We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
39
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand designs white company toiletries porto restaurant continental breakfast overlooking lake great hosts swimming pool on arrival yogurt hamper gingerbread balcony lounge luxury lakes bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 42 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We stayed in room 1, utterly brilliant. Comfortable, with the quirky decor that we both like. Having seen the property on Grand Designs it was rather surreal arriving at somewhere we had seen on TV. The hosts Joyce and Phil were lovely and couldn't do too much for us. The lounge above our room was awesome, and the view from the balcony was even better. It must have one of the best views in the Lake District. We loved it and can't recommend it enough. Very special.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Stunning, unique, modern, stylish, beautiful, one of a kind; you can throw all the superlatives you like at Dome House and it would be deserving of every single one of them without question. When you add in how amazing, friendly and attentive the hosts are, I'm not sure you'll find anything better. The views are out of this world, it's in a great location and it is exceptional value for money for everything it has to offer and compared to other places I have both looked at and stayed in. I genuinely loved my stay and I cannot wait to come back. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KatieS4793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018

From booking our stay and explaining about special weekend, everything was perfect. Our room had a fabulous view and the beautiful white company toiletries just made everything a little more special! We were booked on a mid week deal which included dinner at Porto restaurant. Our dinner was delicious and we were made to feel so special.
The views from Dome House are breathtaking and the relaxation area in the big room is fabulous for chilling. Coffee and tea were available the whole time of our stay and a great ice machine available for keeping our champagne cool.
Breakfast is served after. Text to let Phil know you are ready. Hot breads/pastries are served with tip tree preserves, and a selection of cheeses and a platter of Italian meat. Small pots of fresh yoghurt and berries and cereals are served in a quaint picnic basket.
If you like me and wear heels you can catch a taxi to the bottom of the hill for £3.
This place is special and worth a visit not just as a bed and breakfast but it has so many uses worth exploring! Thanks Phil & Joyce for a restful stay xx

Room Tip: We loved room 2 it has a fab view
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank debrakellett11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

I cant recommend the Dome house enough. Very quirky and original, beautiful views, modern and stylish rooms crowned with excellent hospitality. Joyce and her irish charm created a very relaxed atmosphere with a sprinkling of good humour and excellent local knowledge to help us navigate our stay in Bowness. The hamper on the balcony was a lovely touch and we will definately be returning.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kindle666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

THIS PLACE IS AMAZING! We booked it for our anniversary celebrations. The whole layout is different to your usual hotel. It really feels like a home. The games room is really qwerky. We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was delivered in a hamper nice and warm, we wern't expecting it to be so delicious, they took 'continental'to a whole new level. The owners were really pleasant. We would love to go again. Thank you Phil and Joyce.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fariana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews