We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
103
49
13
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
49
13
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sharing platter cajun chicken burger visited bowness central location cooked to perfection eggs benedict feel very welcome night stay full english plateful
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 176 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Had meal here hubby had the chicken curry not much chicken and what chicken there was in it was mush. I had what was supposed to be tender slices of steak on a bed of salad. Onions in salad were cut way too thick steak was tough as old boots. Hubby complained got offered free drink or complimentary sweet. Not really a fair recompense for a terrible meal.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Nice welcoming pub, lots of seats. Went for an evening meal, quite a big menu, had the battered cod and chips and the other half had lasagne, both massive portions. Did have to wait 45 minutes for the food but that was probably because the football was on, worth the wait though, would definitely return if In the area again!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Holly1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Came in with 6 family,a toddler and a baby. We all had something different but all said the same thing, 5 stars! Burgers, jacket potato, lasagne, pasta, soup... Was all delicious. Drinks good price and service was excellent. Would definitely return and recommend.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KimmyR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016

The Albert is a pub with rooms and this is reflected in the very fair price so close to both the town of Bowness and the ferries at Lake Windermere.
The accommodation is modern and very clean with comfortable beds. We were lucky to be there in excellent hot weather and the hotel provided us with a fan. Having the window open was not an option because of the road noise but we knew that from previous visits.
There is free WiFi and freeview tv.
The beer garden is popular and attractive. We ate there on our second evening and the food was well presented, hot,fresh, and tasty. It was also well priced.
There's plenty to do in the area and this was an excellent two day break.

Room tip: The two rooms at the back would be quieter
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Homebody97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

Came here for something to eat on Saturday night. Chose the place due to the location close to our hotel (hydro) and to be honest pub grub would have sufficed as we weren't overly hungry. Bad judgement on our part picking this place . The portions are huge and although there is a lot and it was extremely busy the food was very good. If we weren't keen to try all the other places during our stay I would have returned every night. We managed to sit down straight away even though it was full of drinkers and other diners. Quite a large place. Overall it was Excellent!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews