We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
804
251
74
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
251
74
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hipping hall evening meal cream tea new chef lovely hotel travelzoo offer whirlpool bath the ground floor lake district venison afternoon tea homemade biscuits cheese board standard room small portions tasting menu comfortable lounge
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Room had a cot and bath as requested as we were staying with a 3 month old baby. Location was a good base to explore and have some very good walks. Breakfast was delicious and they had a great range. We didn't stay for evening meal as the prices were quite expensive.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

I always look forward to my visits here. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room clean and tidy. We met family for a cream tea in the lounge and it was delicious. As was dinner. The menu is not huge but there are always good choices. My ox cheeks were total quality, full of flavour. As was the cheese board.

Breakfast is a particular highlight of the stay. Again it's a quality affair with a wide variety if healthy choices. I travel a lot in my job and I've yet to find a more scrummy breakfast anywhere (including so called top London hotels).

I must again mention Duncan and his team's superb attention to friendly, warm service. That's what make this place so special. It's the all round focus on making sure their guests have the best time possible.

Yes it's expensive, but unlike all the other hotels at this price, it's worth every single penny.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

What a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for 2 nights in a cosy double room with an amazing view of the lake, it was just perfect for us. We had excellent breakfast each morning with lots of choice and had a lovely lunch on the day we arrived. Everyone of the staff were so efficient , polite and very friendly and we can't wait to return. Well done to you all.

Room tip: We stayed in room number 9 and it was brilliant.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank maryjo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

Our first visit here but certainly not our last! Visited today for lunch and it was superb! Very relaxing beautiful surroundings with amazing food to match!
Not a single complaint and as previously commented on- the staff were wonderful! A real credit

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sarahsmith159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a night away with the girls. The ground floor bedroom was suitable for the dogs with a door leading to a small area outside with access to car park. The dinner was very pleasant with the added bonus of a lovely view with a hint of Lake Windermere. Breakfast was mediocre. Staff were pleasant!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kcliff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews