We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$271
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$190
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Virginia Cottage Guest House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$158
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lonsdale House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$260
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Elim House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$124
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$111
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dene House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$253
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,813)
Filter reviews
1,813 results
Traveller rating
1,490
223
79
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,490
223
79
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingspa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictchurch suites
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,813 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2014

This was a lovely find in a beautiful location.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and it really feels like a luxury treat to stay there. Everything in the rooms screams quality - there have been no cheap short cuts anywhere. Lovely comfortable bed, amazing air-spa bath, underfloor heating in the bathroom, quality robes and towels. There has also been a lot of thought and care taken in making sure that everything you need is provided; Ironing board, iron, stereo, pen, paper, chocolates, hairdryer, water and a lovely box of chocolates on arrival.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and there was plenty of choice to suit all tastes. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and actually seemed to want to make sure you had an enjoyable stay.

If you are staying at Bowness the location is perfect as you are literally a two minute walk into the centre where there is a variety of pubs, shops and restaurants. and also 5 minute walk to the main pier where you can get on the various ferries. Some of the larger hotels which are farther out, although still being within a mile or so radius, are only accessible down country lanes with no pavements. So the Cranleigh has the perfect location for a stay in Bowness.

I would certainly recommend a stay here and really hope to pay a visit again some time soon.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2014

Wow - we expected the Hideout to be luxurious from the pictures and the reviews, but expectations were exceeded. Its based in what from the outside is just an ordinary end mews house, but as soon as you open the door you are transported into total decadence. The floor where you enter is the middle floor and has a bedroom and bathroom, both are decorated to a high standard and were spotlessly clean. On the top floor is a full kitchen and living room with balcony, the kitchen is equipped with all the basics and the fridge had been stocked with some water and a bottle of real milk (makes a change from the usual UHT mini cartons). The best part by far is the spa bathroom/cinema room in the basement. Descending down a spiral staircase, it really does feel like you are being transported to another place. Mood lighting, sound system and cinema tv all controlled by an iPad. There is a fully stocked complimentary bar with only the full bottles of wine being charged for. We took full advantage of the movies and even cancelled our evening meal out as we were enjoying relaxing too much. I can't recommend the hideout highly enough, its the perfect place to go to and shut out the world for a seriously relaxing break, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank BexH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Cranleigh. It is a short stroll into the town and we got a car park space at the back of the hotel. We were advised not to park in one space as it could have been a problem for us leaving next day. Our room was very nice, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom clean and interesting and the glass of Prosecco and free chocolates were a lovely touch. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cat1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2014

We loved our stay here .chocolates . Champagne and glamorous bedrooms certainly make you feel special. Staff are lovely so friendly and keen to make your stay here a pleasurable experience . We stayed in room 3 it was lovely . Very quiet and beds so comfortable we slept soundly both nights ! The position of the cranleigh is ideal to get out and about and everything is within walking distance . Breakfast is fresh home cooked and of high quality ingredients . Would definitely recommend and stay here and hope to return here soon :)

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oscarrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2014

The Cranleigh is very highly rated in reviews and describes itself on its website as the most romantic hotel in the UK.
However you have to look at things in context.
First and foremost this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a bed and breakfast guest house that has positioned itself as being upmarket and charges prices accordingly. So there is no bar (although you can order drinks for your room) and if you want to escape your room for a while there is only a tiny lounge area in reception .
I suspect that if our luxury room was representative then the rooms are generally not that big unless you opt for a suite.
They are however beautifully decorated but they are far from perfect.
For example, the wardrobe in our room was a tiny broom cupboard not deep enough to accommodate a coat hanger so everything has to be hung in on a slant and 3 days worth of clothing for two was a real struggle to fit.
The bathroom had a rain shower, a Jacuzzi bath, mood lighting and a TV over the bath but nowhere to put your stuff other than on a window ledge at the back of the bath which is less than ideal – a classic example of a room that has been designed by someone without “testing” it out. Also there is not enough light anywhere for ladies to do their make-up other than by “memory”.
Some of the money spent on the romantic aspect could have been better spent on being practical.
Breakfast is served in the “front parlour” and is perfectly pleasant but the continental choice is very restricted, considering that the place has 18 rooms.
There is a modest amount of parking on site, but not enough if all rooms are let. When that is full there is a further parking area a few minutes walk away.
In the lounge are a number of restaurant recommendations and some indications of time it takes to reach – it actually takes considerably longer in most cases unless you can move as fast as Usain Bolt or drive like Lewis Hamilton, so allow more time to get there.
One final thought – the best restaurants in town get very busy especially at weekends so if you are staying a few days, try and get your reservations made early (especially for a Friday or Saturday night).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. There are a few things i would like to point out in your review. The Cranleigh Boutique does not advertise itself as a hotel as we only serve breakfast and to be hotel you are required to serve evening meals.5 star standards vary in Guesthouses and Hotels. The most romantic hotel in the UK was an award we won in 2013 through Trip Advisor and we won due to the amount of times our guests used the word romantic in their reviews. In 2013 we had one of the highest amounts of reviews written in the UK/ World and most mentioned the word Romantic more then once. We are in the centre of the Lake District and our rates are lower then most of our competitors in the local area. Daily rate checks are done so we can have the best rates.
Thank you for mentioning your maintenance issues, I have made a note of these and they will be looked at immediately. All feedback is welcomed. Our breakfast is served with continental and full cooked options for all our guests, Due to the 2 hours breakfast service we do not put all continental food out at once but we refill everything during the 2 hour service so that items are constantly restocked for guests. On making a reservation with us we do advise that guests make reservations in restaurants in the town centre due to the high volume of visitors over the weekends. We feel that the town centre is a 2-5 minute walk for most and in some cases maybe a bit longer to the top of Bowness. Thank you once again for your review and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews