We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveller rating
797
248
74
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
248
74
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hipping hall evening meal cream tea lovely hotel travelzoo offer whirlpool bath the ground floor venison lake district cheese board afternoon tea standard room small portions tasting menu comfortable lounge scones lake view room
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Our WI group of 34 held a celebratory lunch at the Ryebeck this week and we had a fabulous time. The food was sublime and the service was exemplary. Nothing but compliments! Thank you to Oana for organising our special day so efficiently and pleasantly.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SafariJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

Just come home after being a guest at our close friends wedding held at the Rybeck. Our friends have raved about this hotel as their little place of heaven and so decided to hold their wedding here. What an amazingly beautiful place. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left (didn't want to leave!) we were blown away by everything! The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, you feel at home and relaxed. The rooms are spotless, modern, comfy bed, homemade biscuits are a lovely touch. The location.. that view, to die for! Couldnt stop sinking it all in. The ceremony..romantic, well organised, brilliantly excicuted. Not a dry eye! The food.. delicious, well presented, freshly cooked, breakfast also delicious. The timing of the whole day was perfect. Can't fault a thing! But What stood out the very most.. the staff, these hard working people could not do enough for us all, nothing was too much trouble, they were all very friendly, sociable, made effort to chat, laughed with us help to take photos, made us all feel welcome. I can't praise the hotel, the staff and the wedding planner enough for pulling this all together. As a guest the whole day was relaxed calm and very well organised. The owner must be so proud. I can understand why it's the new Mr & Mrs Hatchers little place of heaven! And I can see it becoming one of ours too. Please don't change a thing!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We have stayed here a number of times and never been disappointed, so we decided to make it our wedding venue.
We hired the whole hotel for the wedding (this is compulsory)
Half our group came for two nights ,the other just for the wedding day/night. A few people had to stay in other hotels.

Every single person said how amazing the hotel, staff, rooms and food were. There was nothing that was too much trouble. The staff cannot do enough for you - they're all fabulous! Special thanks to Roxie, Owana, Duncan and Julian you all made our weekend extra special.

The owner of the hotel should be extremely proud of his staff - thank you all so much

Room Tip: A room on the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jojoxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

I was given a voucher for afternoon tea and prosceco as a birthday gift. Had to travel quite a few miles as this hotel is not local to me. I was very disappointed with the quality and quantity of food provided. The scones were inedible and I’m not sure what the two small cakes were meant to be as there wasn’t much flavour to either. Strawberry mousse was served in an old screwtop jar. Three literally finger size sandwiches
we’re similarly unappetising, cheese, a sliver of smoked salmon and cucumber. My friend paid £46 for this tea for two voucher and she was royally ripped off.
My son stayed at a hotel in Grassmere and his afternoon tea consisted of six sandwiches, meringue,gateau,scones. Even took some home as too much too eat at one sitting. All for the same price.
I’ve given three stars purely for the setting.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank gill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

We had a prebooked afternoon tea here. the food and service was perfect and the surroundings and views, spectacular. the staff were friendly and efficient; would recommend this for a birthday or other treat

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Evy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews