We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best seafood of our lives ”
Review of Al Molo

Al Molo
Reserve with TopTable
Al Molo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 300 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Al Molo brings Italian cuisine from the Emilia Romagna region - voted by Forbes magazine as Italy's greatest gastronomic treasure - together with a modern style. Chef Giuseppe Vannucci combines his origins in traditional Italian cooking with his training in London resulting in a restaurant that brings Italian metropolitan chic to the seaside resort of Weymouth. Using local produce with the finest Italian ingredients the restaurant prides itself on quality food with a difference in a venue which provides an amazing setting. Whilst dining on excellent cuisine you can enjoy panoramic views of Weymouth Bay and the Jurassic coastline in a relaxed and grand setting. Respecting the building's origins as part of the pier's bandstand the restaurants decor nods to the past incorporating art deco features together with modern design. You sense a feeling of luxury as you walk through the doors. Whether meeting for a business lunch or romantic dinner for two Al Molo caters for every occasion. Whatever the season, Al Molo provides the perfect location.
Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

The restaurant is situated on the seafront with a nice view over the sea and Jurassic coast. The service is attentive and friendly. The quality of the food exceeded our expectations. We had mussels to start and cod / king prawn as our mains. We were blown away with all - very delicious and well presented highly recommended.

1  Thank DominicFromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe V, Owner at Al Molo, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are pleased you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed your meals. The fish we use in our dishes are from local venders and we feel this keeps the dishes at a high standard. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

955 - 959 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2015

Big thank you to the staff at Al Molo, we went for a family members birthday meal and were seated in one of the private dining rooms. The view was beautiful and so was the room. The service was fantastic from start to finish and they were very accommodating of our two 7 month olds.
Food was great, we did have to pre order and I would have liked to have decided on the night but given the size of our group and it being a friday night I understand the reasons.
The drinks and food is a little on the pricey side however for where you are and what you are getting I can see why.
Well done Al Molo, Weymouth has been in much need of a great place like this and we will be returning but maybe next time it will be just the husband and me and we leave the rest of the family and children at home!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank holidayhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe V, Owner at Al Molo, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As a fine dining Italian restaurant we only use fresh ingredients and meat from local venders and everything is made by hand, this is why we charge the prices we do. We are glad you had a pleasant experience and we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2015

Don't be put off by the fact that this place is over an amusement arcade - this is an excellent restaurant with great service and fantastic food. Lots of thoughtful detail.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MCMJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe V, Owner at Al Molo, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We understand that being above an arcade can be unappealing but we make up for this with the excellent views of Weymouth Bay. We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal and have a good experience with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

Excellent service combined with fabulous views over the bay and of course tasty food. It was a great end of holiday meal.

1  Thank Puddy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe V, Owner at Al Molo, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate all the comments we receive and we are glad you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you next time you are visiting Weymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2015

We ate here last month and were shown into a very warm room at the side of the main area, to be fair we had a sea view but as I commented to the waitress the room was overly hot. Apparently the still roaring rads were off!!
We ordered tomato bruschetta and squid to share as a starter, the fresh tomatoes lacked flavour which was a shame, the squid were excellent.
My husband had the seafood pasta for main course and I had spaghetti bolognaise. The seafood sauce was overly 'fishy' for me, I like it to taste very fresh and the bolognaise lacked intensity, I expect plenty of tomato flavour and colour, having lived in Emiglia Romagna I understand how it should be. The fact that the sauce is made from chopped not minced beef is of no benefit if flavour is lacking!
The service is overly attentive in some areas, we felt somewhat pushed to order drinks and a result just had water .....
We will visit again at some point by which time, hopefully, some of the teething problems will be further ironed out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe V, Owner at Al Molo, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Hello

Thanks take time to review us , as you mentioned you visit us last mount i can says we was probably just tree four week open and few supplier are already change as is not easy find good supplier in this area as we would prefer help local producer, regarding your comment about the linguini with sea food marked this fishy is a bit strange ( i would prefer personally a diced piece of fish rather that something that i can not recognise ) i am afraid we do not serving spaghetti you might mistake with home made tagliatelle and if you have live in my birth region Emila Romagna i am afraid to point that originally bolognese sauce was hand cut and not minced ( minced beef you can not be sure that is all beef ) hour bolognese sauce is hand cut as originally was , shame it not was in your taste normally who have been to Bologna point out that is really good . About the service we do not push people in fact we do not doing second seating with the table but as i mentioned before we was open for few week so we keep improve our service .. Shame we could't impress you more than three star but i appreciate this type of review where at least costumer leave a comment on all aspect rather that write usual comment ..
Hope you can give another chance in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Molo also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Al Molo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing