We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately didn’t live up to the Price tag”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unfortunately didn’t live up to the Price tag”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just back from the Cranleigh staying in ‘The Hideout’ from 7th February till the 9th, 2014. And although this place is definitely what everyone is saying it is, luxurious, quirky and romantic, it, in our opinion makes some fatal errors in livening up to its rather expensive price tag.
Ok first things first, the good points, of which there are many.
The hideout is decorated from top to bottom in extremely chic, artistic and mood setting décor, from the wall coverings to the mood setting lights to the cushions and throws that give every room its own character and feel.
The best of the best is most definitely the ‘Wellness Spa room’, which although looks to be a converted garage deserves praise for whom ever designed and implemented its transformation. From the massive air spa bath to the huge 65” hidden TV to the complimentary cocktail bar, this room really does what it says on the tin and makes the whole experience worthwhile.
The middle floor comprises of an extremely small toilet and bathroom and a very well decorated bedroom, although the four poster bed in my opinion should have some kind of canopy or veils as it is just a chrome frame which I didn’t personally like (just a matter of taste though am sure many others will love it).
Upstairs is great with more mood lighting, a well equipped kitchen an extremely comfy L-Shaped couch with another big screen TV, Blu ray player, Halogen flame effect fire and a funky coffee table that pulls open to reveal lots of magazines etc.
All in all extremely good, unique, quirky and a lovely experience for my wife’s special birthday.
Ok negatives, and this is where everyone reading says “ohh he is just being picky” or “some people will moan about anything” but to be fair for a hotel that is allegedly 5 Star and costs £225 per night MORE than an executive room in the Hilton Waldorf in London, £525 per night. Then you need to live up to that price tag.
Check in was pleasant enough by an extremely friendly member of staff who hands you a map and explains how you drive to the hideout, I have a good sense of direction and struggled finding the place mainly because even when you drive past it is not what you are expecting, if there were pictures of the outside on trip advisor it might put you off, hence I have not posted any as inside more than makes up for it.
The parking slot you get is tiny and needs a competent driver to park but after many inching backwards and forwards we were docked, wish we had emptied the boot first though as once parked its almost impossible, I must add if you have a small car then this would not be a problem.
Ok we wandered round and really did get the WOW factor; it is amazing, especially when you first get there. On getting to grips with everything we found as all 3 levels had different equipment it was like getting to grips with a different remote controls for every room, extremely frustrating and annoying after a while. The claims that everything is controlled by the ipad are exaggerated as for what we could see it was only the lights, the sonos and the Apple TV downstairs.
Ok if you are wanting to use your own music etc then I hope you have an old Phone as all of the rooms have Ipod Docks but all are for the old 30pin Apple connectors which means anything over an iPhone 4S, iPad 2 or iPod Touch, that uses a lightening cable are useless (I had downloaded loads of music for the weekend but was a waste of time).
10.30 that night it started to get very chilly (it was February and the weather was awful), we could not find any heating controls at all and all of the radiators were stone cold. A chilly night was in store but by the morning the radiators were back on and it was not till later that we were informed that the heating was on a timer, the controls were locked away and they sent someone round to turn the timer off. One night out of our two was already gone though and this really had me confused. Apparently it is because some guests have complained about being too hot. However if it is left on you can turn the radiator off and it cools down, if its turned off and the controls are locked away…its off…this excuse didn’t make any sense and I put it down to penny pinching (which at £525 a night is a bit cheeky).
Breakfast, a continental is left in the hideout, however, one of each cereal sachets? One of each? So if you and your wife both like Alpen, sorry one of you chose again…really? Penny pinching again I am afraid. You can of course go up to the hotel and enjoy a cooked breakfast (which is fantastic by the way) but unfortunately there only a handful of parking spaces at the hotel, at no time in our stay was one of them free and anywhere near the hotel as Bowness seems to be the home of the double yellow line. In the summer this is probably not a problem as it would be a nice 10-minute stroll to breakfast. In the winter and with ice cold pouring rain as it was for the entire length of our stay, you arrive for breakfast cold, wet and fed up….5 Star…..£525 a night??
As I have already mentioned the breakfast is extremely nice, the service however, not so I am afraid, not showed to a table, which resulting in us sitting down as someone’s table who was off getting fruit juice, how were we to know. The room is tiny for breakfast and involved lots of sorry and excuse me’s whenever pulling chairs out etc. We waited about 10 minutes sat down before anyone approached us then a further 10 minutes for our Coffee to arrive and all in all 45 minutes to get our breakfast. Now all of this in a Hotel not claiming to be top of the tree…fair enough but once again 5 Star? £525 per night? To top it off on both mornings we asked for some more toast (the one they bring you has 3 slices in it) and both mornings two different girls serving came back saying “Here is your EXTRA toast” and the toast rack was smaller (only 2 slices) really? Its about 10p a slice!
Ok last one….
The toilet back at the hideout is bizarre, extremely close to the wall which houses a heated towel rail so to enable you to use this toilet you almost have to go side saddle, the seat is very round , almost although they know this issue and have fitted the round seat to enable you to sit at an angle, here’s the twist the toilet roll is housed on the wall behind your left shoulder, so you have to perform some insane shoulder dislocating exercise because your side saddle on the toilet which if nothing else had us in fits of laughter the first day, second day the funny side had worn off!
OK all in all as a one off this place is great if not extremely over priced, the owners have displayed a no expense spared attitude in some aspects of the Hideout but some of the penny pinching housekeeping throws a spanner in the works.
As a suggestion if the hideout can not have reserved parking for breakfast I would stick the ingredients in the fridge to enable the guests to cook it themselves as turning up soaking wet and freezing cold does not start the day on a good footing. Having paid for what is undoubtedly the best seat in the house at no point did I feel like I was sat in it.
Also adaptors for the ipod docks, come on guys their only £25 each.
Overall experience was very good but claims of being the best in my opinion are way off the mark.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, General Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to post a review about your stay at the Hideout. We are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and sorry that the weather wasn't very good for you, although I don't think any area of the country has escaped the rain this winter.
We take all of our comments seriously and take on board all feedback given.
We appreciate your positive feedback with regards to the decor, design and facilities within the Hideout. On the middle floor we do have a small bathroom but we took the decision this didn't need to be any bigger due to the huge jacuzzi bath and rainfall shower downstairs.
We have an allocated parking space at the rear of the property and does fit most cars. From the outside it is a 3 storey town house in the centre of the village with neighbouring properties, the map we give details the position of the house and how to get there within a 2 min drive from the Cranleigh, sorry that you found this confusing.
The Ipad controls the lighting, sound, tv, internet etc downstairs as this was a newly refurbished area of the Hideout house. Unfortunately this does not control lighting, tv etc in other areas.
You have mentioned that you couldn't use the ipod docking station because you have a lightning connection (iphone 5 connection). We have adapters that can be borrowed from reception and this could have been requested at any time and we would have delivered this to you but we were unaware of this problem. Our reception team are available from 8am to 11pm each day in case of any problems, questions or requests you may have and this is explained on check in and within the letter you received in the Hideout.
In connection with the heating I am sorry that you found this too cold at some points of your stay, we have tried to regulate this as much as we can as previous guests have been too warm and is certainly not a penny pinching exercise. I am glad we could alter this for you after you had notified us and hope that the rest of the weekend was at a suitable ambient temperature for you.
The continental breakfast option that is provided in the Hideout includes 5 different cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, milk, orange juice, eggs, cheese, continental meats, butter, bread, croissants and a selection of jams. We have tried to include everything possible and take note of your comment that we only provide 1 of each cereal. This has now been changed. Unfortunately at weekends we are normally very busy at the Cranleigh Boutique so parking on site can be difficult but we do have another car park 1 min walk away which we could have directed you to if we had known you had difficulty parking when coming for a cooked breakfast at the Cranleigh. Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 10.30am at weekends and we have found that this is a suitable time to accommodate all of our guests for breakfast.
Again, I thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and hope you return to the Lake District again soon.
Emma Johnson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just spent a night at the hideout house with my wife and will definitely recommend it

Before booking I did think it was a little pricey for a mid week night but going off the pictures I decided to pay it . When we first arrived outside I was a little worried as it doesn't look much from the outside but as soon as you open the front door you relise your in a one off hotel room, and it just gets better when you walk down stairs to the lower lounge to be greet buy a huge jacuzzi bath cinema size tv and a Bar stacked with complimentary beers wine spirts soft drinks cockails and snacks. The upstairs middle level has a well decorated bedroom with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in !!!! The top floor has a large kitchen again stocked with bread cheese chocolate etc and a living area with large corner sofa, tv and sound system

We spent most of our time in the lower lounge listening to our favorite music which is all controlled the the iPad before watching a movie in the jacuzzi
Pure luxury and relaxation and worth every penny it won't be the last time we are there

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for hideout house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robcass83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks ever so much for your lovely review on the Hideout Boutique. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay. It’s such a different place from outside to inside and I think that’s part of it’s charm as you really feel like your in a different world. We’re glad that you could fully relax and have the luxurious feel to match the price tag “worth every penny” – that’s nice to say. We really look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at The Hideout Boutique House for the weekend along with my partner. We wanted to beat the January blues and it was a lovely way to celebrate our first year together.
From start to finish we had an amazing time. I must admit, although the private parking area was great, the property looks nothing much from the outside. However, the location is spot on and the inside of The Hideout blew us away!
The accommodation was by far the best we've ever stayed in, very clean and comfortable. It enabled us to feel totally relaxed and almost like being at home. The decor was extremely modern and oozed class. Our favourite part of the weekend was simply unwinding in the jacuzzi bath, sipping champagne whilst we watched films. They had so many decent ones to choose from and the complimentary drinks were also a nice touch.
We didn't want to leave this beautiful place but we did venture out. The Cranleigh kindly gave us complimentary passes so we could use the facilities at another nearby hotel.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is the most perfect destination for romantic UK break. I definitely made some friends and family jealous coming here!
I will certainly be booking again in the near future.
Thank you very much for giving us the best start to 2014!
xxx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJayneJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you very much for coming to stay! We’re glad you chose the Hideout Boutique house and that it delivered the best start to 2014 for you and your partner. It’s true isn’t it from the outside it gets the mind wandering about inside and then when you enter it’s magical. You can do so much to a property when you put your mind to it.
Thanks in advance for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After reading several reviews in the average section to see why they felt this way I have to completely disagree.

Me and my partner won a stay at The Cranleigh and we stayed on a Sunday night a few weeks ago. Granted people might think our opinions skewed after having the stay paid for but I would certainly have paid very good money for the service we received.

The hotel went above and beyond to make me and my partner feel like royalty. We stayed in Room 9 which is decorated in neutral colors and feels really cosy. We fell in love with the bathroom which had the largest selection of toiletries that I have ever seen on offer in any hotel in the world.

They had put rose petals on the bed and in the shape of a heart. There were chocolates and champagne (my partner got a little excited and broke one the glasses and they were nice enough not to charge him for this).

The bed was amazingly comfortable and since coming home I've been searching for similar pillows and duvets. The room was very clean, warm and perfectly sized with loads of storage.

We went to have dinner at a lovely little cafe in town before heading to the spa down the road (five minutes walk, not something to complain about, I'd love a spa that far down the road to every hotel!). My partner really enjoyed the saunas and especially the ice room though I wasn't that brave. The pool in the spa overlooks the lake, I could have stayed there forever it was so peaceful. To be able to use the spa without charge was a real treat.

We went to eat at Villa Positano. Great atmosphere and really good food with lovely service. It was the perfect end to a really good day.

In the morning we went down to have breakfast which we thought was lovely they even put the beans in a little jar, something little but I thought it was lovely, not everyone likes bean soaked bacon :)


We had a little walk to the lake and visited a sweet shop in town before coming home and before we left my partner adopted the Huggie Bear that was in our room. I couldn't leave him there after getting attached to him during our stay.

The service, the location, the atmosphere, the added extras and the effort the staff at The Cranleigh go to to make your stay as luxurious as possible was clear to see. I know how much it would have cost us for the trip had we not been lucky enough to win the competition and I would have happily paid.

I would highly recommend this Boutique Hotel to absolutely anyone who wants romance, peace and quiet or just to stay in a hotel with staff that care.

We would like to thank all at The Cranleigh for their amazing efforts. You have made lifelong customers out of us and we can't wait to return!

Laura & Stewart
(Stayed 19th January 2014 after winning the Facebook competition after you reached 79,000)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We’re really glad that despite your win you felt you would have paid good money for your stay. We try to treat all of our guests the same whether they are a Facebook winner or a paying new or returning customer and it really pleases us that you ‘felt like royalty’.
Thanks very much in advance for your recommendations. We’re really glad we delivered on romance and relaxation for you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my husband. I won a competition on Facebook and included was a bottle of champagne, handmade chocs and rose petals on the bed.
Thankyou cranleigh we loved every minute :-)
The room was lovely and I especially liked the jacuzzi bath with tv.
The staff I encountered were all friendly and proffesional and couldn't do enough for you.
The person who owns this is spot on with staff training and customer service.
We ordered a few dvds to watch from the complimentary DVD library and they were delivered in what seemed like 30 seconds.
For a lovely romantic break you would be hard pressed to beat this place and I for one will be returning at some point in the near future!
Book and you will not be disappointed!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We love your review – thank you! “Book and you will not be disappointed” that’s great of you to say. We’re genuinely happy that you had a lovely romantic break away with us and we thank you for all of your support on Facebook. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My partner and I stayed in the 'Sanctuary' as a suprise treat between Christmas and New year before she is due to give birth in February. We could not fault a thing - the staff were polite and helpful, the suite was fantastic, the breakfast (served to the room) was especially good and well prepared.

We have both been to Bowness previously and it did not disappoint. Obviously it was cold and a bit wet but still nice to take a wake down by Windemere, and as always the local restaurants and cafes provided good service, atmosphere and food. With the weather not being great and a night in the local bars out of the question we visited the cinema and although small was a good spot!

Certainly got me n the good books and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
That’s a lovely surprise break for your partner; we’re not surprised it got you in the good books! It means a lot to hear that at those special times in your lives we can deliver to you and “not fault a thing”. All the best for you and your partner, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were looking for a couple of days in the Lake District to celebrate my birthday and after a bit of internet trawling came up with the Cranleigh, which offered bed and breakfast, but unlike other hotels included a cruise of lake Windermere, free use of a nearby spa facilities and a bottle of prosecco, for virtually the same price. Having now experienced it, we can say it did offer value for money - the service and breakfast was second to non (and we have stayed in supposedly superior hotels.) We took the free boat to Ambleside and did a short walk of Stock Ghyll and had a thoroughly enjoyable day. Unfortunately the Cranleigh does not have a resteraunt but having experienced the local quisine we can recommend the Angel Inn. We also found the parking at the hotel excellent and an easy walk into Bowness for shopping, restaurants, spa etc. Recommended.

Room Tip: As with everything in life it's personal choice and a compromise - the deco in room 8 suited us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time out to place a review on the hotel and for choosing us following your Internet search there is a lot of choice out there especially in the area and it’s great that you found us value for money and “the service and breakfast second to none”. Thanks for your recommendations; we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.2 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
2.2 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing