We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse
Ranked #70 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Very surprized that this is not among the top 10! Was here last summer. Very nice couple run it. Breakfasts were excellent. Rooms were very comfortable. I definitely recommend it! Wish I was there now!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TI-Elting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is my first review but I feel compelled to write it as I have had such a lovely time.
I recently went on a trip to Dorset with my girlfriend to look at the coastal sights and have a bit of a break away from the city. I came across this hotel in the Dorset holiday brochure and it looked nice on the picture so we booked it for two nights.
Upon arriving we were greated with excellent service and this continued throughout our stay. The owners were pleasant, polite and made every effort to ensure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was to a high standard on both mornings with it being obvious that the produce they used was not your usual SMART PRICE rubbish that you tend to find with usual Guest House accomodation. The room was clean, well maintained, had a brand new bathroom and the refreshment basket was the fullest I have ever come across on my travels.
The location was good as it was close enough to town to walk but far enough away so that it was quiet enough to feel like you were away from it all. The only thing that was a bit frustrating was the one way systems and the road workds in place due to the redevelopments taking place for the Olympic games but when the Tom Tom failed the hotel provided us with 'on the phone' directions to get us there quickly and in one piece.
Very pleasant - if I were to go to Dorset again I would not bother looking on any internet sites as I think this is as good as it gets!
Thank you :) xx

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleythe3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Stayed at Oaklands for 1 night this weekend. Stayed there previously when under previous ownership.

We were greeted by the owners on arrival- and shown to our room. The room we had (9) was lovely with good facilities and a plentiful hospitality tray.

Breakfast was excellent and varied with plenty of choice.

The guesthouse is in an ideal location- 10-15 mins walk from the seafront and town centre- also parking is available on site.

Would highly recommend Oaklands when visiting Weymouth- friendly owners, .lovely house with character.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wiltstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My family and I have been back to this bed and breakfast quite a few times now. Previous to staying here, we had tried many in Weymouth but Oaklands is now our first and only choice.
The warm welcome from Mike and Jennie and the service is outstanding. First, all guests are greeted with a cup of tea and coffee and a welcome chat, something you certainly don 't get elsewhere.
The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and all have great character within the Edwardian house.
The breakfast is the best around - there is so much choice! A range of fresh fruit, strawberries, grapes, melon, prunes etc etc aswell as cereals, a range of juices and whatever you fancy from the full English menu. (The scrambled eggs were amazing).
The best thing about Oaklands is the owners, they are so helpful and kind. If there are any questions they can't answer, they will find out for you there and then.
There is also ample free parking which is a rarity.
It really is a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

The house is a lovely Edwardian period building which unfortunately, was not matched by the decor on the inside. We had a double ensuite room on the first floor which was smaller and more basic than the ones pictured on their website but was clean and comfortable nevertheless. The house is in a quiet location about a 10 minute walk to the seafront or 20 minutes to the port where most of the restaurants & pubs were. There was plenty of parking in front of the house. Mike, the owner, was friendly and helpful. A substantial cooked breakfast with a choice of cereals, juices and fresh fruit was provided.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

A lovely period guesthouse situated in a slightly quieter area of Weymouth but only a few minutes walk from the railway station and sea front. The place was easy to find and has free off road parking. We arranged to arrive outside of the normal arrival times and were greeted with friendly smiles and a warm welcome. It was obvious from the start that nothing was going to be too much trouble for our hosts.

The room was spacious and a lovely mix of original features, period furniture and contemporary accessories. Everything was clean and there was a full hostess tray with a good selection of drink options and not your normal boring biscuits either! Flat screen TV with built in DVD player, alarm clock and hairdryer were all in the room.

Breakfast was leisurely in a comfortable dining room with a good selection of cold and hot options. The waiting staff were all very friendly and the food was served quickly and was of a high standard. Our hosts came round to everyone's table at breakfast to chat and seemed genuinely interested in what everyone was doing.

The icing on the cake for our stay was a pair of champagne flutes that were left in our room to go with the bottle of bubbly that we had brought with us - what a lovely personal touch.

I also observed our hosts making sure that the elderly ladies that were using the disabled facilites had all the help they needed to get ready for their day.

Thank you Mike and Jennie for a wonderful experience. Your guesthouse is quite easily the best we have ever stayed in and we would recommend you to all.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We found the Oaklands on the Web and booked after seeing their pictures of their disabled ground floor room. It turned out to be even better, large rooms, adapted shower, low furniture for wheelchair users and an open clothes rail, Excellent.
My wife is in a wheelchair, and has only one arm in use, and I am her full time disabled carer, wearing a neck collar, etc because of brittle bone. The hotel owners were great, nothing was too much trouble.
We had plenty of towels, tea & coffee facilities in our room during the week, and the full english breakfast was 5 Star, they use all local produce and it was cooked really well.
We came by Train from Birmingham, but the Hotel does have good parking for the car owners, it is clean, and worth every penny.!!!!
Thanks Oaklands, from two disabled oldies.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 km away
The Pebbles
The Pebbles
#38 of 163 in Weymouth
204 reviews
0.4 km away
Ashmira Guest House
Ashmira Guest House
#14 of 163 in Weymouth
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harlequin Guest House
Harlequin Guest House
#61 of 163 in Weymouth
140 reviews
0.8 km away
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
#47 of 163 in Weymouth
71 reviews
0.3 km away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 163 in Weymouth
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse

Property: Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse
Address: 1 Glendinning Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, b&b with the personal touch. We offer a range of double, twin and family rooms, as well as a ground floor accessible room. Rooms are spacious, with en suite shower rooms. Off-street parking space for each room. 10 Minutes from town and beach. Totally non-smoking. Special diets catered for. 4 Stars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing