We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveller rating
280
388
275
184
219
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
388
275
184
219
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and jacuzzibit datedbreakfast was buffet stylelick of paintview of the lakeweekend breakleisure facilitieslovely viewcouldn't do enoughfull englishlakes
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

First the positive.
Great views over the lakes and a gd selection of meals and drinks from there lounge area and great service from there bar team.
Negatives.
Rooms old and in need off a refresh,Very noisy during the night so hard to sleep,room phones did not work and there tills kept falling,you could not identify who was the duty manager and management arguing with staff in front of guests and staff looked like they could not be bothered.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Stephen W

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. and thank you for your positive comments regarding the food, drinks and bar service.

We have been experiencing intermittent maintenance issues with our phones and internet which, when affected, we have worked hard to resolve quickly. Thank you for the comments regarding the team which we will address.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding and the hotel rooms were terrible. Absolutely beautiful from the outside but once you get in the room the decor is terrible, smells damp and just looks awful. The bed was so hard found it hard to sleep comfortably. The tv is so tiny and barely had more than a handful of channels that actually

The walls between the rooms are so thin as we ad another room very close to ours we could hear their whole conversation all night.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank datgirlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear datgirlk

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and I am sorry that you were disappointed with the room your were allocated.

The hotel has completed it's first phase refurbishment of 25 rooms and suites, plus the ground floor restaurant, bar and function rooms. We aim to continue with our refurbishment plans in the coming months and I hope that you will return in the future to see the changes made.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The Club rooms are large, but a bit spartan, comfortable bed. single glazed with putty dropping away from glass.
get to the stairs and everything smells musty.

not overall value for money in my opinion

Room Tip: be aware, the hotel is on a steep hill
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nigelf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear nigelf207

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and I am sorry that you did not find your stay of good value. I will be reviewing your feedback with my maintenance and housekeeping team.

The Club rooms are fully refurbished and we receive many positive comments so it was disappointing to read your feedback.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Our 1st room was disappointing! the one we were moved to was better. The hotel is in a fairly good location, although up a bit of a steep hill. Great view from the outside area over the lake with a lovely sunset. The food was very good & reviewed separately. Staff were helpful

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fussyteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Fussyteam

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and for your lovely comments about the food and out team.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely appalling. When we arrived we were given a key to our room. We began walking down the corridor admiring their ballroom (which has been recently refurbished) and then turned a corner towards our room. It was like a different hotel! The carpet was threadbare. We opened the door to our room to be greeted by a threadbare, dirty carpet, there was damp up the walls, a fire door with a crack in the glass, a dirty towel shoved behind the back of the tv and a dirty bathroom floor. We immediately went back to reception to be told there was no other rooms and no manager on duty. We said we would wait for one (and only had to wait a short time). The duty manager was of no help and told us there was no other rooms, and that there was nothing he could do but offer us a partial refund. We showed him the room and he was extremely rude and said that that was because we had paid £125.
Thankfully we were able to find accommodation somewhere else (no thanks to them).

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Kerry B

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the room you were allocated and that you found accommodation elsewhere.

There is still a long way to go in our refurbishment programme and we do price our non-refurbished rooms accordingly. Currently we have 25 rooms and suites fully refurbished and aim to continue with our programme in the coming months.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews