We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the value for Money B&B” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harlequin Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harlequin Guest House
Ranked #64 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the value for Money B&B”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My Experience with this B&B was not so great. First of all I was made to wait for more than an hour outside the hotel as the there was no one to open the door when I arrived there. When I called up the landline number it went to a voice mail and no one returned the call back.

My room was nothing great, TV was not working, heaters were switched off from midnight to 6 AM in December?? Its December for God sake and the temperature goes down at night and hence the heaters needs to be on in the nights. I did mention this to Mike and he said he will change it for the next night but he did not. It is really terrible to feel miserable and cold and not having to sleep all night when you are on a holiday and paying money to stay in a freezer!! You pay money to have a cozy bed and a warm room and have a good night sleep and I did not get any of these for two night I stayed here. I could not wait to check out from this place.

I would not go back to this place and I really feel it is not worth the money paid. There are lot of other better option in that area so please check thoroughly before you pick this B&B

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Manager at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you had an unhappy stay here as we try hard to offer value for money to guests and to look after them as well as we can.
We hope that they will enjoy themselves and return. That is how this sort of business will thrive.

I have read your other TripAdvisor reviews and see that whilst you were on holiday you also had unhappy experiences in one of the very best reviewed local restaurants and the well regarded hotel that you stayed in imediately before you travelled here
What an miserable end to your year .I hope that you enjoy yourself better in 2012.
.
I feel I should respond to your specific points regarding your stay here.

Arrival:
You ignored requests to give me a rough idea of what time you would arrive and came outside our advertised check in times.This is a small business and I am the sole permanent resident of the house. I do have to leave the building sometimes.You were the only arrival on that day and I was out for 20 minutes that afternoon . I do not know why you rang the land line rather than the mobile no. that is displayed on the front door for exactly such circumstances.
Had you rung my mobile I could have returned imediately as I was only 50 yards away and would have come straight back. If I am out I do not answer my land line.

T.V.:
It has always worked for everybody else and worked before and after you left. Sorry if the remote control was too complex for you.There are rather a lot of confusing buttons on it. I do think remotes could be simpler myself.

Value:
£40 for bed and breakfast and single occupancy of a double en suite room in a 4 star silver award guest house at Christmas is not something I feel the need to apologise for. You could have stayed somewhere cheaper if you could find it. The choice was yours.

Location:
The house is where it is. Nothing I can do about that. Our location is accurately marked on the map provided by the website you booked through.Generally if people dont like the location they book somewhere else.Thankfully a lot of people are happy with the location.

Heating:
It was remarkably pleasantly mild outside whilst you were here.I do understand that different people have different heating requirements and so as well as providing an individually thermostatically controlled radiator in each room and rumnning the heating from 6.00 a.m to midnight I also provide electric fan heaters for additional boosts .At your request and contrary to what you say in your review I left the heating on all night on your second night. In addition to your own 13.5 tog winter duvet on the bed thare was a spare blanket in your wardrobe and an additional duvet on the unused bed in the room.

Service;

I do try hard to be of service.Other than offering you coffee and biscuits on arrival, suggesting places to visit, explaining the local facilities and attractions ,providing you with a nice clean room, cooking you breakfast on Christmas morning ,showing you how the t.v. remote worked and running the heating 24 hours a day for you.as I did I am not sure how I could have improved on the 1 star rating you have given me. Any constructive suggestions would have been welcomed.

To prospective guests.

I am aware that I sound defensive when writing this however this gentlemans view of my Gust House is very much at odds with the sentiments expressed by the vast majority of my guests. Reviews are a powerful force when people make decisions about where to stay so accommodation providers do want good reviews.
As somebody who puts a lot of effort into trying to make sure visitors have a pleasant experience It hurts when you see that somebody has had a rotten time. When valid criticisms are made they are a helpful tool to improve things and can illuminate issues that may have become blind spots for the people running the business. Nobody should ever be shy about criticising anything in a review.It is even better to mention it face to face.
This gentelman told me face to face tha the had enjoyed his stay .I find that odd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    39
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
58
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We loved staying here with our 5 year old son. Mike and his staff made everyone welcome and we found his breakfasts ideal for setting us up for the day. He makes an effort to understand everyone's needs and explains local attractions, etc suitable for them. His lounge/breakfast room has some very useful books on the local area, geology, nature and even some children's ones. The room was very clean, the location quiet and our son loved the rubber ducks in the bathroom! It was also nice to be able to chat with the other guests, especially to swap hints about places to go, costs of attractions, etc. It was a delight to stay here and we're coming back again - after the Olympics next year. Mike and his staff are great ambassadors for Weymouth and the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnymarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Lovely warm welcome soon as you arrive. Excellent hosting skills by Mike and his staff.
Very clean spacious rooms. Full English breakfast cooked to perfection.
Nothing a problem here and would highly recommend xxx

Hobday Family

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Harlequin for three nights (August 2011). We have found this one of the most friendliest staffed B & B we have ever stayed at. The staff were relaxed and approachable and would give good advice on local attractions. The breakfast is good and ample. The family room we rented was clean and yes if in the area in the future, we would consider the Harlequin our first choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewbyMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire,England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Easy to book. Called direct and booked over the phone. We had a two night stay, Saturday & Sunday. We arrived at midday and was met by Mike, the proprietor, who made us coffee and went through a map showing us where we were in relation to the seafront, main town, restaurants, etc. .Very helpful. Shown to our room, number 1 on the first floor which had a large bathroom with shower & bath gel, shampoo, etc., a double and a single bed, freeview TV and tea & coffee making facilities. All very clean except for a couple of 'active' spiders webs in the corners.....didn't bother us but arachnaphobes might have worried. There is parking for four cars out the front. We came back on Sunday and couldn't park as already full but found a space in the road adjacent. Location is excellent as only five minutes walk from the seafront. About 10 - 15 minutes walk into town. Plenty of bars, pubs, restaurants to choose from. If you turn left out of the accommodation, and keep left at the junction, there is a hotel called the Rembrandt about five minutes walk which does a very good carvery at reasonable prices. Good bar too, all open to non-residents. Also has a swimming pool and gym. All in all an above average guest house in a good location with off-road parking. Good breakfast. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank killijw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed one night while attending family music event nearby. Four of us, 2 adults, plus 2 sons 13 &15. Stayed in a family room, very comfortable, excellent breakfast.
What more could you want, we'll be booking again for next year's concert.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

very nice accommodation very clean mike was very welcoming cooked breakfast was excellent nothing to much trouble feel well rested we will be back

Room Tip: only saw our room very roomy nice and bright and n
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 km away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#44 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 km away
Wenlock House
Wenlock House
#152 of 170 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 km away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Crofton Guest House
Crofton Guest House
#30 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.7 km away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#36 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Guest House

Property: Harlequin Guest House
Address: 9 Carlton Road South, Weymouth DT4 7PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value Four Star Guest House in a pleasant Victorian house with spacious well appointed rooms. Free off road parking for up to five cars. Free WiFi. Particularly suited to families but also catering for couples and single guests in en suite rooms.The largest Family Room can accommodate up to five guests and has a private bathroom next door to it and for exclusive use of its occupants. We do not cater for groups of single sex party animals or for stag or hen nights. Just five minutes walk from the superb beach and ten minutes from town. Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Weymouth is an ideal base for family seaside holidays and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and villages.Weymouth is ideal for walkers,climbers,water sports enthusiasts and bird enthusiasts. Within easy travelling distance local trading estates. Business travellers welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Harlequin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlequin Guest House Hotel Weymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing