We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Time”
other travellers have booked this property
Built in the early Victorian age where the Groom and horse lived
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in the early Victorian age where the Groom and horse lived
Built in the early victorian age, a warm and cosy cottage Grooms Cottage in courtyard set in 8 acres of peace & tranquility
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Built in the early Victorian age where the Groom and horse lived
Built in the early victorian age, a warm and cosy cottage
Grooms Cottage in courtyard set in 8 acres of peace & tranquility
well equipted kitchen, home from home
open log fires in winter
Looking down from the sheeps field
own private drive
view from the courtyard
drive into Grooms Cottage
bluebell copse
peace and quiet
stunning sunsets
followed by clear skies full of stars
The famous fleet lagoon, a short walk from the cottage
Romantic bedroom at the Grooms Cottage - looking out on the stars
My name is Rosemary
Stunning evening clouds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve W
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Time”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I have to say the cottage was not at all as the previous comment suggests. We found the cottage in immaculate condition and very clean. The setting is beautiful and very peaceful and looking out across the courtyard to see the animals is lovely.
The cottage its self is very well equipped and the owner even went out of her way to make sure there was milk in the fridge upon our arrival and plenty of logs to make sure we had a cozy fire in the evenings.
Although the cottage is designed to sleep two it is deceptively spacious inside ensuring your holiday or short break will be a memorable one. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a great holiday destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I wanted a relaxing break away" Grooms Cottage " fitted the bill perfectly, cosy and secluded plenty of wildlife and Hillary's sheep reminded us of when we ran a farm. We have recommended the cottage to friends and family.
Bill and Barbara

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicja25
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as expected”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were wary disappointed with our stay and after the first night we decided to leave. The place is very overpriced for the value you get. When we asked for a central heating we were told that there was no oil in a tank - surprisingly there was hot water available. The owner advised us to use a fireplace but did not mention the wet wood. My partner had to sleep on the sofa which absolutely stunk of dogs but the owner told us that no pets are allowed in the property. It was hard to believe especially after being pre warned to keep the door shut as her dogs love the cottage.The internet did not work and we tried on three devices with no success. Bedding was clean and nice flowers everywhere but also lots of cobwebs and dust. When we mentioned all the these things to the owner she got very upset, and denied everything. We decided to leave with no refund for the next two nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Flowers
Liked least: Dishonest owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
How hurtful and untrue review you have given this little chocolate box cottage. I went out of my way to accommodate the allergy problem by supplying new allergy free pillows and duvet. A seasoned log fire was already laid, ready for you to light with the firelighters and kindling. How could the wood be wet when we have no rain for months, and in any case the logs are stored in my barn. You booked the cottage for 2 persons and then turned up as 3. I was able to accommodate your boyfriend on my very comfortable bed settee in the Lounge. My professional cleaning lady cleans the house on the day of any new arrival, and I do a spot check before my guests arrive. Apart from the odd Autumn spider (which we all have this time of year) the cottage is spotless. I am a 4 star rating with the Tourist Board, and Visit Britain, which is extremely high in their ratings. I am also advised by them as to my pricing for 2 persons. May I suggest you check the Trip Advisor reviews of my cottage, or my guest book. I have never had any bad reviews, and guests come back time and time again. Perhaps a 2 bedroom apartment or hotel may be a better bet next time, and more in line with your budget. (I hope you enjoyed the free range eggs you took with you)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place to soothe the soul”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was drawn to this property by the name of the village! and the property did not disappoint. It has been the owner's home and you feel its charm the minute you arrive. There are flowers and a bench by the front door and you can sit and look up the valley at the sheep, the swallows wobbling on the telegraph lines, just soaking up the sun.
Inside the furnishings are chosen for comfort and the colours soothe. Original water colours on the walls, pretty china and thoughtful touches, such as flowers, fruit and cakes add to your sense of welcome.
We arrived wrung out, and very quickly wound down to relaxed blobs.
Five minutes' walk up the lane brings you to this pretty village with a friendly pub, good beer and great food so neither of us had to drive to go out - always a bonus.
You can walk to the fleet, or along the coast; beautiful views in all directions.
Dorset is surely a county that got left behind but in a good way. We didn't miss the road noise or the aircraft back home. The owls hooted at night and the sheep in the field were soothing to admire.
Hilary's warm welcome was genuine; she was on hand to offer help and information but didn't intrude.
The only tiny drawback is the lack of headroom around the bed which is why we didn't give it a five star.
Try it, we don't think you will be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the peace
Liked least: bed tucked into eaves, so low headroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliverBol...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in picturesque surroundings”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Grooms cottage is a beautiful little cottage set in a beautiful little village, we took our 16 month old daughter who loved the pet sheep kept by the owner, the cottage was perfect for our daughter as she could run around the big yard where the sheep are kept, also there was lots of things to do just a short drive away.Hilary was really helpful with any questions we had too, definitely would come back again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The location of Grooms cottage was ideal for us. There was total peace and quiet, it was off the beaten track but only a couple of minutes in the car from the village pub which provided some really good food and it was only about 15 minutes away from busy Weymouth. The owner has thought of everything to provide for guests staying at the cottage. The bed was very comfy. The only drawback is the bed is in an apex and you have to be careful how you get in and out of it. Also there isn't a stand up shower, again because of a slope in the roof. However, these are minor drawbacks and I would certainly recommend staying here. The owner lives in the next door cottage and was very respectful of giving us privacy but very helpful if we needed anything. Yes, if you're thinking of booking this cottage I'd say go ahead and do it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property did offer wi-fi/internet access but it wasn't that great. Also couldn't get a mobile signal
Liked least: sloping roof in the bathroom because we couldn't stand up to shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemens B
Leverkusen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our stay very much.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cozy little house in a green surroundings. We enjoyed our breakfast and meals outside which are often accompanied by a pheasant. The fireplace in the living room creates a comforting atmosphere. The kitchen is very well stuffed. Hilary was always very helpful. To explore the Jurassic Coast was more than interesting. The fleet can be reached by walking. We have enjoyed our stay very much and can strongly recommend the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your review. The pheasant has now brought her chicks down to eat and drink in the yard. I am so pleased you had a great holiday at the Grooms Cottage, if only all my guests were so lovely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing