We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant Motorhome weekend”

Review of Motorhome Hire

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nannyogg2...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Motorhome weekend”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The whole experience was easy and stress free, all the information you need was provided in a friendly and informal easy to understand way, all correspondence was good and answered promptly and all questions answered. The Motorhome itself was clean easy to use and drive, all you require is provided. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom to go where you want, when you want.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thanks for the review, it is much appreciated. Glad you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmille46
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Winter weekend escape”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great service from the start. Emails responded to very quickly. Motorhome was ready at the arranged time. Comprehensive walk through of all features and functions. Very friendly, informal approach, which we appreciated. Vehicle was less than a year old - very clean & tidy and well equipped. Outside temperatures were below zero, but you wouldn't have known that inside the van. Hot running water, loads of space. No bother at all. Got familiar with the size of the van pretty quickly. Great time had by all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thanks for your glowing review! We're glad you had a good time in the motorhome and hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant motorhome”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had never stayed in a motorhome before, but found the one that we rented from South Lakes Motorhome Hire to be excellent. Although it slept 6, it was also suitable for us as a couple, having a fixed double bed above the cabin plus bunks and another bed in the main area. The seating area, which became one of the double beds, was comfortable and had access to a TV. The cooking area had everything we needed, including oven, burners and microwave. Excellent motorhome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom to tailor our holiday to our exact needs.
Liked least: We loved the motorhome, but our choice of campsite was not good. This was entirely down to us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thankyou so much for such a glowing review. We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelm7...
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent way to see Rugby World Cup!”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Could not fault the motorhome. Sam was ready to "check us in" at the agreed time, comprehensive instructions and overview, and off we went. 10 days went without a hitch, a great way to do a "multi site" tour for the Rugby World Cup as we were doing.
Sam could not have been more helpful during the booking process and before the hire pickup. Deposit was repaid in double quick time. Could not recommend South Lakes Motor Home Hire higher!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sam's responsiveness to my questions prior to the booking and the hire start
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thankyou for such a great review Michael. I'm glad you had a good time in the Motorhome at the RWC, hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applegart...
Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would thoroughly recommend hiring one of their motorhomes. Ours was spotlessly clean and never missed a beat as we travelled the full length of the country. We will certainly be hiring again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Thankyou so much for hiring with us and for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. We really hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham d
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, Efficient, Quality...”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was our first taste of Motor Home life so we were a bit nervous so all the help and advice we got from Sam was a great help. As this was our first time we decided to base ourselves in the Lakes for the week and Sam recommended routes and places to stay.

The Motor Home was only a few weeks old so it was in pristine condition and was kitted out with everything we needed.

We were keen to get on our way so it was great that picking the vehicle up was easy and quick although Sam makes sure we were given a thorough tour of the vehicle and the controls.

Drop off was even quicker!

We will be back as we plan to head off to Ireland next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thankyou so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We're glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back next year for your trip to Ireland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy0585
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Motorhome Hire”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hired for Kendal Calling - Festival in Lake District* Just wanted to say thank to South Lakes Motorhome Hire for outstanding service and providing us with an impeccably clean and well equipped vehicle. We found the attention to detail and added extras really enhanced our trip...... even down to the box of kitchen essentials including '0rganic' oil.....

Collection and drop off were very straight forward and Sam gave me a comprehensive run through of all the features and how to maintain and operate bathroom and kitchen facilities. This was also supported by a detailed 'easy to read' manual.

I was a little bit nervous about driving such a large vehicle, but Sam was very reassuring and gave me advice.
The Motorhome turned out to be very easy and comfortable to drive. We had a fantastic time in the Motorhome and can't wait to hire again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Thankyou for your review. We're glad you had such a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing