We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Escape Suite. Simply Amazing!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2014

My wife had booked this hotel as a surprise for me for our anniversary so i had no idea what to expect and boy was i surprised. Upon arrival we parked our car in the hotels private car park located at the back of the hotel, my wife checked in and we were shown to our room. The room itself was lovely with a separate lounge and a large wall mounted TV and DVD player.
The bedroom was located behind a beautiful glass mirror and had another large TV and DVD player. The suite was stunning and beautifully decorated throughout. The bed itself was by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. My wife was happy that they had a dressing table in the bedroom which had its own stool and mirror. The best room was the bathroom, this had a double Mr and Mrs shower and a double spa bath which had another wall mounted TV. We used the spa bath twice a day as it was so relaxing. It had colour changing LED lights and spa bubbles with a cute rubber ducky :) An iPod system was connected throughout the room and into the bathroom so that we could play some relaxing music whilst in the spa bath.

Everything was provided from bathrobes, slippers, toiletries and even an umbrella. The receptionist, Alice was so lovely she even offered to buy lactose free milk for my wife and provided us with brochures and information on places to visit.
We were offered breakfast sent to the suite every morning. We ordered the Vegetarian English Breakfast every day because it was simply delicious. The beans came in a cute little glass container which kept it warm and the tomatoes on the vine were lovely. Everything was freshly made even the pastries which we ordered everyday, by far the best pastries we have ever had. The little jam pots were so cute and they provided three different types of jam everyday.

The room service was excellent. Although my wife said we didn't require any services, whilst we were out, the cleaners came in and cleaned the bed and provided towels on a daily basis. All the staff we spoke to were polite and friendly and even brought the DVD we requested to our room one night. The information booklet in our room had hundreds of unlimited DVDs to choose from free of charge. Alice who we met on our first night came to assist us with the iPod docking system as we had some issues trying to play music on it.

I would recommend this hotel to any couple who wants time to relax. The escape suite is perfect for honeymooners, or anyone wanting to enjoy a special occasion. Certainly a lovely treat ;)
Book now you will not be disappointed. I will be back next time to try the next suit up the sanctuary :)

Room Tip: Choose the escape suite! Its worth the money :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoayb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2014

This was a lovely find in a beautiful location.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and it really feels like a luxury treat to stay there. Everything in the rooms screams quality - there have been no cheap short cuts anywhere. Lovely comfortable bed, amazing air-spa bath, underfloor heating in the bathroom, quality robes and towels. There has also been a lot of thought and care taken in making sure that everything you need is provided; Ironing board, iron, stereo, pen, paper, chocolates, hairdryer, water and a lovely box of chocolates on arrival.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and there was plenty of choice to suit all tastes. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and actually seemed to want to make sure you had an enjoyable stay.

If you are staying at Bowness the location is perfect as you are literally a two minute walk into the centre where there is a variety of pubs, shops and restaurants. and also 5 minute walk to the main pier where you can get on the various ferries. Some of the larger hotels which are farther out, although still being within a mile or so radius, are only accessible down country lanes with no pavements. So the Cranleigh has the perfect location for a stay in Bowness.

I would certainly recommend a stay here and really hope to pay a visit again some time soon.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Wow - we expected the Hideout to be luxurious from the pictures and the reviews, but expectations were exceeded. Its based in what from the outside is just an ordinary end mews house, but as soon as you open the door you are transported into total decadence. The floor where you enter is the middle floor and has a bedroom and bathroom, both are decorated to a high standard and were spotlessly clean. On the top floor is a full kitchen and living room with balcony, the kitchen is equipped with all the basics and the fridge had been stocked with some water and a bottle of real milk (makes a change from the usual UHT mini cartons). The best part by far is the spa bathroom/cinema room in the basement. Descending down a spiral staircase, it really does feel like you are being transported to another place. Mood lighting, sound system and cinema tv all controlled by an iPad. There is a fully stocked complimentary bar with only the full bottles of wine being charged for. We took full advantage of the movies and even cancelled our evening meal out as we were enjoying relaxing too much. I can't recommend the hideout highly enough, its the perfect place to go to and shut out the world for a seriously relaxing break, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank BexH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Cranleigh. It is a short stroll into the town and we got a car park space at the back of the hotel. We were advised not to park in one space as it could have been a problem for us leaving next day. Our room was very nice, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom clean and interesting and the glass of Prosecco and free chocolates were a lovely touch. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cat1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We loved our stay here .chocolates . Champagne and glamorous bedrooms certainly make you feel special. Staff are lovely so friendly and keen to make your stay here a pleasurable experience . We stayed in room 3 it was lovely . Very quiet and beds so comfortable we slept soundly both nights ! The position of the cranleigh is ideal to get out and about and everything is within walking distance . Breakfast is fresh home cooked and of high quality ingredients . Would definitely recommend and stay here and hope to return here soon :)

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oscarrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The Cranleigh is very highly rated in reviews and describes itself on its website as the most romantic hotel in the UK.
However you have to look at things in context.
First and foremost this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a bed and breakfast guest house that has positioned itself as being upmarket and charges prices accordingly. So there is no bar (although you can order drinks for your room) and if you want to escape your room for a while there is only a tiny lounge area in reception .
I suspect that if our luxury room was representative then the rooms are generally not that big unless you opt for a suite.
They are however beautifully decorated but they are far from perfect.
For example, the wardrobe in our room was a tiny broom cupboard not deep enough to accommodate a coat hanger so everything has to be hung in on a slant and 3 days worth of clothing for two was a real struggle to fit.
The bathroom had a rain shower, a Jacuzzi bath, mood lighting and a TV over the bath but nowhere to put your stuff other than on a window ledge at the back of the bath which is less than ideal – a classic example of a room that has been designed by someone without “testing” it out. Also there is not enough light anywhere for ladies to do their make-up other than by “memory”.
Some of the money spent on the romantic aspect could have been better spent on being practical.
Breakfast is served in the “front parlour” and is perfectly pleasant but the continental choice is very restricted, considering that the place has 18 rooms.
There is a modest amount of parking on site, but not enough if all rooms are let. When that is full there is a further parking area a few minutes walk away.
In the lounge are a number of restaurant recommendations and some indications of time it takes to reach – it actually takes considerably longer in most cases unless you can move as fast as Usain Bolt or drive like Lewis Hamilton, so allow more time to get there.
One final thought – the best restaurants in town get very busy especially at weekends so if you are staying a few days, try and get your reservations made early (especially for a Friday or Saturday night).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. There are a few things i would like to point out in your review. The Cranleigh Boutique does not advertise itself as a hotel as we only serve breakfast and to be hotel you are required to serve evening meals.5 star standards vary in Guesthouses and Hotels. The most romantic hotel in the UK was an award we won in 2013 through Trip Advisor and we won due to the amount of times our guests used the word romantic in their reviews. In 2013 we had one of the highest amounts of reviews written in the UK/ World and most mentioned the word Romantic more then once. We are in the centre of the Lake District and our rates are lower then most of our competitors in the local area. Daily rate checks are done so we can have the best rates.
Thank you for mentioning your maintenance issues, I have made a note of these and they will be looked at immediately. All feedback is welcomed. Our breakfast is served with continental and full cooked options for all our guests, Due to the 2 hours breakfast service we do not put all continental food out at once but we refill everything during the 2 hour service so that items are constantly restocked for guests. On making a reservation with us we do advise that guests make reservations in restaurants in the town centre due to the high volume of visitors over the weekends. We feel that the town centre is a 2-5 minute walk for most and in some cases maybe a bit longer to the top of Bowness. Thank you once again for your review and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Lovely room, free chocs and glass of Proceco went down well. Breakfast really good. Staff looked after us and were very very helpful when a few days after our stayed I realised
I had left my jacket in the room. If was returned to me within a few days of me notifying them.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
1.4 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
2.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $202 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing