We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
25
28
10
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
28
10
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a live band playing breakfast was served quickly stayed here no lift public house what it says on the tin top floor large bathroom biscuits full english a great stay comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed as a family for one night in September, we had room 12 which is a huge family room which sleeps 5, it was a bit chilly but there are 3 heaters you can plug in so no problems there. The rooms are on the 1st and 2nd floors with no disabled access. Room could do with a little tlc but was absolutely spotless, staff were very friendly, breakfast was served quickly, they were happy to do variations on the menu (I had a bacon sandwich instead of a full cooked breakfast). It's not a palace but it does what it says on the tin and is value for money, clean, lovely staff, good breakfast.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Wanted a quick place to crash.

- Excellent service
- Excellent stay
- Excellent breakfast
- Friendliest of staff

The room had complimentary tea and coffee with cookies and the pub downstairs had darts and pool table and plenty of TVs to watch a football game.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Melvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

staff and locals very friendly and welcoming, was booked to stay 3 nights but due to family emergency had to leave after one night. that said the rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was very filling and one of the best i have had.would definitely stay here again and look forward to doing so

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuffysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Decided at short notice to break our journey home by stopping over in Barrow in Furness. Ambrose Hotel lived up to their promise that our dog would be welcome. Encouraged by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel, good value honest food, well cooked. We would have no hesitation in returning if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Ok so I was a bit dubious at first as it's not in the best of areas, nor does it claim to be. It's basic rooms above a pub but we needed a pit stop whilst helping my daughter to move house. My only criticisms really are that the bathroom door didn't close properly and it's a bit tired in places but that's it.
It's biggest plus is the fact that it's SPOTLESS. I have no idea who does their cleaning but it's really, REALLY clean. I noticed even the pub carpet is clean and the mirrors in front of the bar are completely streak and smear free! The bedding and towels are crisp and fresh and the bed was really comfy.
The staff were all absolutely lovely. Breakfast was delicious and generous. They have a posh coffee machine at breakfast that serves excellent coffee. Whilst using it I peeped behind the bar... you guessed it, spotless! So all in all, it's not posh or fancy and it doesn't claim to be but they've got very clean basic rooms and a welcoming pub downstairs with helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews