We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jasmine Cottage .

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Electric reclining chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bcgogs
Fife, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage and location”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Spent the second week of October in this lovely, well equipped cottage with our daughter, her friend and our black lab.
Perfect location for touring the immediate area and also great base for the lakes.
Appleby is a lovely town and there are many great public places for walking our dog. The pub next door was perfect and did great food - Lilly (our dog) especially appreciated her own menu!
Cottage itself was compact and extremely well equipped - had everything we needed and was very cosy.
Would definitely recommend to others and if ever staying in the area again would come back
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely atmosphere
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, Warm and Comfortable”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Despite mixed weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jasmine Cottage. Great Pub next door for food and TV football buffs. Excellent local facilities such as Park and Sports centre by the river.
Good choice of gift shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants.

Ideal centre for Lakes, Borders, North Pennines and Northumberland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, Heating and General Facilities
Liked least: Parking a bit tight outside cottage gate
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidder
Llangaffo, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jasmine Cottage”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a really relaxing time at Jasmine cottage. The owners were very welcoming and we enjoyed the cakes left for us on arrival. Heating..great and plenty of hot water.
The area was fantastic and the food in the Royal Oak just 2 minutes away was brill.
The cottage was well equipped and was very clean and tidy.
If you have really small dogs...mind the gate...they may be able to get through...I think owner is going to mesh the gate.
All in all we had a lovely time ...nice walks and places of interest to see.
we recommend Jasmine cottage for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janni97
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

There is everything you need at this delightful cottage, even dishwasher tablets provided. Lounge is comfortable and bedrooms luxurious. Only down side was the overpowering smell of damp but after a good few hours with windows open it was fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and comfort provided by property
Liked least: Smell of damp
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuneG220
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I have just spent a relaxing week in this very pretty and comfortable cottage in the delightful village of Appleby. Our hosts were so welcoming towards us and our dog, giving us advice on where we could go for walks etc. The garden is ideal to relax in after a day of walking or visiting the castle ruins that seem to be everywhere - we particularly recommend Brougham Castle and Hall! Appleby itself is a lovely village with several little cafes that all seem to welcome dogs - Corries Tearoom was a definite favourite! The cottage itself is extremely well-equipped with a handy pub just a minute's walk away - there is even a menu for doggy visitors and Blue loved the sausages!
There is a river running through the village with walks along the banks but don't make the mistake we did of letting your dog have a paddle there as he ended up at the vets with a badly cut paw!
We will definitely be coming back and can't thank Steve and Vivien enough for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was so dog-friendly
Liked least: Nothing - liked it all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyhols...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my partner and my mum for the first week in July and we all enjoyed the comforts and charm of jasmine cottage. It was SPOTLESS and one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in. It's clear that a lot of thought and effort has gone into supplying all the things that make a stay comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and my mum has now ordered a memory foam mattress for home! Every room has character. The bathroom is downstairs which may not suit everyone but we soon got used to it and a sensor light came on at the top landing. Contrary to a previous review we found the bathroom extremely clean and lots of hot water. There is quite a large utility room which we found useful for our muddy cocker spaniel who loved trotting around the garden begging treats from the owners! Yes the garden does have some road noise but we enjoyed sitting out eating lunch or evening drinks without feeling it was obtrusive.

Appleby is a lovely friendly wee town with the best tourist information office and we enjoyed trips suggested by them and also days of just pottering around the town.

Booking was easy, the welcome was warm and the cottage was fabulous. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and my fussy mother would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and cleanliness
Liked least: That I didn't book 2 weeks
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second stay at Jasmine Cottage and have booked again for next year.We love it here and find it comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and washroom.Both Steve and Viv are very welcoming and friendly as are their cat and dog! We can't fault it here both for price and comfort.Can't wait for next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;