We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Latimer House
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$148
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$92
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$171
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$224
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$258
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$201
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$178
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
106
35
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
35
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast hampershared bathroomstayed in the coach housewide staircaseciabattabreakfast was beautifully presentedlight and airy breakfast roombacon buttieswelcoming guest housebucks fizzgentle strolllovely touchvisiting windermerenew years daywarm welcomeelectric showerfresh towels
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 150 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at New Year - I got a really good deal on booking.com. The hosts were wonderful and offered us tea and biscuits in the lounge as soon as we arrived. I wasn't sure about the 'breakfast in the room' thing until we had our first one and I am hooked! It's lovely to be able to sit and ear in your pyjamas in your room! The rooms were clean (ours was quite small, but not a problem) and very clean. Biscuits, Roses (chocs!) and still and sparkling mineral water were a nice touch in the room. Excellent location in Bowness, about 5 mins walk from the Lake.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLucyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed for a 2 night weekend and were entirely satisfied. The location is fantastic for a short stroll into lovely Bowness, the ensuite room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was exceptional and served bang on time in our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demonknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed here weekend 20-22 May 2011, and could not fault the B+B after staying in various B+Bs in Ambleside and Bowness over the past 2 years. The couple that run the B+B were very helpful and welcoming.

Parking is restricted like most places we have stayed in the lakes but we never had a problem or had to move our car to let another out.

Breakfast is served in your room here, which has advantages as the food is great and you can pre order what you would like to eat and we never went hungry. The only downside is that you need to hang around and wait in your room 0830-0900.

The location of this B+B is fantastic, only a short walk down the hill to the main shops and restaurants and lake.

Our room was lovely we had a double with en suite and worked out value for money. The tea and coffee making facilities were really nice and stocked up during the 2 days we were there. Downstairs there is a lovely lounge area and shortly after we arrived the couple served us tea / coffee in the lounge which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I booked a break for me and my partner to Latimer House as the location was excellent and Windermere is a beautiful place to visit.

Upon our arrival, the gentleman owner was polite, courteous, invited us in to explain how the room keys worked, explain how breakfast is served and when we'd like it.

The room was an en-suite at the back of the house...quiet, beautifully decorated and very clean. The en-suite is not very big at all, a foot wider would have been perfect but it was spotless and the shower was great.

Unfortunately, we had to leave after 2 nights due to personal circumstances. My partner went to arrange for us to leave and was promptly and rudely told by the lady owner that we'd have to pay "full price for the 3 nights we reserved"... My partner attempted to explain we had not booked/reserved/even hinted that we were staying for 3 nights and she bluntly replied with "Well, it's policy" and just poked the policy framed on the wall.

I have to say everything was perfect up to this point, the owners were quiet and stayed out of your way, but when breakfast was served it was prompt, hot and very tasty with a lot of choice. The beds were very comfortable and the room was great. There were nice tea/coffee facilities which were used a lot by us after walking around in the cold wind!

What shocked me most was the audacity of this woman telling us we had to pay full whack, which was "part of their B&B policy". What she failed to realise that this policy was null and void and never applicable to us as we have now come to realise we had never paid the £40 deposit usually required (and mentioned in the policy she poked at) as it was never mentioned by either her, or her husband prior to us reserving the room on the morning of our arrival.

I would recommend this B&B but only if you make it VERY VERY CLEAR how many nights your staying. BEWARE that they pay attention to their OWN POLICY. We're unfortunately very disillusioned with Windermere and this B&B and won't be returning as we now view the owners as thieves and have made the necessary tourist boards aware.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank TiffanyElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews