We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeo Dale Hotel, Barnstaple, Devon”
Review of Yeo Dale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yeo Dale Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Barnstaple B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yeo Dale Hotel, Barnstaple, Devon”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I have recently stayed here with members of my family, covering the age spectrum, including an elderly gentleman, a young couple and a family with two small children. The hotel was very clean and spacious. Rooms nicely decorated. Food was excellant, breakfasts were a real treat, plentyfull and freshly cooked with a little treat to start. Nothing was too much trouble. Extremely plesant staff. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    65
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
70
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My business colleague and I stayed here this week and were made to feel exceptionally welcome, had great rooms, a great breakfast and were recommended some lovely places to eat. The quality of the hotel was exceptional for the money and much better than staying in a faceless, extortionate chain. Breakfast was superb and I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether for business or a leisure break!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter but at front are not too noisy except at rush hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Drayton, Middlesex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Very friendly staff and very comfortable , well equipped room. I gather all the rooms are a little different as this is a listed builiding . Loved the art work adorning the walls . Breakfast beautifully cooked, lots of choice and came with an appetizer . It is just slightly out of the town centre in a quieter location near a park and the river but you can get into the centre of Barnstaple very quickly and we were give a map with recommended restaurants . Will return again .

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so it is worth talking to the hotel to see which one would suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lundylupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have stayed here twice , once at very short notice following a family bereavement and then again a couple of weeks later and on both occasions it was a great experience. The rooms are individually decorated , with lovely touches and the bathrooms new and pristine. We stayed in 2 different rooms both of which accommodated our family of 4 comfortably. The breakfasts were excellent , freshly cooked to order and delicious. The staff were helpful and they did all they could . Would definitely stay again when in the area, and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is beautifully decorated and spotless, also very friendly. The breakfast menu had plenty to choose from. This hotel is in a very good location to see the Devon coast and Barnstable town center is just a five minute walk with lots of well known shops. I would certainly recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: I booked a small double but was upgraded to a normal double which has an on suite as some of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. A small older hotel that's been impeccably renovated/maintained. Easy parking, room spotless, bathroom pristine, good choice of breakfast. The single room I was in was small and in the roofspace so found myself imitating a monkey to avoid hitting my head on exposed rafters but it wasn't a major issue.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed at the Yeo Dale out of necessity - my son had an accident while we were on holiday in North Devon and while my wife stayed at the hospital with him overnight I was able to book a room at the Yeo Dale which I believe is the closest hotel to the Barnstaple hospital. I spent limited time at the hotel but the proprietors and staff were friendly and helpful. My room was a small single but modern, with a new and very clean bathroom and nice touches in the decor and a neat information folder in the room on the hotel, Barnstaple and things to do in Devon. Breakfast was excellent (and in a very pleasant room) - lots of choice of cooked options from full English, kippers, veggie, French Toast, cereals, fruit etc etc. Overall a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise at the front, although died down at 10.30ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chequered-Mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barnstaple hotels
1.0 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
1.0 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
1.3 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.8 km away
Cedars Inn
Cedars Inn
#1 of 3 in Sticklepath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeo Dale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeo Dale Hotel

Property: Yeo Dale Hotel
Address: 124 Pilton Street, Barnstaple EX31 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yeo Dale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive Georgian frontage, Yeo Dale hotel is an elegant town house just a 3-minute walk from Barnstaple town centre. The perfect base from which to explore the North Devon countryside. Overlooking Pilton Park and the river Yeo, the light and spacious Georgian dining room provides a perfect setting to relax over breakfast. The Yeo Dale Hotel retains many original Georgian features, including ornate plaster ceilings, a beautiful sweeping staircase and facade boasting a grand balcony. All of the individually decorated rooms offer a flat screen TV with Freeview. Some of the rooms have an i-pod docking station and DVD player. FREE WI-FI internet access is offered throughout the hotel. Room service is available. The Yeo Dale is ideally situated to discover the stunning coastline and beaches of North Devon. The hotel is close to Barnstaple rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yeo Dale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeo Dale Barnstaple
Yeo Dale Hotel Barnstaple, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing