We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janet W

Excellent afternoon tea.

Review of Storrs Hall
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 6, 2024via mobile
All the staff we came across were really pleasant and helpful.
The food was excellent. The young children had special decorated cakes.
A wonderful afternoon tea in a stunning setting with lake views and walks around the grounds.
Thank you.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Nicholson, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Janet W
Thank you for the "Excellent Afternoon Tea" review, appreciated by all the team
We look forward to welcoming you back to Storrs Hall in the future.
Best Wishes
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$323
  • Expedia.com
    C$323
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$293
  • Hotels.com
    C$323
1.7 km from Storrs Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$323
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$323
  • Expedia.com
    C$323
  • Vio.com
    C$323
2.6 km from Storrs Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$303
C$288
  • Expedia.com
    C$303
  • Hotels.com
    C$303
  • Vio.com
    C$288
2.5 km from Storrs Hall
Pool
Restaurant
C$255
  • Agoda.com
    C$255
  • Vio.com
    C$255
  • eDreams
3.0 km from Storrs Hall
C$453
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$453
  • Agoda.com
    C$453
  • eDreams
    C$453
1.8 km from Storrs Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel over Lake Windermere
C$354
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$354
  • Algotels
    C$302
  • Hotels.com
    C$354
2.9 km from Storrs Hall
Pool
Restaurant
C$214
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$214
  • Hotels.com
    C$214
  • Priceline
    C$214
3.1 km from Storrs Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$401
  • Expedia.com
    C$401
  • Agoda.com
    C$338
  • Hotels.com
    C$401
2.7 km from Storrs Hall
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Ro Hotel
C$288
C$221
  • Expedia.com
    C$288
  • Hotels.com
    C$288
  • Trip.com
    C$254
3.2 km from Storrs Hall
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Reviews (1,443)
Filter reviews
1,443 results
Traveller rating
1,108
221
69
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,108
221
69
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea tower bar lakeside suite stately home lake view lake district boat house drawing room nespresso machine the general manager scones tasting menu stunning location wedding venue restaurant staff hotel grounds walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,443 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2024 via mobile

Late in the day I contacted Sandra at Storrs Hall to book a weekend break for a family occasion. Luckily they had one room free, Suite 6 with a view of Lake Windermere. We booked Dinner Bed & Breakfast option. On arrival we were greeted with a very warm and professional welcome. Throughout our visit, Sandra and indeed all the staff were attentive, informative and appropriately jovial.
This listed building has some areas that are necessarily quint, which adds to its excellent aura. Our room was a mixture of magnificent antique furniture, together with contempory and extremely comfortable settee and bed.
The bathroom was very large and

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pauldZ5275IP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Nicholson, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear pauldZ5275IP
Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review.
Magnificent.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Storrs Hall in the future.
Best Wishes
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2024 via mobile

Me and my wife went for our honeymoon for 3 nights straight from our wedding in Surrey. We stayed in one of the lakeside suites which was absolutely stunning. Felt so secluded, rooms huge with everything you could ever need for a comfortable stay, with amazing views out on to the water of Windermere from the patio and hot tub! The staff were incredible at both dinners and breakfast. The lake view restaurant was one of the best meals we’ve had anywhere, incredible lamb dish, and desserts to die for. The young blonde haired male server was funny, friendly and incredibly professional in equal measure, a real asset to the hotel, we unfortunately didn’t get his name. The bistro was also very good, as were all the breakfasts, either as a hamper in the room or in the hotel. There are beautiful grounds to explore at Storrs, and it takes minutes to get to bowness and a little further to explore elsewhere in the lakes. We will definitely be back in the future, an incredible stay. Thank you for making our honeymoon so memorable

Room tip: We found the hotel fairly quiet but we did stay during the week and avoided the weekend. The lake view suites are truly incredible
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R3454LYsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2024

We had a lovely stay at Storrs Hall Hotel. We stayed in a double room and the room was spotless. A lovely bathroom as well with nice Molton Brown toileteries. All the staff were so nice, always a smile on their faces. Breakfast was also supurb! We also enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea for our wedding anniversary and were able to have it outside as the weather was lovely. Beautiful gardens around the hotel. We'd like to come again!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global14263555363
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 14, 2024

Well what can I say about Storrs Hall...We visited this luxury hotel on a weekday in May for one night. We chose this particular hotel as a treat as my partner worked here over 20 years ago and fancied a trip down memory lane.
All of the staff were incredibly attentive and helpful and allowed us to see behind the scenes. We were made to feel completely at home from the minute we arrived to the minute we left.
The hotel and grounds were immaculate and beautiful and we enjoyed exploring them in detail. The hotel even has a private boat available to hire with a captain and a bottle of prosecco,which is a perfect anecdote to an already fantastic stay.
Our room was HUGE!!! It was clean and comfortable and even had a TV in the bath! The room came with plenty of fluffy towels,toiletries and ample posh tea and coffee. There were dressing gowns and slippers in the wardrobe, along with an iron,ironing board and safe. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and huge too.
Breakfast was fruit and yogurt,pastries and a full English,which was cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious.
We can't wait to spend another night here very soon and I can't recommend this delightful hotel enough.
Thank you 😊

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraheO3907FN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Nicholson, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2024

Dear sarahe03907FN
Thank you for the kind and generous review posted here on "Trip"
Nostalgia treat that came up trumps, your recommendation is truly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Storrs Hall in the future.
Best Wishes
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2024

The staff were all very friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was included with our booking, & was great, with an overlooking view of the water. Our room was quiet on the 2nd floor, with a very nice bathroom, fantastic shower, and plenty of space. It does have Air Conditioning which is good but not strong enough to really cool the large room down quickly. We opened the small corner windows for cold air but they are behind the blinds so not much air reaches the sleeping area. You have to sacrifice privacy or sacrifice temperature if you like to sleep cool. Bed was just OK, but seemed like mattress was worn out and old for such a nice room. All else was perfect, and would still recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Bring a small fan to help draw cool air in from under the windows if you like sleeping colder.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shraderp2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews