We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house and very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The 5 Eastgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 5 Eastgate
Ranked #2 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house and very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Eastgate guest house is located close to restaraunts, shops and pubs in lovely Beverley. When we arrived we received a warm welcome from Julie. Parking is on street and I would recommend purchasing a resident permit for the day. It's £3 and Julie supplied us with one. The rooms are nicely furnished and comfy. Breakfast was excellent, (served between 8-9am) again we were warmly greeted, this time by Ray. I had the full Yorkshire breakfast, all the food is sourced locally and is cooked to order. I couldn't really fault the hotel and am not surprised that it attracts such high ratings. One thing to note if you are staying in central Beverley is that the beautiful Minster, which dominates the skyline, chimes a melody from its bells every 15 minutes. This continues throughout the night and whilst the rooms are double glazed, we did find the bells disturbed our sleep. This is a feature of Beverley so if you are a light sleeper it's worth taking ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGHOwner, Owner at The 5 Eastgate, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Hi Steve,

Thanks for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Although the view from your room overlooking the Minster is beautiful, we appreciate your both light sleepers. When you stay with us in the future please inform us of this, and we'll make every effort to accomodate you at the rear of the house which is quieter.

Kind regards

Julie & Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    40
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
159
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just cycled 170 miles with 5 others in 3 days & this was our final stop. Nice friendly welcome & good with bikes. Room was very good & breakfast was excellent. Thanks !!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Excellent guest house in an ideal location close to the minster and town shopping.
A very friendly couple who run the house made us very welcome, even after turning up in dirty cycling clothes!
Rooms were also very clean a spacious with en suit shower etc.
Also excellent breakfast. Why have full english when you can have full Yorkshire!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickBaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Eastgare Guest House is wonderful. Julie met us at the door and so both helpful and welcoming. The room was so clean and tastefully decorated. There was a collection of toileries, hot drinks and a modern televison. The breakfast was wonderful and served with a smile. Both Julie and Ray are blessed with a good sence of humour. Our parting words were 'laughter is a great tonic without side effects' you two have been a great tonic. We will be back for more"

Room Tip: You need to able fit enough to climb stairs if the ground floor room is unavaiable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan_clarke_berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGHOwner, Manager at The 5 Eastgate, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you both very much for your review, as well as the kind thank you card (the photo was hilarious).
We both think it's ditto regarding the sense of humour?
Really glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully see you both again soon?
Take care.
Julie & Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Right from the start Julie and Ray made us feel welcome. Eastgate is in an excellent location, with nice shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and breakfasts are something to look forward to each morning, with an array of fruit, cereals, and yogurt before the cooked-to-order meal even begins! Julie and Ray have a wonderful rapport with their guests, some of whom are "regulars" that seem more like members of the family. We would certainly return to Eastgate if we are ever in Beverley again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our stay at Eastgate Guest House was excellent. Good location, warm welcome, comfortable, spotless room and superb breakfast. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The double room I had was beautifully furnished and the little added extras made all the difference

Lovely spacious room with everything you needed

Delicious breakfast with something to suit everyone's taste

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts offering excellent accomodation in a spotless establishment

Would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending anyone else to do the same

Room Tip: I had a room with a perfect view of Beverley Minster, yet overlooking a small quiet street - wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
0.4 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
5.2 km away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.0 km away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Eastgate

Property: The 5 Eastgate
Address: 5 Eastgate, Beverley HU17 0DR, England (Formerly Eastgate Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE 5 EASTGATE A warm welcome awaits everyone all at THE 5 EASTGATE. Previously named The Eastgate Guest House, still owned and run by the same family for the past 51 years. Why the name change then? After downsizing THE 5 EASTGATE has been fully refurbished to a high standard. Maintaining the beautiful original Regency features which this historic house has, whilst hosting a contemporary look. As the original Eastgate Guest House was both number 5 & 7 Eastgate, we decided to start a fresh with a new name. So THE 5 EASTGATE was born. However it’s still business as usual, so all the things you’ve come to love and expect about Eastgate are still here, and much more. THE 5 EASTGATE has been accredited by Visit England, has 4 double bedrooms which are en-suite and 1 with private facilities. Rooms have digital flat screen TVs with 50 channel freeview, also tea and coffee making facility. Not forgetting the free Wifi… We’re very proud of our Breakfast Award and being part of “deliciouslyorkshire”, which means we use locally sourced ingredients from reputable suppliers only for your breakfast. Ideally situated in the heart of the historic town of Beverley. Within 5 minutes walk of the beautiful Minster, bus and train station. We want your stay with us at THE 5 EASTGATE to be on you remember and tell your friends and family about, for all the right reasons. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Kindest regards Julie & Ray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 5 Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Eastgate Beverley, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing