We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break at Harbour Lights Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #34 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Very warm welcome on arrival and we were delighted with the view from our room (Portland Harbour and Chesil Beach).
The room was spotlessly clean as was every other area of the house.
Breakfasts were wonderful - terrific variety of food, outstandingly presented.
Peter and Lynda (and Sue) were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble, with lots of extra little touches to make our stay memorable.
Really was one of the best places we have stayed at.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Front of house rooms provide views of Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 153 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay . Super views from super clean room. Super breakfast from super hosts. Super stay .Super price . We will not stay anywhere else .Super !!! Have stayed at lots of hotels in Weymouth. This is the best . And best value.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We spent 2 nights here recently and the welcome was lovely. One of our group needs a little help to cope with daily life and Peter and Lyn were sensitive and helpful towards her needs during our stay. Having a copy of the menu in the room meant we could plan what she wanted before going down to breakfast, which helped her feel more relaxed.

We we offered the option of a quiet room overlooking the garden or a room on the road side of the guest house with an amazing view across to Portland and Chesil Bank. We chose the view and it was lovely in the evening watching the lights come on across the bay and seeing the yachts and the ships.

Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and served hot, with plenty of choices to suit all preferences. The dining room felt friendly and we enjoyed chatting with other guests.

Our room was spotlessly clean and there were lots of thoughtful touches that made us feel that this was a place where the guests are genuinely valued and cared for.

The lounge with television, bookcase and games had lovely comfy sofas, but we only spent a short time in here as we were out enjoying taking photographs of the local views and nature reserves.

The location was ideal for us and it was just a short drive to the beaches or to the lighthouse and other local venues. We liked that it was away from the main town centre but convenient for where we wanted to visit.

This is a guesthouse that we would certainly return to for any future visits to Weymouth as we felt safe and "at home" here, Thank you for the lovely welcome and hope to see you again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

They tell us that a rain bow in the sky has a 'Pot of Gold' at the end of it. If you have ever looked for it the likely hood of finding it 0%.

I have always believed that until the day we stayed with Pete & Lyn at 'Harbour Lights' in Weymouth.

You only have to step through the door to know you have reached the end of the rainbow and there you find everything you would want when holidaying away from home.

All the other reviews sum up what we would want to say.

The two additional experiences that shows how our kind hostes go the extra mile are as follows:

TEA FOR TWO

We went down for breakfast on the first morning and enjoyed all the deletes that were on offer '5 Star' service. We went off for the day and when we came back in the evening we found sachets of Cantrell tablets had be left for us in our room.

Lyn/Pete had noticed at breakfast that I had used the candrel and responded by ensuring there was a supply in our room. It's the little things that count.

Secondly, we had to leave at 3am on the morning of our departure which grieved us as we were going to miss out on their superb breakfasts. As we ventured down stairs to the front door there was a note wishing us a safe journey and telling us there were packed lunches made for us in the fridge on the first landing.

What more could anyone else ask for.

We have stayed in many good B&B's & Hotels, however, we have never been given this level of service.

Thank you Pete & Lyn - see you in July.........

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PuffingBilly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Lovely place near the town and near the waterfront too. Breakfasts are large and plentiful and tasty. Fruit selection was amazing with about 8 choices at least. Updated rooms and bathrooms. The best part is the hosts, who are super friendly and kind and helpful. You cannot go wrong here.

Room Tip: No lift so be sure you can handle the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Peter and Lyn are fantastic hosts, very helpful and welcoming. We stayed for two nights along with our friends and we thought the accommodation was extremely comfortable, very clean and maintained to a high standard. The breakfasts were excellent, fresh, tasty, well cooked and with lots of choice. Very convenient for the Rodwell Trail and within easy striking distance of Brewery Quay which offers a good selection of evening dining. Would highly recommend for a stay in Weymouth.

Room Tip: Great views from the rooms at the front. Don't worry about the road, the windows are double gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

I stayed in one of the two single rooms for a week around the Easter weekend, it was not on-suite but I had my own toilet just across the corridor and shared a shower with the other single room. The two single rooms are in their own corridor so fairly private from the other rooms. The room had everything I needed for my stay and it was very comfortable. Peter and Lynda were excellent hosts, friendly and attentive but not in your face. I am originally from Weymouth and had come to visit family. Peter and Lynda appeared genuinely interested in what I had done during the day and we had some good chats over breakfast. The breakfast was great, plenty of fresh fruit every morning and the cooked breakfasts were superb. The aspect I liked most about my stay was how accommodating both Peter and Lynda were, nothing seemed too much trouble. Thank you for a brilliant stay, I hope to come back again some time.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 km away
Eastney Guest Accommodation
Eastney Guest Accommodation
#79 of 166 in Weymouth
93 reviews
2.3 km away
The Pebbles
The Pebbles
#39 of 166 in Weymouth
227 reviews
0.4 km away
Kingswood Guest House
Kingswood Guest House
#115 of 166 in Weymouth
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Heritage Bed and Breakfast
1.3 km away
Florian Guest House
Florian Guest House
#88 of 166 in Weymouth
64 reviews
3.1 km away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#62 of 166 in Weymouth
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Address: 20 Buxton Road, Weymouth DT4 9PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $59 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Lights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England Four Star guest house with off road parking, which is essential in Weymouth. It is just a short walk to the town centre, Old Harbour and Nothe Gardens. Close to the South West Coast Path, front bedrooms have spectacular views across Portland Harbour to Chesil Beach. Our spacious, individually styled rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped,including free high speed Wi-Fi, flat screen tv. Fresh milk is provided along with complimentary beverages and biscuits, and there is a fridge for guests' use. We have digital tv in the spacious lounge and our splendid breakfasts are served in a elegant dining room. Friendly attentive staff ensure everyone has an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Strictly no smoking indoors. Not licensed - just bring your own and we will provide the glasses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing