We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastbourne Guest House - Bowness on Windermere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just had a last minute overnight stay in the above guest house and would say it was a good experience. The owners were welcoming and the room was quite roomy with a good sized on suite (King room). The property is situated just of the main street but far enough back to be quiet, it had parking space just over the road. We had beakfast which was really good value as it was in the price, the was fresh fruit juice. cereal and a cooked breakfast,
We were lucky to get a good room, good food and good hosts for a last minute price of £64 for the night. There is plenty do see if the weather is good and we went on the boat ride on the lake which was very informative, the only disappointing point was when we visited the Amore restaurant which had a good atmostphere and staff but was expensive for mediocre food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner were having a lovely time in bowness, our room in the guest house was nice and clean, bed was very comfortable.
However the experience at the guest house was ruined in the morning by the two women organising the breakfast. I am not sure if there was a language barrier (as they spoke with a foreign accent) or she (the older lady) thought she was better than us as we were the youngest guests.
We were given our receipt for our stay as we ate breakfast, on which it stated check out was 10:30, but it should have said 10:00. It got to 10:15 and the owner tried to enter our room as we were getting dressed, and started banging on the door telling us it was time to leave. She then took it upon herself to walk into our room right in front of us as we were leaving and check that we hadn't broke or stolen anything.
The male owner was polite and lovely and very helpful on the phone, unfortunately the ladies let it down this time!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank Holly422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Owner at Eastbourne Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

My wife knocked on the door thinking that these guests had already left (no answer) - when she found the door locked she politely reminded then that it was time to check-out. The rest is not what happened and was probably written because of the immediate last review text (below) and the guests getting het-up about being hurried up.

Most guests appreciate that in a Guest House (or B&B for that matter) the owners are the staff and we have very little time to get the rooms turned round for the next guests. There are always some people who are unhappy with a 10am (or even 10.30am) check-out but this is actually very common in establishments such as ours in the area. Obviously if they had paid more for a Hotel they would be able to check-out later (because they can afford to pay staff to work longer hours).

A late check-out (not agreed in advance) in fact just shows inconsideration to other guests and to us.

I also take exception here to the "racist" nature of the comments about foreign language being spoken. We live in a multi-cultural and multi-lingual society and it is not acceptable to see such comments made let alone thought and I suspect that these attitudes will have coloured the other comments made here and in the previous review.

My wife was speaking to our Polish housekeeping staff out of sight of guests and in our private accommodation and these guests were hovering in the entrance to these quarters - not that my wife should feel she can't speak in a different language and always be worried about "looking over her shoulder".

Martin Morris
17/5/12

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

This is a terrible guest house, the owner was unfriendly and rude to us. It displays a 4 star rating but can really only be a 3 at the most as the place is quite tatty. We were a bit late for the stupidly early checkout time of 10am and had the owner banging on our door telling us to get out which really upset my girlfriend and the terrible stay we had there ruined our trip to the area

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank MarkCashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Owner at Eastbourne Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

This is the second time this review has appeared and my response is the same. These guests only wrote this review because we had finally to ask them to leave at 11.30am when the room was needed for other guests that day at 12 noon. I also find his personal comments about me untrue as I was not rude just insistent and during their stay I had been my usual friendly self (please see the many other reviews).
It is a sad world that customers such as these can persist in "negative" reviews when actually the "rudeness" and inconsideration for other guests was on their part.
This second review although toned down from the previous one posted last month is still totally unacceptable to me - this is only my second "managemnt response" and the first was to this customers first review which has now been withdrawn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The room was only used ad a bed for the night, and wad a little on the small side. However, it was cosy, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was fantastic, with all the food and drink you would like.

Service from Martin and Marina was excellent. Both hosts very pleasant and friendly. Martin particularly went the extra mile, offering advice on where to go and see whilst there.

Overall, a great little guest house. I will be staying here again, and have recommended this guest house to my friends and family already.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We went to Bowness for a couple of days and first we were greeted by an intercom, but it is a B&B not a hotel a novel way to be greeted but the guy Martin was friendly enough, advised that our key was in our room, the room was very spacious and was ensuite so we were pleased with that, the bed however was a small double bed with a creaky wooden frame so we kept bashing our legs on the frame everytime we went past it, also didnt sleep too well in it as it was not too firm and kept wacking my head and arm on the head board which was also wooden. The Tv was just basic free view as they were updating their Sky Whatever that meant! so when relaxing in afternoon before we would go out again there wasnt much to watch. In the morning for breakfast we went to breakfast room and was greeted with a woman who spoke to me quite abruptly and barked "number" at me I wasnt sure what she was meaning as i was still half asleep & I picked a number up off the sideboard and she said "No No your room number!!" oh 7 I said so she gave me the number 7 and we sat down there were no smiles at this point & I felt a bit foolish i was also told to wait a minute as I had started to speak about my order! but after the initial uncomfortable feeling that i was back at school the breakfast wasnt too bad and they asked if we wanted more tea and coffee and also more toast which was good. anyway went back up to room and have to say the shower was the highlight of my stay as it was power shower and so good didnt want to come out of it but unfortunately the towels were tiny even the bath size towel was more like hand size i would recommmend taking your own towels for coming out the shower. but overall the stay was fine and for the money it wasnt bad.

Room Tip: Double check the size of the bed i think the wording was little confusing I thought we were getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

we had a lovely time ,went with my partner ,2 sisters and their husbands. The rooms were very comfortable. The beds were huge,tv and coffee making facilities all provided and the rooms were lovely and warm. The breakfast was excellent and Martin was very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: we had a superking room,room 3. The bed was huge,it was wider than I am tall!! There was no noise so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joonholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Me and my wife have just come back from a break at the Eastbourne House in Bowness. We travelled up on Friday night to be welcomed by the house owner via an intercom!! It was funny but a friendly way to start, but Martin (house owner) buzzed us in and let us in to our fantastic room. There are loads of things to do in bowness at night, we went to the Albert Pub for a nice meal and a few real ales!! Saturday morning we were given a warm welcome and a full English, fresh tea and coffee and fresh orange and apple juice and hot toast! We went for a lovely walk on the other side of the lake that day and then came back to bowness for some hot soup and a hot chocolate!! Saturday night we went to the lighthouse restaurant in windermere for a lovely meal followed by a few more ales!!! Sunday morning we were given another warm welcome and another hot full English breakfast, the hotel is great, a good nights sleep, comfy bed and a nice warm room!! Highly recommended....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trickydolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.7 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
399 reviews
0.2 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
0.6 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
3.4 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing