We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wee Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Johns Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Johns Guest House
Ranked #59 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Wee Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights at the St John's last week. It has a good small private car park at the back and the rooms are very clean and of a very high standard. It has everything a good small guesthouse needs and more. The breakfast is excellent and as I would be leaving early for work each morning I was able to get it before the designated time. There is a DVD library with all the up to date films and these can be borrowed at anytime which is really good if the telly is as bad as normal. The owners Justin and Jade can't do enough for you and are a charming and very helpful couple. Definately worth staying here if you are in Weymouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
39
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inner West, NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed as a family of 4 in the family room. While it was a little tight, it was what we expected for the price. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. It was also just off the beach so we were able to walk along the beach and into town.

The best part of this hotel is the two owners who made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed the breakfast they prepared and they welcomed our children, even when they were acting up a little.

If ever we return to Weymouth we would stay again at St Johns.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bermudablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this guest house and as on previous visits, found it spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, and great breakfasts. The rooms are cleaned daily with changes of towels as required. Our room this time was on the ground floor, a great big room with 3 beds and a good sized bathroom with a great shower. It was ideal as we had our wee grandson with us and there was plenty of space in the room. St Johns is ideally situated, being very close to the beach, Town Centre and within walking distance to the Sea Life Centre and Lodmoor Country Park. The owners Justin and Jade are a very friendly couple and very helpful at all times, helping us in with our cases and storing our luggage after checkout until our lift had arrived. I would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Weymouth and hopefully will stay there on our 4th visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizzyDip22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

St John's is a wonderful guest house. This was our first visit to Weymouth and we were greeted by Jade and Justin with a warm welcome. We booked the family room, which was big enough for our family of 4. All the beds were comfortable and the decor was light and airy. Everything was clean and tidy and we had our room cleaned daily.

The Guest house is ideally situated with walking distance to all the main family attractions. We loved our stay that much we are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dowlefamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in June to visit family and celebrate my birthday. We booked it over the internet so had no idea what to expect (although the previous reviews were good). When we arrived, we received a very friendly greeting from the owners Justin and Jade who offered to help us carry our bags in and even park the car for me in the small car park at the back (I declined as I don't let anyone drive my car!!).
The room was small but very clean, well presented and nice. We walked into town and the hotel is literally five minutes from the centre and a few minutes from the beach so I didn't use the car the whole weekend. Breakfast was absolutely lovely with choices of hot or cold food brought to your table and the owners were very friendly the whole time we were there.
We would definitely recommend St Johns to anyone looking for a relaxing, quiet weekend in Weymouth.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cypress_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley/ England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

From the moment you walk through the front door it's, WOW!!

This puts all other B&B's to shame, Justin and Jade are extremely friendly, it's clean and modern and the breakfast is out of this world, no greasy fry up here.

I wish we could take this B&B everywhere we visit

Hope to get back again soon

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i235rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Stayed for two nights and couldn't fault the experience. Jason and Jade made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived, coming out to our car to collect our bags. Breakfast was a particular strong point, with plenty on offer and Jade was on hand at all times to make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markllester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Seaham Weymouth
The Seaham Weymouth
#16 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.6 km away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Southville Guest House
Southville Guest House
#47 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.8 km away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#35 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#34 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Johns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Johns Guest House

Property: St. Johns Guest House
Address: 7 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Johns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justin & Jade welcome you to St John’s Guest house -a well appointed family run Guest House in Weymouth, providing a quality B&B experience just 60 yards from the glorious sands of Weymouth beach.We took over St John’s Guest House in the summer of 2007, with a view to operating at the higher end of the holiday guest house trade, and to build upon all the good things that make many of our guests return year after year.Having recently completed a considerable refurbishment, all guest rooms are en-suite, and have been tastefully updated with modern facilities.We offer free wi-fi internet, complimentary movies, and as well as having a large, free on-site car park, we are conveniently located and easy to find, making St John’s Guest House the ideal place to enjoy your stay in Weymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your St. Johns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing