We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home with the benefit of perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Bakehouse

Camp Hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Camp Hill
The Old Bakehouse terrace Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Camp Hill
The Old Bakehouse terrace
Sitting room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Rhododendrons in summer
Summer colour in the garden
Winter sun in the rose garden
Blooming rhododendrons
Rhododendrons in full bloom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
505Sharon...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home from home with the benefit of perfect tranquility”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Was a homely place to stay and explore the area - set in beautiful grounds with access to woodland. Had everything we needed and the hosts were very welcoming but left us alone to enjoy our break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting was perfect for us
Liked least: no complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire & friendly owners
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TrishE200
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Roomy, Inviting and Private”
Reviewed 10 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Bakehouse proved to be a good choice for myself and my adult son when we recently visited Staffordshire to see our family. The cottage had plenty of room, was cosy and inviting and offered privacy from the main house and the other holiday accommodation located on the property.

There is heating right throughout the cottage, with an open fire for those inclined to light it. The kitchen offers a functional kitchen, plenty of room, cook top with four hotplates, microwave, dishwasher and large fridge. A washing machine and dryer were available for use, at no extra charge, unlike other places where we stayed. A digital radio is provided so you can keep up with local events or listen to music and a DVD player is there for the times when it's snowing outside and just not worth trekking out.

The village of Baldwin's Gate is walking distance away where there is a post office, pub, petrol station and store where you can buy a variety of meats, cheeses, delicatessen and dairy items, as well as everyday grocery items, so you don't have to go all the way back into town if you forget something.

Wifi is available at the property and it works! We found a number of places offered wifi but when it came to using it, there was a range of amazing excuses offered as to why it wasn't working. But at The Old Bakehouse, the router was only a short distance away and we got a really good connection.

The property owners were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this property and will return when we go back to visit our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the warmth.
Liked least: There could have been a bit more crockery so you didn't have to put the dishwasher on when it was only half ful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walkiing the grounds
Liked least: Not really a four person unit
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShazinBmt...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We are from Bournemouth but my parents live in Hartshill, Stoke-on-Trent. We had a wonderful week in this quirky little cottage. We had previously stayed in their larger cottage 'Camp Hill Cottage' which is gorgeous but the Bakehouse was so homely and cosy that we can't wait to come here again! The grounds are amazing to walk around, so much space for our 11 year old son to explore, he absolutely loved it! The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could need and the layout is great. The bedroom and bathroom are downstairs and the lounge and kitchen are upstairs - leading out onto the little patio area. Our son slept on the sofa bed in the lounge which he thought was brilliant, and really comfy. It is such a peaceful location and feels like the middle of nowhere but is only a short drive from the town, and from my parent's house so we can visit them lots while we're there. The only thing I would suggest could make it any better would be a slightly larger TV as it is a little too small for the room, when you're all cuddled up in front of the fire to watch a film together it strains your eyes a bit... The open fire was a welcome treat too as well as the logs that were provided, Lovely!! We'll be back at Easter hopefully! Thank you Katharyn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful grounds and woodland walks...
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Reviewed 19 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful and peaceful gardens, open wood burning fire.
Liked least: Everything was just perfect!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ely, Cambs
Reviewed 16 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent facilities in peaceful surroundings.
Liked least: Internet access was a little hit & miss.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing