We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROMANTIC BREAK”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We recently returned from a lovely stay at The Cranleigh. Having the option to pick which room to stay in is an excellent idea and room 14 was exactly like the picture on the hotel website. The decor was modern and the room was immaculately clean; somethingwhich has been lacking from our recent holiday experiences. The bathroom was luxurious and I loved the mood lighting spa bath and tv! The breakfast room was beautifully decorated and the cooked breakfast was excellent. The location of the hotel was excellent as it was very central but very quiet on a night. We had to leave the hotel at 8.30 and because breakfast didnt start until that time we had only the option of cereal, which wasnt a major problem. I did spend a lot of time trying to find a really nice romantic hotel, before booking The Cranleigh. It was marginally more expensive than comparative hotels, but having the option to see our room coupled with trip advisor reviews took the stress out of wondering if it was going to be the right choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We are please to hear that you picked the right place to stay at The Cranleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,444 - 1,450 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I needed a couple of nights away so we booked The Cranleigh at late notice. We booked a suite for £170 per night. This would be a good rate for a full service hotel, but a tad expensive for a guest house, as this really is. The AA 5 star rating is for a guest house not a hotel!

We were checked in by a very nice and efficient young lady who escorted our to our 'suite', number 10, with it's own exterior entrance. The room was nice, very nice for a guest house, but not a suite. It was one, nice sized room with a small, alcove like, bay window with a small coffee table and two chairs. I believe the definition of a suite is accommodation made up of multiple rooms.

There was a small veranda, nicely lit with a table and chairs, but this was part of the entrance to the room and other guests smoking next to it (and outside our bedroom windows) meant that there was a real lack of privacy. In fact we closed the windows and curtains when ever we were in the room. I was also surprised to see that a space next to the room, visible from the veranda had been used to dump a ladder and old piping, but to be fair you had to look for that! But you didn't have to look for the full up ashtray on our table!

The room had quality furnishings and nice touches like a waterproof TV in the bathroom, and a media player with dozens of films connected to the TV in the bedroom, I thought the ipod dock hanging out of the back of the TV was a little messy and the very clean but extremely worn out towels were a disappointment.

The Cranleigh is quite proud of it's bathrooms, they have obviously spent a great deal of money fitting them out. Ours was very nicely appointed and with an incredibly deep Jacuzzi bath (I would be wary if you have the smallest of mobility problems it's a job to get in and out). We are fit and young(ish) so this wasn't a problem, but the lack of a shower was. The hand held one didn't really cut the mustard, I'm not keen on showering on my knees. I think in this day and age you don't think of checking to see if a room has a shower, not in a quality hotel anyway.

The room also seemed to be missing the usual bottles of water, until a young lady knocked on the door while we were getting ready to go out at 7pm to offer a turn down service. Apparently the water was part of that service, that's just trying too hard!

The breakfast promised to be special, so we were looking forward to indulging ourselves, but to be honest we were disappointed. The eggs Benedict had at least half a pound of extremely soggy defrosted mashed spinach under the ham, when we commented to the waitress she simply said she would report it to the kitchen. The next morning we choose smoked salmon, I asked for some lemon three times, which eventually turned up once I had finished.

In general I would recommend this 'boutique B & B'. It is nice and I'm sure the problems we found will be put right (we weren't up to making a fuss while we were there). There is a feeling that the owners really want to get it right, and they're not far off. At this price for a B&B, how ever nice the decor is, I think you have to get it right. Not bothering with a guest complaint about the breakfast, old frayed towels and no shower can be put right. Some trellising in the garden, might help the privacy of room 10 and maybe a little less poetic licence in the description of the 'suite' and the 'hotel' might help too.

This is a case of concentrating so much on the detail that you let the more important things slip. A turn down service with a little chocolate isn't really a 'boutique' necessity, nice towels are! Showers are expected nowadays, media players aren't. An ipod dock isn't an adequate replacement for a good breakfast.

Sometimes it's the bigger things that make a difference!

Room Tip: Room Ten has it's own entrance in the garden, beware that other guests use this area to smoke an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We chose the hotel on the recommendation of friends who stayed here last year and we were not disappointed. It was in an excellent location, just 2 or 3 minutes walk from the lake, shops and restaurants.

The luxury room (13) was possibly a little smaller than it appeared in website photos but the decor was lovely. The room had all the amenities you would hope for - especially loved the lighting in the bathroom and the spa bath and bathroom TV. Above all it was clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Hotel manager, Emma who was attentive and efficient.

Breakfast was good - a good cup of tea served in china cups and a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, juices and cooked breakfast dishes, including vegetarian options. Everything was beautifully presented.

We stayed 2 nights but did not make use of the leisure facilities at the nearby hotel (Old England) - there isn't time to explore the area, enjoy the room and fit in swimming and treatments and do everything on offer - but it was good to have the option.

We would make a return visit - a really relaxing and enjoyably boutique experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for your fantastic comments are we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the lake District and The Cranleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed at the Cranleigh in late November 2010 for our honeymoon. We felt it would be the ultimate wind-down and it was indeed, after a stressful, snow-filled wedding in North East England the day before!

We stayed in the downstairs bedroom by reception, called The Suite. It was divine. My new husband had ordered chocolates and champagne which was there on arrival. The hotel manager, Emma, was helpful and polite even though she was dealing with cancellations because of the bad weather.

The breakfast was great, the room was great, we had no trouble parking, the hotel is about a minute away from restaurants and bars (regardless of what other people say - it is! Or perhaps I just walk pretty fast) and the spa at the Old England was also great. The pool was freezing but it was minus 3 outside so it wasn't too bad! And the bath in the hotel bedroom is amazing.

The room was nipping clean, all in all a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a twin air spa bath - these baths are ace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toon-broon-eyed-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed at the cranleigh when I got engaged its the perfect hotel for such an occasion, the staff are friendly, we stayed in room 5 and the hideaway on the final night, the rooms are that lovely its a sin to venture out the hotel.. we will revist again one day however the hotel is rather expensive therefore we may have to save up as we could go away to spain for a week for what it costs for 3 nights at the hotel.

Room Tip: The hideaway is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaydeswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Suite's in the Lake District range from around £200 - £600 per night. We believe our room rates to be very accurate due to the very high occupancy levels we achieve. The Lake District is not the cheapest place to visit and never has been, however it is the second most visited place in the UK and is of course stunningly beautiful.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here for my girlfriends birthday & couldn't fault it!! Absolutely brilliant. Staff are friendly & our room was out of this world. Location is also excellent....2 min walk to centre of town. Will definitely be coming again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutch198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We booked the Hideaway for a wee retreat after our wedding. We were so exhausted and this room was perfect to unwind. We got our breakfast served in our room on time every day and the staff was very helpful. The service we received was outstanding! The room was maybe a bit too warm but we used the fan at night and we slept very well.

Our only disappointment was the spa at the McDonald's hotel. The swimming pool was very cool (they did notice the clients that the pool was at 24 degrees but really it was more 15 degrees!). There was no jacuzzi, only one sauna and one steam room and they can get very crowded. There were only 4 loungers to sit on so we asked where the relaxation room was and we were told that only people who get spa treatments couls use it... We decided to leave after less than an hour and had a jacuzzi bath in our own hotel room instead. It was MUCH better!

We would definitely go back and who knows? We might try The Sanctuary next time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NinonM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
2.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.2 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $202 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing