We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Poor Excuse for a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
Ranked #94 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Poor Excuse for a hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I've had quite a few economy short breaks in hotels. This was by far the worse. I could not rate it as a hotel, I would describe it as a B & B or Boarding House. There was no reception area and I never found out who was in charge. All the staff appeared to do whatever job needed to be done (and friendly with it). The positive feature was that there was heating and hot water. The food left a lot to be desired, and certainly was not cooked by a chef! It was mostly luke warm, and the toast was like cardboard. The en-suite was so small I had to step into the bedroom to get dried and the sink was so small it was hard to wash from. The mattresses were well past there sell by date and I would imagine Health and Safety would have a field day if they saw the electrics in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PamelaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew b, Owner at Sherborne Hotel Weymouth, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
This review is very out of date. All the electrics have been upgraded and the hotel has been completely repainted internally and externally. The rooms linen has been upgraded and the dining room. Staff are now fully trained and food is cooked by an experienced chef with over 17 years in the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    23
    13
    5
    10
See reviews for
31
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

i have never stayed in such a drab,dismal,rundown, neglected hotel. Carpets were filthy, chipped wallpaper and paint. No hot water in en suite the day we arrived. Tiny sink with shelf about 3 inches above it so impossible to wash properly. Dirty shower Bleach spilt on carpet,stains on ceiling rooms smelt musty. A complete waste of my hard earned money. Makes Fawlty Towers look like The Ritz !!!.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynnjones57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

england
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Well it's not the Ritz but the room was large, clean and comfortable and the food good and plentiful. It is right on the seafront and the bar has excellent sea views as do the dining rooms.

We were there on a budget break with a coach company and were well satisfied considering what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forest-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We went there with a coach tour -mostly retired people-and this hotel was included, with breakfast and evening meal, for a very cheap price. I'm sure if we had gone independently, we would have paid a lot more. As such, we had few complaints. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and a sea view from a small window, with a visiting seagull we found very entertaining. The food was good, with lovely deserts. Morning coffee was weak, but the young staff were prepared to do anything we asked for, which was really a very big plus for this hotel. If you don't like something,- ask-they will put it right if they can. Was worried after reading a previous post that it might be noisy, but didn't have any problem. Take a few tea/coffee bags with you if you object to paying £1 for replacements for those provided on arrival -yes, it's picky of them to charge for this. There's a large bar with a sea view if you don't want to sit in your room. The downstairs lounge ceiling has fallen in (!)so you can't use this, but the bar is fine. Our only real gripe was that my companion's mattress was old and needed replacement (mine was fine). She had to put the spare pillows on top of it before she could get comfortable.Oh, and there's no public computer. Apart from that, we had a very enjoyable stay and would go back to this hotel -but not on a coach trip -that's another story, and belongs to another review!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowballUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Unfortunately this hotel has seen better days, and needs a lot of money spending on it. Our room was very pokey and dark as a quarter of it had been taken up by a small bathroom, which blocked out the light from the small window. There was no lounge to relax in as the ceiling had been declared unsafe, so that meant I became very claustrophobic trying to rest in my room. The furniture has also seen better days.
It is also very annoying to have to pay £1 to have extrs tea bags coffee and milk each. We only needed teabags and milk not the coffee. Normally hotels refresh these each day with what you have used.
However the food was excellent as was the service and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This hotel is an excellent position on the Esplanade, across the road from the sea and is useful for catching local buses. The hotel is clean, comfortable, offers an excellent varied menu, and has courteous staff and an hospitable owner. The interior retains some of its original features.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torfrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

we travelled to this hotel as part of a coach trip,, after a very long journey we were all herded upstairs to the bar to be shown where our rooms were. apparently this was because the rooms have names, not numbers and its hard to find them ??This took some time but we eventually shown to our room,, next the bar as it happened with a sea view and so called balcony.The room was once one very large one , now split into 2. and not very well I might add, the dividing wall was plasterboard and for some reason the the didvide actually ran down the window,,, so the sound insulation was practically nil !! We honestly thought that the 2 ladies in the next room were in our room,,, we could hear every word they said,,
The meals left a lot to be desired,, it was obvioulsy economy this and economy that,, custard on the warm trifle was basics line ,, fish and chips,, well it certainly wasnt cod,,, or haddock,, or anything else i could name either,,, sort dirty grey colour .
At night we had to wait til the entertainmnent was over before we even went to the room,, as we were next to the bar and even then we had to wait for our neighbours to stop nattering before we tried to go to sleep.. and yes , you can hear snoring thru the partition wall .
This hotel needs some money spending on it,,, the decor was dated,, tatty and down right dirty in some places,, and we would not recommend this hotel to a friend ,

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled99derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#11 of 23 in Weymouth
59 reviews
0.0 km away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#56 of 165 in Weymouth
228 reviews
0.1 km away
Letchworth Guest House
Letchworth Guest House
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#46 of 165 in Weymouth
112 reviews
0.0 km away
Gresham Guest House
Gresham Guest House
#60 of 165 in Weymouth
41 reviews
0.1 km away
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
#25 of 165 in Weymouth
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherborne Hotel Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherborne Hotel Weymouth

Property: Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
Address: 116 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherborne Hotel Weymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Sherborne Hotel Weymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherborne Weymouth Hotel Weymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing