We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel with great staff... and a lot of stairs!”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My single room was small, cosy and well made up, kept very clean with a small en-suite. Bed was very comfortable and well made. Shower was excellent if not a little small but had lots of hot water and was clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good, well cooked and freshly made with toast, tea, coffee and orange juice on hand.

Access to Bowness-in-Windermere is excellent. A 5-10 minute walk at most and you are in the high-street with an array of eating out and shopping and easy access to the waterside.

Although it didn't affect me it's worth mentioning the place has a lot of stairs, so access for the less able is probably not ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

We decided to visit Bowness at the last minute to make the most of the freakish late September weather, which meant we couldn't get a room in our normal guest house. The White Lodge Hotel gives good first impressions, but there were lots of small annoyances that stopped us from being able to recommend this guest house to other people. Therefore we decided to highlight positives and negatives and let the readers make a decision;

negatives:
Paper bath mats...at £90 a night i expect carpet bath mats
the bathroom itself smelt foisty
tiles in the bathroom were painted over and were seriously flaking. This was above the sink and around the shower area.
breakfast: we were asked what we wanted...there was no menu as such to chose from so felt obliged to ask for a full english.
Broken chair
cracked window pane
The kettle was on a shelf with the cups etc but the plug was on the floor so this is where the kettle went when we wanted a cuppa
Biscuits weren't replaced the second day

Positives
Good location
very nice fried breakfast (no grease to be seen)
plenty of parking
staff seemed friendly but in all honesty we didnt really see them to talk to
back of the house (room 2) very quiet with good views of the hills (over the top of the houses in front)
Room was clean, as was the bedding.

If we'd paid £60 or £70 a night, all the little problems wouldn't really have mattered too much. For £90 a night though, we felt that this just wasn't value for money.
The place isn't exactly bad, but there are cheaper b&b's in a similar area which are better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank scarfaceseaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

I think that it is such a pity that you could not at any time during your stay give any indication that there was anything amiss.On the contrary you appeared to be more than satisfied with your accommodation. Would it not be better to discuss your grievances rather than using the anonymity of an email ? On the question of paper bath mats which is your only accurate comment we specifically use them because they are proven to be the most hygienic as they are replaced every day and other bathmats harbour a variety of germs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week and found the staff extremely helpful and professional with nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was cosy, met all our requirements and was extremely clean as was our ensuite - there was hot water daily!!!
The breakfast each morning was very substantial and there was always plenty of coffee and toast if required.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_IrelandMariusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My daughter and I stayed in this charming guest house when following up our local ancestry. It was spotless and had pretty rooms, with the top rooms having lovely views. It was in a great position for easy walking to all lake and town facilities in Bowness and there is ample parking. Best of all was the incredibly warm welcome and the continuing interest in our visit, which made us feel special. Prices were very reasonable, so overall the White Lodge was excellent value and we will never consider staying anywhere else when visiting again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ring up and talk about your requirements - all staff are so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2011. The location is fantastic, the rooms maybe slightly small, but they were extremely clean. It was a quite and peaceful guesthouse, so it was easy to relax! The ladies in the guest house couldn't of been nicer, both were extremely warm and friendly. We'll definately recommend the White lodge to friends and we'll be staying again! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chimene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel was really clean but the rooms and bathrooms were very small.
In our opinion it was a guesthouse and not a 4 star hotel.
A plus was the free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank graeme54-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as a large proportion of our business is repeat custom. We have never said that we were a 4 * star hotel. We are registered with the Cumbria Tourist Board & advertise ourselves as a 4 * guest house. There is a sign at White Lodge's front door showing our 4* guest house accreditation. Surely you would have noticed that there is a huge price difference between a 4* star hotel & a 4* guest house. I believe also that you were given a special rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

From the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed with a smiling face and a friendly tone. We were taken to our double room which was roomy, clean and had a fresh smell of linen. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, free tv channels and the en suite was more then adequate for what we needed. Even though the hotel is situated on the main road and our window faced this it was still quiet and you could not hear loads of traffic etc. The bed was that comfortable that both myself and my partner would only need to lay on it for 10 minutes before we were zonked and each night was a great nights sleep. Every morning we would be greeted with a courteous Good Morning and a smile before we were immediately offered coffee and a tasty cooked breakfast. The English Breakfast, cereal, yoghurt and fruit options were more then enough to see us through until dinner. Everyday I was able to conduct my business at a table within their bistro area and able to use the free wifi they have available, I was even regularly offered coffee and biscuits. All staff were extremely friendly and more then accomodating to any specific needs we had. We spent 2 weeks there and enjoyed the hotel immensely. We would definately return on our next visit and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at White Lodge Hotel. It is greatly appreciated
as my sister & I really enjoy running White Lodge & it is very satisfying that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.6 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,912 reviews
0.8 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
582 reviews
2.1 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,446 reviews
0.3 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
988 reviews
2.0 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $177 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing