We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
633
156
77
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
156
77
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oscars restaurant wedding venue stunning hotel wowcher deal lovely grounds princess suite main building my partner eggs benedict wedding guests main course high standard evening meal both mornings booked a table would highly recommend this hotel food was fantastic
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On booking the Abbey House Hotel we were looking for somewhere to relax and have a nice quiet romantic weekend break. On arrival the hotel and grounds were absolutely stunning and we were extremely impressed and excited for our stay. When we booked in at reception we were told that they had a wedding on that evening and there would be loud music playing until midnight, which wasn't a problem as it's to be expected there will be weddings taking place at venues like these. It was then after midnight until around 4 am. that there were drunk people from the wedding running up and down the corridors and screaming and shouting in there rooms. On reporting this to reception we were told that they had already reported us for telling them to be quiet! This total disregard for our stay was further enforced at reception on checkout, as when we were asked how our stay was and we mentioned the poor sleep we had we were greeted with a shrug and a 'we already know' from the receptionist. So unless you're a wedding party guest you have no concern to the staff and management here and if you're after a restful romantic break avoid this place like the plague!!!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Joanne S,
I was sorry to read your recent review and would welcome your comments directly to john@abbeyhousehotel.com
Kind Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for a friends wedding and the venue was beautiful. Everyone had a lovely day and the staff were all so helpful. Toilets clean, the restaurant looked really good too! The buffet was lovely so I bet the food is nice here. Would recommend this for a wedding or event.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 982Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 928Louise,
Thanks for your recent review, I was so pleased to read that you had a lovely time and would recommend us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future,
Warm Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding here on sat 6th oct 2018. We are from the south and booked abbey house 18months ago when venue shopping. Even though we live 5 hours away, joanna (now on mat leave), cameron, faye and shannon were always on hand via phone or email and helped beyond belief. As for the weekend itself, nothing was too much for any of the staff. From seating walkin tables of 8's on the friday night from our families, to giving us a space in the hotel to finish making our wedding cake. My wife made everything from scratch for our wedding and the staff the morning of the wedding replicated what we wanted to the exact detail of sarahs pictures, diagrams, drawings and writing. The wedding breakfast was delicious, from the tenderness of the beef to the turned vegetables. The evening buffet or pie and peas was absoloutely delicious and a must have!!! Our wedding night suite was superb and breakfast both mornings were also fantastic. We had over 40 guests stay at the hotel for the weekend and not one person could find fault with anything at all. We wish we could do it all again so we could take more of it in. The grounds are also beautiful and well maintained.

We thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for making our wedding truly amazing! The lakes is like our second home and we cannot wait to return. John and his team are simply phenominal and i wish such staff were located down south for me to poach!

All the very best in the future abbey house and we will see you very soon!

Chris & Sarah Newman

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Chris & Sarah,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. All of the team and myself are so happy you had a wonderful day and created some everlasting memories of Abbey House Hotel & Gardens.
No doubt we will look forward to seeing you again for many anniversaries to come!
Warm Regards,
John Horton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I attended a family wedding here recently. The hotel is extremely well set up as a wedding venue and everything went like clockwork. There was a young compere who managed us all efficiently, making clear announcements and getting guests to the right place for photos, glasses of champagne, meals etc. The food was exceptional for a large catering organisation, we had quite a simple menu but all very well done, for instance they pre-poached the chicken breast so it remained moist, before quick roasting for flavour and colour - very good attention to freshness and taste. My friends in the wedding party said the food in the restaurant on the night before was also excellent. I was very impressed and would stay here as a guest if in the area.

Room Tip: Friends said rooms were quite hot, so ask for one with large windows if you need cool air.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MumTraveller,
Thank you for your recent review.
I was so pleased to read that you had a wonderful wedding experience with us at Abbey House Hotel & Gardens, we really appreciated your review and eye for detail, Cameron and the wedding team will be thrilled.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future,
Warm regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Abbey House Hotel in Barrow-in-Furness is an historic building which is stylish and comfortable. The rooms are well appointed with luxury bathrooms. There is an iron provided too. The restaurant has a varied menu. Service is friendly. Good car parking. Quiet location with lovely gardens.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank yorkshirewoman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear yorkshirewoman2017,
Thanks for your recent review, much appreciated. I really enjoyed reading that you found the service friendly and hotel stylish.
I hope to welcome you back again.
Best Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews