We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
417
169
36
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
169
36
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden chalet rooms balcony overlooking bay room the main house fresh fruit patio doors lake district cumbrian breakfast evening meal few minutes walk lovely hotel parking space room was large wet room venison eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 645 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Great family room, cozy but not luxurious. Great breakfast, free carpark in front of your room, small and nice garden. 2 minutes walk to restaurants, supermarket, and lake. The heater is working well.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for one night in a pleasant twin room in one of a series of cottages with a view of the lovely gardens. I use a wheelchair and crutches and the hotel Reception and Restaurant were accessible. There were ramps readily available for the entrance to the ground-floor room in the cottage and the patio leading to the garden. The room was comfortable with amenities as described. I was able to use the bath and shower with my daughter’s help. There was plenty of choice at breakfast time of cold and hot food with friendly service in an elegant restaurant. One minor quibble: the recorded background music seemed to have got stuck in a loop and we heard only a jazz version of ‘Blue Moon’ over and over again! It was quiet enough not to be too irritating. We were in the Lake District for a family gathering and only booked to stay for one night. It would have been lovely to stay longer.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank ILZE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for all your feedback on your recent stay, we hope that you will be able to visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Perfect location as base for exploring Lake District. Comfortable room with disabled b/room access as requested. Lovely well-appointed restaurant. Really enjoyed breakfast watching the birds in the beautiful garden. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely recommend to friends and family in New Zealand.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Front Office Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

Well positioned in the centre of Bowness. One night stay, room provided was ok, creaky floor, toilet/shower together, basin across the bedroom, bit old fashioned but fine. Nice homely surroundings, breakfast room and the breakfast itself was excellent, worthy of six stars!!
Parking adequate, staff seem very friendly.
Would recommend for a short stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank menors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thank you for your recommendation, we hope that you will come again and are able to book in advance to try out our other rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018

Third stay here. Room 11 Rose Garden. Good size comfortable room that opens on to the terrace, you can sit out and enjoy the view. Queen and a Single in this room. Has everything we need. I think it may have had a refresh since our last visit,

This was our first stay with breakfast and dinner as a package. Burn How has been noted for its excellent breakfasts for quite a while. The evening meal was excellent too. Lots of choice of local produce, including veggie ( not sure about vegan) all cooked and presented very well. I had sea bass one evening, lamb the next, and crayfish salad on one evening, crab salad the next. Delicious. Very nice selection of wines and local beers too. The service and staff were great too, very helpful and polite.

The only thing to be aware of is that parking can be tight outside some rooms, if you have a van or SUV for example. Bowness town centre is five minutes walk away, the nearest pub 3 minutes, or try the hotel bar.

Overall, very enjoyable stay :-)

Room Tip: Rose garden rooms have nice view, if you want ground floor though check before booking as some are one level up. Quiet location.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TimBob_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments which I have passed on to the staff.
We look forward to you visiting again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews