We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“jan 2012 x” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Russell Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“jan 2012 x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Me and my boyfriend went as part of a coach holiday and after reading reviews was a bit nervous. however on arrival we were quite suprised as we had a sea room view which was very spacious and warm. the room was spotless. the staff were great and the food was amazing and served quick so no waiting around. we will be going back and would recommend to anyone!!! had a fantastic weekend!!!

Room Tip: i would recommend a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    191
    154
    49
    36
See reviews for
72
281
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rayleigh, essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

had a good time food was good and room was warm to warm had windows open
did find the bar closed to fast about 11.30 xmass eve lots of old gests and thay all went up to bed same xmass night.
but this is the 3rd time we bin heare for cristmass snd twixmass so it not a bad stay just dont think you will be rocking all night
but staff are nice and ther is parking but get ther fast as ther is not a lot

Room Tip: see viuew is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dedmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

After booking break, I found a page of reviews with a lot of adverse comments, as we where bringing two friend's and my wife's parent's who are in there eighties we arrived with some trepidation but our fears where unfounded, rooms where warm clean plenty of storage space and a comfy bed, an excellent evening meal was served promptly by friendly staff, although not a huge choice a nice fresh salad was available as an alternative, breakfasts where equally as good.There was entertainment in the Russel which was well patronized but being sequence dancers we spent our evening's in the Regent's fabulous ballroom hosted by Pierre who made a great evening with something for everyone Bingo,hoy, Quiz's, Line dancing,bit of boogy, Ballroom and Sequence, even playing some ballroom and sequence at 11.30 which is a rarity usually very loud beat music by then! ( loved Pierre's version of the twelve day's of Christmas what a hoot) Parking was Ok at the time we went, bus stop right on the doorstep, beach just across the road , a short stroll to the shops, a visit to wetherspoons for a cheap coffee/beer and midday snack recommended. Weather not good when we went in Nov, but did we have a good time? YES, would we go again? already booked for Dec 10th 2012 see you there.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have view, bit noisy, rooms at back no view but quiet, then again you don't come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YeovilDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
290 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

the hotel is on the sea front also sister hotel next store
staff from reception and restuarant food good
breet who arrange the shows was good
the bedrooms are small i was on top floor coould hear and just see the sea the sister hotel look better
the outside could do with a paint for the olympic games
well done tony mbe

Room Tip: please a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

This hotel was part of an Edwards bus trip. The food was very good and the waiters excellent.Rooms were a little tired but clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for a night and never again ! unhelpful staff, hotel like a maze so took ages to find our room, which wasnt worth finding really ! Dirty, very out dated, hairs in the bottom of the shower tray, we didnt eat here but looking at the rest of the hotel i really dont think i would want to !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deano4519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Spent a night here, on the 3rd floor in one of the tiniest rooms of any hotel I've ever stayed in. But it had a sea view and it was only 1 night, if it was any longer it would've been a chore.
The hotel was full-mostly coach parties and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves. As expected the hotel is worn in places and the lift is an absolute nightmare-snails go faster!
We went to the bar for a late drink and there was entertainment aimed at the coach parties crowd, so plenty of cheesy 70s dance hits ("Superman" mould)-great fun!
Breakfast was a strange affair, you had mushrooms, beans and tomatoes on different days, which seems a bit odd.
The hotel's market is primarily coach parties and they cater to them. It's 2* and cost £55.00 for the both of us through late deals so we got what we paid for, and what we expected (well apart from the size of the room).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lookslikerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.3 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.0 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#9 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing