We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
149
50
21
8
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
50
21
8
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view top floor family room tea coffee facilities full english breakfast excellent location on arrival a stones throw belsfield hotel car park double room short stay restaurants and shops very pleasant stay night stay stayed for nights my partner
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 248 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night break at field house ,really enjoyed our stay ,hosts were very friendly ,its in a fantastic spot pubs and restaurants on your door step,there is parking at the rear ,room was lovely we had room 5 with a lake view ,room was spotless and suprisingly modern ,lovely breakfast in morning cant wait to return xx

Room tip: we had room 5 with lake view
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woo1234187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my husband stay a lot it must be the best guest house in the area, nothing is too much trouble for owners Frank Colly and Theresa. Its a fab little boutique style house with gorgeous rooms, especially the ones overlooking the lake (what a view). The breakfasts are fab really fill you up.Its a great location ideal for evertthing in the area. Dont think about it CHECK IN you ll love it.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have just spent a great week in Field House, Frank, Colly & Theresa made me so welcome i wish i could have stayed for another week,
The breakfasts will keep you going till dinner time, Their house is extremely clean, and you are all made to feel very welcome, the off street parking is good too, great location for exploring the lakes.
Tony from London

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Field House for six nights in the family room in August 2012.

The house itself is very nice, conveniently located near the centre of town and with a nice balcony overlooking a park (actually the gardens of a large hotel next door) and down to Windermere itself. One of the family, Frank, is an artist and his paintings - along with the occasional Renoir print - adorn the walls throughout. This gives it a very individual and slightly boutiquey feel which we enjoyed.

The family are very friendly and were happy to sit and chat or not as we wished. Everything we asked for was provided and they were very happy to let us sit in the reception room having a drink in the evening. Generally, they were lovely people who take an interest in their guests.

Food: the breakfasts are made in the public kitchen, which is part of the dining room. This is a nice touch as it means that you can interact with your hosts over breakfast, and that tends to lead you to join in conversations with other guests. We noted that some guests were less keen on this, and they were not forced to join in at all. The breakfast itself is lovely and filling - the bacon in particular was very well cooked. I've had a lot of bad bacon in hotels! The hosts were flexible, buying in black pudding at our request (it's not standard).

We managed to eat a different type of meal every night - pizza, indian, steak, two different bistros, and a buffet cruise on the lake - without ever walking more than about 10 minutes from the house.

There was a bit of trouble with water through the windows, but to be fair it's an old house, it was absolutely hammering down, and it was fixed as soon as we mentioned it.

All in all, very good - I would happily recommend it and we are certainly thinking of going again.

Room tip: The family room (number 6) at the back has a nice view of the lake, and is away from the road, but it is at the top of two flights of steepish stairs with no lift.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Many Thanks to Colette, Teresa & Frank for being warm & friendly during our stay, we were made to feel as one of the family. Nice glass of wine on arrival & good conversation on the patio area with hosts. We found the room was very comfortable (king size bed) & overlooking the lake , then waking up in the morning ( as you do) to be supplied with a choice of cereals or full english for breakfast with toast ( they will try to accommodate for varying tastes).

Literally 2 minutes walk from the lake, access to the various lake & bus tours, or in my case a direct tour to all of the local watering holes & eating places.

Again many thanks to the hosts, if i'm over that way again next year we will most definitely be booking in again..

Ken & Gilda

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews