julie's family for the last 40 yrs.,....so you can imagine how much care and pride has been invested into it!! And at any time of the day, i always saw both Raymond and Julie with a pleasant smile on their faces. I cannot tell you enough of how very nice and inviting they both were!!

The place is in the perfect location. All you do is walk out the front door and everything is right there at your fingertips. I did not eat in one bad restaurant...they were all great!! Just wished i had more time to try all of them.

All the people of the town were so nice and courteous!! I would definitely go back again if i have the great fortune to do so!!

Beth from Kuwait

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A really nice guest house in a great location. The town centre is just a few steps away. The owner was very friendly and helpful (without being intrusive or overbearing). The room was a good size and very clean. The en-suite was small but perfectly adequate and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was really good. There is no dedicated car park but you can buy a residents parking pass from the guest house for £3 that lets you park in the street round the corner. Beverley is a really nice place to visit. We had never been before but we will go again and I would certainly want to stay here when we do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APandHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The owners Julie and Ray were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the guest house very centrally placed so you could walk to get something to eat and drink. Travelling alone I felt very safe and very well looked after.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Amazing guest house. Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, lovely people, fantastic breakfast and hospitality. Ray, Julie and the rest of the staff were so friendly, we felt like we have known them all our lives. We both stay in hotels and guest houses a lot for work. This is one of the very best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alikatz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.5 km away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.4 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
592 reviews
4.5 km away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
238 reviews
0.7 km away
Number One Bed and Breakfast
4.6 km away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Eastgate

Address: 5 Eastgate, Beverley HU17 0DR, England (Formerly Eastgate Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range: $123 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE 5 EASTGATE A warm welcome awaits everyone all at THE 5 EASTGATE. Previously named The Eastgate Guest House, still owned and run by the same family for the past 51 years. Why the name change then? After downsizing THE 5 EASTGATE has been fully refurbished to a high standard. Maintaining the beautiful original Regency features which this historic house has, whilst hosting a contemporary look. As the original Eastgate Guest House was both number 5 & 7 Eastgate, we decided to start a fresh with a new name. So THE 5 EASTGATE was born. However it’s still business as usual, so all the things you’ve come to love and expect about Eastgate are still here, and much more. THE 5 EASTGATE has been accredited by Visit England, has 4 double bedrooms which are en-suite and 1 with private facilities. Rooms have digital flat screen TVs with 50 channel freeview, also tea and coffee making facility. Not forgetting the free Wifi… We’re very proud of our Breakfast Award and being part of “deliciouslyorkshire”, which means we use locally sourced ingredients from reputable suppliers only for your breakfast. Ideally situated in the heart of the historic town of Beverley. Within 5 minutes walk of the beautiful Minster, bus and train station. We want your stay with us at THE 5 EASTGATE to be on you remember and tell your friends and family about, for all the right reasons. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Kindest regards Julie & Ray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The 5 Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Eastgate Beverley, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing