We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Being able to use the leisure facilities at a nearby hotel was an unexpected & welcome bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    216
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
711
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent a mid-week break at this hotel in February 2012. As soon as you walked through the door the atmosphere was welcoming and friendly.

We had a superior room with a lake view, and yes it did indeed overlook Lake Windermere inspite of the cold weather the views were spectacular. The room was warm cosy and inviting and we felt we were really welcome. It had a power shower, and a whirly bath, and really thick snow white towels and bathrobes.

The public rooms were really tastefully decorated and cosy and there were lots of windows so the view could be appreciated, in both the lounge and the restaurant. The food was excellent and there was plenty even down to the homemade petie-fores. We would recommend this hotel, at any time of the year.

It also has a large secure car park which is important to my husband !!

Room Tip: There was leisure facilities available at a nearby hotel, but we did not use these. We upgraded to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcoleman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was a little disappointed when we were shown to our room as we had upgraded to a garden room but our main view was of the car park, had to lean out of the balcony to see the garden! However, the room was lovely and heating was perfect for the time of year. Toiletries provided were excellent as were the tea and coffee making facilities. All of the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent. . I would be happy to return to the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoDurhamAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Just returned from a two day break 9th-11th Feb. The hotel was lovely and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and obviously freshly cooked. We upgraded to a superior room with lake view which was clean and had an extremely comfortable bed-unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side & the view of the lakes was obscured most of the time by mist!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxed, informal get away

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

When I bought the KGB deal for this trip for my boyfriend for Christmas I was really excited because I had seen the lovely reviews people had written on here and other sites.

I wasn't disappointed it was absolutely delightful. I upgraded us to a Superior room which was just lovely. The staff are friendly, the hotel is toasty and cosy and the breakfast is delicious.

The afternoon tea was great after our journey in the car and the whirlpool bath in the room a delight after a ten hour walk!The snow made the trip even more special. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 22 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprki
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here 1-3rd Feb through KGB deal. I beleive the deal is available over the quiet months to keep the business ticking over nicely.
We took our little dog with us and stayed in the annex of the hotel just off the front entrance. The room was to a great standard, especially as most 'pet friendly accomodations' can sometimes be a little on the 'worn out' side of things. The room was great and toasty warm throughout our winter getaway.
My only gripe would be the walk in shower and lack of a bath, but it would be unfair to mark down this wonderful place based solely on my personal preferences.
We ate breakfast in the hotel which was freshly prepared on request and to a great standard. Other than that we ate out from the hotel, choosing establishments that would take our little dog in from the cold as sadly the hotel does not permit pets in the main building, although i understand and respect this decision fully, it has left me unable to give a good account of the food menu for other prospective guests.

Room Tip: Free wi fi available in the main area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just returned from 2 night stay in Feb 2012. What a wonderful place. After being shown to our room we had a very delicious cream tea. Room (11) very cosy and comfortable. Lake view although I didn't actually see the lake until 2nd day as there was alot of snow and thick fog. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Food was amazing. We ate dinner in the hotel first night due to the weather. It was really good but would have welcomed slightly more choice. Ate out the 2nd night as meals a little pricey for us. Unfortunately there wasn't much going on at local bars (poss due to time of year). It was a good 30 minute walk into Bowness for us but that was down to the snow. I wouldn't have walked back at night as badly lit, and I don't think there were any footpaths. We walked in the road and had to dive into the snow when a car came. On the second day a friendly member of the staff was digging our car out of the snow on the carpark for us. On day to come home I found myself wishing we could be snowed in but sadly not. All in all, a fantastic place and I would highly recommend it

Room Tip: We had room 11. Lovely room. Probably not the largest but adequate. Very comfy, cosy, clean and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.6 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
3.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.4 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.2 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing