We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, close to restaurants and shops...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
1 review
“Perfect location, close to restaurants and shops great for days out and walks in the lakes!”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have stayed in Rowan cottage 3 times over the past few years and it continues to impress us! It is a perfect location for those wanting to explore the south lakes, so close to many walks, waters and activities. We also really enjoyed being so close to great pubs and restaurants after a long days walk there is nothing better than a short walk from the house to a lovely range of country pubs with local ales and great food. The house is also fully equipped with everything that you need to cook at home too if you'd prefer. We will definitely be back and will continue to recommend it to friends and family! Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLowe2...
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Love this little cottage. Everything has been thought of. The internet is fast and most important for me- no second hand pans. The non stick frying pans really are non stick! Dishwasher works a treat!

Bowness is perfect for the lakes, loads to do in the area and if you are snowed in there is a Sainsbury's, Tesco and Coop within walking distance. Small cinema 50 yards away. Italian restaurant next door.

It's quiet and warm and has parking in the street. Parking does get a bit hard at the weekends.

We took two dog's and the house is very Dog friendly. We will be back next year no doubt. The Lakes can be expensive for food but there is a large Aldi in Kendal, worth a visit to stock up.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thanks Mark, We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Rowan Cottage. We hope that we'll see you again soon! Kind regards, the Stay Lakeland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
So pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the mattress topper solved the problem.
Stay Lakeland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OLIVIA H
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“VERY COMFORTABLE COTTAGE”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Rowan Cottage. The cottage is very well furnished and equipped, everything you need, really a home from home.cosy lounge,big window seat,lovely big dining room again with window seat,fully fitted kitchen, with large utility room outside. It has a lovely courtyard garden very private, lovely on a sunny day with a couple of beers.

The bedroom is a good size, with a large kingsize bed, good bedding and pillows,plenty of storage. Bathroom has a lovely big bath, with plenty of hot water for a good soak.

The cottage is very central, just off the main street,across from the Cinema, there is an Italian restaurant on one corner, Cantonese restaurant on the other, both served excellent food. A car parking permit is supplied with the cottage.
We had a great holiday, and would thoroughly recommend the cottage and would not hesitate to go back, our wee Westie Florrie loved it,and had a great time as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Did not dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you Olivia, We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Rowan Cottage. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, the Stay Lakeland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie T
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location ”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very good location for the town centre and all amenities.
Cottage is well equipped and comfortable good comfortable beds and the pillows, duvets were clean no stains!!
Bathroom too small though no space to turn around and if 4 people in house could do with another loo!!
It was clean if you don't look under beds, under sofas or behind side boards there were a few spiders and dust!!
The cottage is right next door to Italian restaurant and the kitchen so most of day and until 10pm you can hear their radio and them cooking also the smell!! Also Chinese is just over the road so you get that cooking smell also. Parking bit of an issue rarely got parked near cottage usually in next road. Loved the area though really is beautiful. Think would stay more rural next time for less noise. Great location though for our teenage children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heathern5...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Position”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a week at Rowan Cottage and really enjoyed our stay. The property is beautifully appointed and was very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. All the furniture and equipment is excellent quality. The Wi-Fi was very fast too. The location is really good and handy for everything. We hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and position.
Liked least: Just have to be a bit careful with the step between lounge and dining room.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Rowan Cottage. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, The Stay Lakeland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineM...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location for exploring the Lake District”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cottage was cosy, warm and clean. It was well located for exploring the Lake District and being in Windermere it was close to shops, restaurants and an easy walk to the lake. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing