We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellent!”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2011. The location is fantastic, the rooms maybe slightly small, but they were extremely clean. It was a quite and peaceful guesthouse, so it was easy to relax! The ladies in the guest house couldn't of been nicer, both were extremely warm and friendly. We'll definately recommend the White lodge to friends and we'll be staying again! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chimene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel was really clean but the rooms and bathrooms were very small.
In our opinion it was a guesthouse and not a 4 star hotel.
A plus was the free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank graeme54-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as a large proportion of our business is repeat custom. We have never said that we were a 4 * star hotel. We are registered with the Cumbria Tourist Board & advertise ourselves as a 4 * guest house. There is a sign at White Lodge's front door showing our 4* guest house accreditation. Surely you would have noticed that there is a huge price difference between a 4* star hotel & a 4* guest house. I believe also that you were given a special rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

From the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed with a smiling face and a friendly tone. We were taken to our double room which was roomy, clean and had a fresh smell of linen. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, free tv channels and the en suite was more then adequate for what we needed. Even though the hotel is situated on the main road and our window faced this it was still quiet and you could not hear loads of traffic etc. The bed was that comfortable that both myself and my partner would only need to lay on it for 10 minutes before we were zonked and each night was a great nights sleep. Every morning we would be greeted with a courteous Good Morning and a smile before we were immediately offered coffee and a tasty cooked breakfast. The English Breakfast, cereal, yoghurt and fruit options were more then enough to see us through until dinner. Everyday I was able to conduct my business at a table within their bistro area and able to use the free wifi they have available, I was even regularly offered coffee and biscuits. All staff were extremely friendly and more then accomodating to any specific needs we had. We spent 2 weeks there and enjoyed the hotel immensely. We would definately return on our next visit and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at White Lodge Hotel. It is greatly appreciated
as my sister & I really enjoy running White Lodge & it is very satisfying that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

A charming, cosy B&B with loads of old-fashioned comfort. Nothing is too much trouble for the two charming ladies who manage White Lodge. An extra advantage is the proximity to Windermere.

Room Tip: Stairs to the second floor are a little bit steep; fine for the nimble-footed. Lovely rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Having stayed there before and thoroughly enjoyed it, when I was asked if I had any preferences of hotel during a business trip earlier this year I had no hesitation and was not disappointed!!
There is a wonderful welcoming friendly family atmosphere the minute you walk in the door of this clean homely hotel. My room on this visit was one of the smaller single rooms, but more than adequate for what I needed, with en-suite shower room looking out on to the main street. As the White Lodge is situated on the outer edge of the town, there was no late night noise from holiday makers leaving the local pubs and restaurants, but it is close enough to the town to walk in and enjoy the social atmosphere. The bed was very comfortable and I had a fantastic nights sleep.
The next morning I received a bright cheery greeting from the proprietors and shown to my table in the restaurant for cereal followed by a full English breakfast, tea and toast, before setting off for a full days training.
If you're looking for a clean, fresh hotel with family welcome and good home cooking this is the one for you, I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Rooms on street side are no noiser than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahimana35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Good:
- Nice room size and decor
- Helpful and friendly staff

Average "full English" breakfast

Bad:
- tiny bathroom

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Thank you for your review & saying we were a nice B&B. Our breakfast is usually highly commended as we offer such a good variety which includes fruit juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts,loads of wholemeal & white breads, bacon, sausage fresh tomatoes & mushrooms,baked beans
& of course eggs either fried, poached, or scrambled. All our food is largely sourced locally.
Most guests say they can't eat another thing before Dinner !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I travelled to Windermere, initially to attend some courses and then take a break and chill out. I had not pre-booked anywhere and found the White Lodge Hotel details at the local Tourist Information centre.

The hotel itself is a charming building which, upon entering, immediately filled me a with a sense of welcome and warmth. It is well placed for local amenities with plenty of parking space. From the hotel you can easily walk to either Windermere or Bowness and access a huge choice of many different styles of restuarants and pubs and the usual range of shops.

If walking is your thing, there is easy access to local basic walks, ferries across the lake and public transport to some of the more challenging hill walks. If you just want to chill and have a break then you probably will not find a more pleasant place to do it. The local people are very friendly and fun if you take the time to meet them and there are several famous attractions in the region..

I have visited the Windermere area several times in the past and have always had a pleasant stay and met nice people, but the White Lodge Hotel has made this visit particulalrly memorable. Being family owned and beautifully run, with lovely staff who really do make you feel at home, it is a pleasure to stay here. The staff are very friendly, pleasant and accomodating and willing to help in every way possible.

I have extended my stay several times now (in fact am thinking about becoming a permanent resident) and have experienced several different rooms and all are comfortable and warmly decorated.

Many of the guests I met at the hotel return regularly and do so because of the pleasant and charmimg atmosphere that exists here.

Pre book or you may well be dissappointed.

Andy

Room Tip: Ring, talk to the staff and book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepsearover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.8 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
591 reviews
0.7 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
3.4 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
0.3 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
2.1 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $184 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing