We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lingwood Lodge(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elim House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Virginia Cottage Guest House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dene House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
690
242
84
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
242
84
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeatrix potterafternoon tealovely hotelcountry house hoteltravelzoo dealcourse dinnerlake districton arrivalsconesdeluxe roomlog fireturn down serviceamuse bouchesuperb foodno liftpublic roomsfine dining
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We stayed at Lindeth Howe for 2 nights, we were upgaded to a superior room, which was fantastic,had large bed very comfy,a big window seat which was great,tea & coffee and biscuits were good.Bathroom was nice.We had dinner on one night which was good enjoyed the bar meal we had the next day in the lounge by the fire.It was great. cocktails are a must,the staff were very good and helpful would definitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank razzeldazzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear razzeldazzel,

I am so glad to hear that you had a fantasic stay with us at Lindeth Howe.

When available we do like to upgrade the rooms to which our guests stay in and I am happy to hear that enjoyed your Superior room.

Our Head Chef and his team put their heart & soul into all food prepared and served to our restaurant and bar area. I will certainly pass your comments onto Chris so that he can pass them onto the team.

Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe, we do hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Samantha
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018

Recently spent a long weekend here and were delighted with all aspects of the hotel.
We received a warm welcome on our arrival giving us a good impression right from the start. Our room was very comfortable with a nice view of the grounds down to the lake .
The breakfast was lovely with a good choice and the evening meal was of a very high standard.
This was a lovely weekend and would definitely return here again and recommend to anyone looking for a nice comfortable hotel with good service.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jfgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear jfgeorge,

Thank you for your review of Lindeth howe.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your long weekend stay with us.

Our team work effortlessly to give every single guest a warm welcome when they arrive. They are also trained to the highest standard so that the level of service given is next to none. So I am glad to hear that this was the service that you received.

The breakfast is fabulous to set you up for any type of day that you may have within the Lake District whether you are hiking mountains or cruising the lake!

We do look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Samantha
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

We went for the fifth time in January for our tenth wedding anniversary
We were given a beautiful suite, I pre ordered a bottle of fizz which was chilling in the room.
The whole experience was fantastic
The food was amazing and as usual the staff attentive and courteous
I would recommend Lindeth Howe to anyone . Can’t wait until next time
Thanks

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stunningtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We appreciate all feedback that we received as it helps us improve our services.

Kind regards,
Samantha
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Superb hotel in fantastic grounds. Great location, just a 5 minute drive from Bowness on Windermere
The food was great with really friendly service
Room 204 (in which we have stayed before) has the most fantastic view
We will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Room 204 has the best view in the hotel, overlooking Lake Windermere
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank blakers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

Hello blakers88
Thank you for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, I will pass on all your great comments to the team and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Lake District.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

The house was bought by Beatrix Potter for her mother and since extended and turned into a hotel.
This was a birthday treat via Super Break. Lovely room, very good staff and fantastic food. The breakfast was exceptional as was the evening meal. The home made granola is divine!
The hotel boasts lovely views of the lake and whilst it is not in Bowness it is a pleasant stroll in. Ample free parking. There is a small pool but we didn’t use it. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

Hello Helen R
It’s wonderful to hear you had a great time with us at Lindeth Howe and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Bowness.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews