We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,925)
Filter reviews
1,925 results
Traveller rating
1,439
368
88
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,439
368
88
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river arlington restaurant first class brend hotels standard room dress code traditional hotel nothing is too much trouble high standard excellent food short break quality hotel brend group excellent hotel excellent stay three nights north devon
Filter
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 1,925 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2016

This is the second time we have stayed here and we were impressed with the quality of the food and the helpfulness and efficiency of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and I really like the attention to detail.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front of House Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to review your 2nd stay at The Imperial Hotel and giving us top marks of 5 out of 5.
I am delighted that your were impressed with the food, helpful and efficient staff and that appreciated our attention to detail.
Your feedback will be very much appreciated by everyone concerned
Thank you again and we look to welcoming you back to The Imperial Hotel sometime very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Have visited Brend Hotels in the past and always found them a delight to stay in. perhaps they are expensive, but you get what you pay for. The beds are comfortable and the staff courteous and helpful. The lounge is very comfortable and the hotel ideally situated for getting into the town. Food was excellent, great choice and great service.

Room Tip: We faced the back of the hotel but it was quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank geoffsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front of House Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Imperial Hotel and rating us 5 out of 5.
Your repeat business to not just The Imperial but Brend Hotels as a whole is very much appreciated and your feedback regarding the comfort, food, service and staff are a delight to read.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

As always we received a warm welcome by the staff who can not do enough for you. The food and service in the dining room was excellent. This is a very good hotel for couples who like a restful stay and excellent hospitality. The hotel is located in a nice position overlooking the river and very close to the shops and bus station in the town. We have stayed at the Imperial many times and will be returning next year

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaele516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front of House Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your stay with us at The Imperial Hotel and for choosing us to spend your Wedding Anniversary with us.
After receiving a rather ridiculous review prior to your review it's great to hear some genuine feedback instead of complete nonsense.
Your comments regarding the warm welcome, staff, food, hospitality and service will be very much appreciated by the entire team of staff.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial Hotel very soon or for your next Wedding Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We booked this 2day break and travelled390 miles to get here what a waste of time and money On arrival we were given a very dark room which was not very nice at all resulting in having to get the room changed this they did but to be honest it was on the 3rd floor and had views of a roof again it felt very dark and uninviting my wife wanted to go home but I persuaded her to stay as we are here now and did not fancy another long drive home . got to the hotel at approx midday and having left our Suitcases In room( wife would not unpack suitcase) we ventured out for the afternoon we got back to hotel at 6 pm went back to room sat on chair and watched the TV for an hour or so We then thought it would get us out of the hotel by using the sister hotels pool for the evening .We were horrified by the response from the front desk. YOU NEED A VOUCHER TO USE THE FACILITIES AND---now the best bit --it is a 25min walk or a 10 min driveaway this is not what we assumed from the hotels own literature . We requested the duty manager and on closer examination the manager explained rather smugly that it's NEAR and not ADJACENT well near happens to be on the road out of town heading towards Braun ton and I can't walk that farFor me , this was the final straw we immediate decided to check out of this poor excuse of a hotel this was at 8.40 pm we had only been in the room for lets say2.0 hours max as we were out all afternoon Mr smug the manager took the full 2 days payment
As it is in the TERMS AND CONDITIONS we had no alternative to pay and have since sought redress and half payment to be returned however at this point to no avail
How can they charge full 2 nights for only 2 hrs?

As someone else has posted ,this is a terrible hotel, has no interest in its cliental is most certainly a cash cow
It is not ,repeat ,not a 4 star hotel and my advise is do not stay here

In all the years of travelling I have had good and bad but have always been able to get some type of redress if warranted
This is certainly warranted But I bet will not be forthcoming
BEWARE

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank shortsleeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you for your recent review of The Imperial Hotel and I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Upon arrival you were allocated a standard room as booked which is rear facing as described on all of our literature, website and Online Travel Agents.

I am somewhat surprised at the extent of your complaint regarding the use of nearby leisure facilities at our sister hotel and for it leading to you curtailing your stay with us. Our website describes the location as follows...

"Situated at our sister property, the Barnstaple Hotel, this is the premier health and fitness centre in North Devon and it's only a five minute drive or 25 minute stroll from the Imperial Hotel. " Our printed brochure also reads in a very similar manner.

Taking the above in to account I have to strongly disagree with your suggestion that we have tried to exaggerate it's proximity to the hotel and re-assure fellow Trip Advisor users of the transparency of our offering.

A voucher is issued by the hotel so guests can use the facilities free of charge and so the health & leisure club can ensure guests are welcomed without any delay. I would presume this to be seen as a fairly standard procedure given the circumstances, but I'm sorry you don't see it as necessary.

The manager in question followed our standard procedure with regards to our cancellation policy which again is clearly stated on our website, literature and through our Online Travel Agents and though he did not give you the information you wanted to hear, had no reason to make an exception given the circumstances, which I firmly stand by. It is unfortunate you felt the need to depart early, but this was your own decision which you stuck by despite our efforts to keep you given the journey and time.

Again I am sorry you felt the need to write this review and for your disappointing experience, but in this instance I do not agree with your reason for complaint and feel it is misrepresentative of The Imperial Hotel.

Matthew Brend
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

For our 33rd wedding anniversary we chose to stay at the Imperial overnight and what a great choice it was. We had a superior room at the front of the hotel, although a little small it had the benefit of a balcony overlooking the river. The bed was very comfy and the facilities in the room were excellent. I had asked for a bunch of flowers to be in the room on our arrival as a surprise for my wife. Not only were the flowers in place but also a thoughtful card of congratulations from the Hotel staff. A lovely thought and much appreciated. Plenty of on-site parking is available, to the front and to the rear of the hotel.
Dinner was an absolute delight. We ate in the Arlington restaurant. The food was gorgeous and the service was friendly and attentive but not intrusive. The food arrived very quickly. It appeared we were not the only ones celebrating our anniversary, the resident musician dedicated a song to us all. Another nice touch.
After dinner drinks were taken in the Colours Bar. Again the staff were excellent. The military memorabilia decorating the room was very interesting, particularly to us as we are both ex military.
Breakfast was taken in the Arlington Restaurant, served by the same staff who did dinner the night before (don't they ever sleep). Same again, friendly and attentive and the full English arrived before you had time to blink. Excellent. The restaurant manager wished us a pleasant journey home as we departed the restaurant.
A hearty congratulations and a huge thanks to all the staff at the Imperial. I hope the management of Brend Hotels realise what a fantastic asset they have, you made our short stay an absolute delight, Thank you all.
I can say without doubt we will be returning.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank PO33816x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front of House Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of The Imperial Hotel and choosing to spend your 33rd Wedding Anniversary with us.
Your positive feedback has touched on so many aspects of your stay and is a delighted to read. Your review will of course be placed on our reviews board for the entire team to read.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial Hotel very soon and hopefully for your 34th Wedding Anniversary too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews