We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gresham Guest House
Ranked #69 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Really friendly hosts who greeted us with a warm welcome and always on hand to offer advice when needed. Comfy cosy clean room. Delicious breakfast, including local fresh fruit, home made sausage and freshly brewed coffee. Would definitely stay here again. Central location too.

Room Tip: Sea view are amongst the best
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank skippermatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Gresham Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear skippermatthew
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you found us friendly and welcoming and enjoyed your room and breakfast. We hope you enjoy your Christmas trip and hope to see you both again in the future.
Best wishes
Karen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017

I've stayed at The Gresham hotel more than once and at different times throughout the year and have aways enjoyed my stay and been very happy with the high level of care, cleanliness and comfort provided by owners Chris and Karen. The hotel is ideally situated on the esplanade, overlooking the sea and is close to the town centre and Weymouth Railway Station, so is perfect for the beach in Summer and for a great choice of walks, and places to visit, in Dorset, during the Winter months.Chris and Karen are always welcoming, friendly and happy to go the extra mile to ensure an enjoyable stay. During my last visit at the beginning of November this year, after a bracing walk along Weymouth beach, it was great to head back to the warmth and welcome of this excellent small hotel. I would recommend a stay at The Gresham, at any time of the year.

Room Tip: If you have any special requirements, do check beforehand with The Gresham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank racheldK9453GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Gresham Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear racheldK9453GA
Thankyou very much for your review and kind words. It was lovely to see you again and we’re glad you have enjoyed staying with us. Thank you again.
Best wishes
Karen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Gresham guest house. Karen and Chris were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was absolutely spot on with everything that we required - bottled water, tea, biscuits. Everything was very clean, and the breakfasts were absolutely incredible! I would 100% recommend the Gresham, and thank you to Karen & Chris for making our 4 nights away so lovely! We will definitely be coming back for another stay :)

Room Tip: The sea views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Gresham Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Stephanie B
Thank you very much for your review. We’re glad that you had a lovely stay with us and found us friendly and welcoming. Good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfasts too. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Karen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Gresham Guest House for a night while working in Weymouth. I was a bit later than I said I would be but was greeted cheerfully and showed to me room. As I've experienced in quite a few B&Bs I put my breakfast order in the night before and it certainly lived up to expectation!

The room was a little dated but extremely clean, the bathroom was very clean too. I would definitely come back for another stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank TomGruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Gresham Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear TomGruitt
Many thanks for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the breakfast met your expectations. We are continuing to upgrade and refurbish the decor we inherited on taking over the property.
Best wishes
Karen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this lovely Guest house!
(Five Star )

From the minute we arrived, we received a friendly smile & very warm welcome

Our room was well set out, immaculate, with hair dryer, ironing board, bottles of water, coffee/tea making facilities & biscuits.

The bathroom was modern, clean & well set out. With high quality products to use.

The bedding/towels were crisp & brilliant white. The bedroom carpet looked brand new. Home from home.

We had a choice of breakfast times, which was great & were able to pre order our breakfast the night before.

This meant our breakfast was served very quickly after we arrived in the dinning room.

The children enjoyed the Nutella provided for their toast & the large choice of cereals.

I loved the "Amazing" view of the beach &
watching the sea, while eating my breakfast. Beautiful....

We parked the car on arrival and didn't have to move it until we left. The guest house is within an easy walk to the town centre, harbour & sea life centre.

We are hoping to stay longer on our next visit. Five days didn't seem enough.

We loved it.... can't wait to come back to
Weymouth.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Thank you Karen, Chris & team

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Gresham Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Beverley R
Thank you very much for your review and kind feedback.We are happy to hear that your family had a good time and found the room immaculate and were happy with the new range of toiletries we are providing. Its good to know as well that you all enjoyed your breakfasts (Nutella has been very popular this Summer!) and also the sea views from the dining room. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future and we hope the children got all their 'treasures' and panda home safely!
Best wishes
Karen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

After reading all the positive reviews for the Gresham Guesthouse I was expecting good things. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our room (number 7) It was advertised as a small double & I can't argue, this is exactly what it was. In my view, the room would be more suited to accommodate a single bed. The ensuite shower room was tiny. If you're a larger person then good luck having a shower, it's like something from a dolls house with the shower door being unable to fully open due to the avocado green sink being situated so close to the shower. The room, including the ensuite was clean but shabby with chipped paintwork & marks/splashes up the wall. The room is in desperate need of some TLC. Lighting was harsh, leaving the room feeling cold & soulless. No bedside tables (there wasn't room for them) the double bed was pushed right up to the wall therefore one person had to climb across. No dressing table, just an old small pine chest of draws which housed the kettle, mugs etc. A small complimentary bottle of water was in the room, one bottle between two guests! The room came complete with a hairdryer which looked like it was something from the 1960's & would've been better placed in a museum.

Now for breakfast. Unlike other guesthouses & B&B's I have stayed at, here you had to pre-order your breakfast the night before & state what time you will be requiring breakfast. We opted for our breakfast to be served at 9:15am. We were greeted by Chris who was most pleasant. It was at least 15 minutes before we received the hot beverages we had pre-ordered, however there were cold drinks available (milk & orange juice. The jug of apple juice had run out but was replenished 10 minutes later) Our cutlery was dirty. It looked like dried on cereal on the spoon. Karen provided a clean spoon but no apology was made. After waiting 25 minutes past our allotted breakfast time, breakfast was served. I'd like to say it was worth the wait but all I can say is it was distinctly average.

Our stay here was largely let down by our shabby, uncared for room & I would not recommend this accommodation. Definitely not worth the £90 we paid.

On the plus side, the room does have beautiful sea views.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank ZSC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Gresham Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear ZSC83

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were unhappy with every aspect of your stay and disappointed that you were not able to give us the opportunity to discuss this as soon as you checked in to the room. As you say, the room is accurately described as a small double and the photographs which clearly show the furniture including that one side of the bed is against the wall, that were available to you when you booked, show pretty much the details that you have shared in your pictures here. You stayed in August bank holiday week, a time when the rooms are at full capacity and have large numbers of people checking in and out. As I am sure you can appreciate this means that when guests knock cases and bags into the paintwork or accidentally spray sun tan oil which hits the wall (the 2 photos you posted), it is very difficult to repaint until the room is not booked - most people wouldn't want to check in to a room with wet paint. The breakfast time chosen is the approximate time guests would like to come to the dining room and at that point we cook the breakfast fresh. If we were to cook it ready for the selected time, many would be cold and inedible as guests do not always come down at the time they choose. The senior staff member (not Karen) who replaced the spoon with dishwasher water marks on it did apologise to you and was very polite even when the same respect was not shown to her. There were over 30 guests having breakfast and while there was a wait for the breakfasts to be cooked fresh, the other guests were happy to chat, eat cereals, fruit and yoghurt and enjoy the sea view from the breakfast room. If you needed to have breakfast very quickly and had let us know we would have done our best to accommodate this. While we respect your opinion we know that it isn't shared by the very vast majority of guests as you will have seen by our previous reviews but we are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations and it does appear that you didn't see all of the relevant information before the last minute booking was made.
Kind regards
Karen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Weymouth is always a favourite of ours and we love walking and adventuring so we wanted somewhere quiet,clean and cosy to stay close to the heart of the town.
We chose the Gresham because of the reviews of Chris and Karen and the brekkie,and we are pleased to discover we were not disappointed at all.
In short it's a fantastic bnb and you'll have a great comfortable stay.
We had room 15 , very clean ,really comfortable bed, bathroom was spotless and it was so quiet we had a great sleep.
Breakfast is excellent, we are huge coffee fans and this is a good brew. The English breakfast is well cooked and the staff are so polite and lovely it feels like a relaxed well organised bnb.
We also think it's fantastic Chris provided a half price parking voucher ..meant we managed to park for £8 for the whole weekend in a very secure car park and we didn't use the car the whole weekend ...not many trips you can do that!
Great value for money and we shall 100% be back again. We both have very busy jobs and we feel like this has been a perfect weekend of R&R and while we are sad to leave we can't wait to come back.
Obviously to be a fair review we should point out a few possible negatives ..room 15 is at the top of the building so there are allot of stairs ...however we knew that before we arrived because they are very clear online about not having a lift ...for us not a problem at all but I would recommend phoning the bnb in advance of your booking to ensure you request a lower down room if you have problems with stairs.
Also while parking is super value it is a walk away but again not an issue because you can park outside the bnb temporarily to unload your luggage and they do have a few parking spots onsite, this would be a situation not unique to this bnb because all of the bnbs in Weymouth have the same parking set ups .
All in all what we booked is what we got and more ! Very happy !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Gresham Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Christina
Thank you for your review and for the lovely feedback and we are very happy that your had such a good time and were so happy with everything. We were very impressed with your big run/walk and glad you managed to get into the smugglers pub. Its good to know that our online info is clear as it is important to us that guests understand the details of what they are booking. We are always happy to go over any info by phone as well. Its really good to know that you felt that you had been able to relax and that you'd had a break and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Karen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Richmoor Hotel
The Richmoor Hotel
#121 of 166 in Weymouth
743 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
4.1 km away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
150 reviews
11.7 km away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Guest House

Address: 120 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $87 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gresham Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gresham is located opposite the beautiful Weymouth Bay on Dorset's Jurassic Coast. Close to railway and bus links and to the town centre. In the area there is the historic town of Dorchester, Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove and Portland with its lighthouse. A choice of rooms from singles to a large family room sleeping uo to 5. The property was taken over by current owners Karen & Chris in June 2015 Free permit parking (subject to availability & reservation needed) Free wifi in public areas (dining room) English breakfast using local ingredients including home made sausage & free range eggs Friendly welcome and helpful service. Rooms are accessible via stairs as we have no lift. Please call for more information on access or rooms details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gresham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing