We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hideout House Boutique - Amazing”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Wow - we expected the Hideout to be luxurious from the pictures and the reviews, but expectations were exceeded. Its based in what from the outside is just an ordinary end mews house, but as soon as you open the door you are transported into total decadence. The floor where you enter is the middle floor and has a bedroom and bathroom, both are decorated to a high standard and were spotlessly clean. On the top floor is a full kitchen and living room with balcony, the kitchen is equipped with all the basics and the fridge had been stocked with some water and a bottle of real milk (makes a change from the usual UHT mini cartons). The best part by far is the spa bathroom/cinema room in the basement. Descending down a spiral staircase, it really does feel like you are being transported to another place. Mood lighting, sound system and cinema tv all controlled by an iPad. There is a fully stocked complimentary bar with only the full bottles of wine being charged for. We took full advantage of the movies and even cancelled our evening meal out as we were enjoying relaxing too much. I can't recommend the hideout highly enough, its the perfect place to go to and shut out the world for a seriously relaxing break, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank BexH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Cranleigh. It is a short stroll into the town and we got a car park space at the back of the hotel. We were advised not to park in one space as it could have been a problem for us leaving next day. Our room was very nice, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom clean and interesting and the glass of Prosecco and free chocolates were a lovely touch. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cat1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We loved our stay here .chocolates . Champagne and glamorous bedrooms certainly make you feel special. Staff are lovely so friendly and keen to make your stay here a pleasurable experience . We stayed in room 3 it was lovely . Very quiet and beds so comfortable we slept soundly both nights ! The position of the cranleigh is ideal to get out and about and everything is within walking distance . Breakfast is fresh home cooked and of high quality ingredients . Would definitely recommend and stay here and hope to return here soon :)

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oscarrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The Cranleigh is very highly rated in reviews and describes itself on its website as the most romantic hotel in the UK.
However you have to look at things in context.
First and foremost this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a bed and breakfast guest house that has positioned itself as being upmarket and charges prices accordingly. So there is no bar (although you can order drinks for your room) and if you want to escape your room for a while there is only a tiny lounge area in reception .
I suspect that if our luxury room was representative then the rooms are generally not that big unless you opt for a suite.
They are however beautifully decorated but they are far from perfect.
For example, the wardrobe in our room was a tiny broom cupboard not deep enough to accommodate a coat hanger so everything has to be hung in on a slant and 3 days worth of clothing for two was a real struggle to fit.
The bathroom had a rain shower, a Jacuzzi bath, mood lighting and a TV over the bath but nowhere to put your stuff other than on a window ledge at the back of the bath which is less than ideal – a classic example of a room that has been designed by someone without “testing” it out. Also there is not enough light anywhere for ladies to do their make-up other than by “memory”.
Some of the money spent on the romantic aspect could have been better spent on being practical.
Breakfast is served in the “front parlour” and is perfectly pleasant but the continental choice is very restricted, considering that the place has 18 rooms.
There is a modest amount of parking on site, but not enough if all rooms are let. When that is full there is a further parking area a few minutes walk away.
In the lounge are a number of restaurant recommendations and some indications of time it takes to reach – it actually takes considerably longer in most cases unless you can move as fast as Usain Bolt or drive like Lewis Hamilton, so allow more time to get there.
One final thought – the best restaurants in town get very busy especially at weekends so if you are staying a few days, try and get your reservations made early (especially for a Friday or Saturday night).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. There are a few things i would like to point out in your review. The Cranleigh Boutique does not advertise itself as a hotel as we only serve breakfast and to be hotel you are required to serve evening meals.5 star standards vary in Guesthouses and Hotels. The most romantic hotel in the UK was an award we won in 2013 through Trip Advisor and we won due to the amount of times our guests used the word romantic in their reviews. In 2013 we had one of the highest amounts of reviews written in the UK/ World and most mentioned the word Romantic more then once. We are in the centre of the Lake District and our rates are lower then most of our competitors in the local area. Daily rate checks are done so we can have the best rates.
Thank you for mentioning your maintenance issues, I have made a note of these and they will be looked at immediately. All feedback is welcomed. Our breakfast is served with continental and full cooked options for all our guests, Due to the 2 hours breakfast service we do not put all continental food out at once but we refill everything during the 2 hour service so that items are constantly restocked for guests. On making a reservation with us we do advise that guests make reservations in restaurants in the town centre due to the high volume of visitors over the weekends. We feel that the town centre is a 2-5 minute walk for most and in some cases maybe a bit longer to the top of Bowness. Thank you once again for your review and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Lovely room, free chocs and glass of Proceco went down well. Breakfast really good. Staff looked after us and were very very helpful when a few days after our stayed I realised
I had left my jacket in the room. If was returned to me within a few days of me notifying them.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We went to this hotel for our 35th wedding anniversary. Excellent room. Chocolates put on the pillows in the evening.The breakfast was freshly cooked to order.
Hopefully we will go back in the spring.

Room Tip: You can choose your room from the internet photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

I booked a surprise weekend for my wifes 30th birthday in the sanctuary room, the staff as we arrived were very friendly and showed us to our room which i have to say is absolutely stunning, the added feature of the private hot tub was an added bonus as the weather was awful the hot tub had a canopy over it so it was great to have a glass of wine out there being warm and sheltered. We had a very relaxing weekend. The breakfast is the best we have ever eaten at a hotel highly recommended and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dankatem31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
1.4 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
450 reviews
2.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $200 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing