We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
542
276
75
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
276
75
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room overlooking the park garden court rock park sky tv car park the main hotel high standard sunday carvery easy parking town centre brend hotel sister hotel superb hotel air conditioning one night stay would stay again wedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 926 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018

First class décor. Comfortable beds with plenty of drawers in bedroom. Excellent cuisine, well served by pleasant staff. Helpful receptionists. Comfortable lounge & bar area. Newspaper delivered in a carrier bag! Everything as one would wish.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for posting your recent review of our hotel. I was very happy to read your positive comments, particularly those regarding the decor, staff and food. Thank you again and I trust we will be welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Following our recent 3 night stay we would have loved to give a 100% review but it was let down by one event on the first night.
Having taken our table for dinner and the restaurant, being 2/3rds full, a couple arrived and were shown to a table at the far side of the restaurant to ourselves.

With the lady in smart casual dress the heavily tattooed man was dressed in an underware sleeveless vest as though he had just come off a beech and which appeared to catch the attention of many of the diners, who like us, found it quite distasteful for the standard of hotel.

On leaving we brought the matter to the attention of the restaurant manager stating, while we are far from being snobbish we would hope mention of the prefered dress code, as shown in the hotel room folder, would be brought to attention of the offending person.
It states 'Although there is no strict dress code we would appreciate no vests or bare feet'.
We were far from happy with the response from the manager who said quote ' we are trying to create a young image and do not take to much notice of what people wear as long as everyone is happy'.
We mentioned this to who we think was the duty manager who agreed with us that this was not acceptable as a reply or a way to dress and would bring the matter to the attention of the next meeting.
We do not know if it was a result of talking to him but the guy came in wearing a shirt on the following evenings.
The hotel and its staff must make its mind up if they are going to act like a 4 star hotel.

Apart from that there is a good modern image and the food, cleanliness and staff were excellent. Good room if a tad small. Possibly because of balcony.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianbunnybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of our hotel.
I am sorry that you felt we were too generous in our interpretation of our dress code.
However i would say that we have attained our 4* status in the last 18 months and
improved on our merit score and also achieved our first AA Rosette at our last inspection.
Thank you for your comments regarding the food, cleanliness and the modern feel that we
are aiming for here at the Park hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a break at this modern hotel. The Park view rooms with balcony are not particularly large but are very well appointed. We eat dinner at the hotel each night and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Staff were very helpful. Only area for improvement was the breakfast which, whilst ok, is not to the same standard as dinner. The scrambled egg should be avoided as even after sending it back to the kitchen, the replacement was not very nice and therefore didn't order it again! Apart from that a great hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PaulatDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for posting your recent review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed dining with us and found the staff helpful, however I was sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast and will pass your comments on to our chefs.
Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We stayed for two nights in September and stayed in a lovely room over looking the park. The breakfasts are very good and offer an extensive choice. We had our evening meals in the bar restaurant and the food was very good with great service. This was our second visit to The Park Hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Choose a room over looking the park.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for posting your recent review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your Park View Room, and that you enjoyed the selection offered at breakfast. I am also glad that you enjoyed the service and food you received in our 'Seasons' Bar.
I am glad that you would stay again, and look forward to welcoming you back should you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The rooms were spotless, the service was outstanding and the food was 5*.Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to deal with my difficult diet requirements. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly be back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank abcSue113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for posting your recent review of our hotel. I am very happy to read your positive comments and am glad that our team dealt well your dietary requirements. I am glad that you would recommend our hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews