We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stop on the way to Barnstaple.”
Review of Graylings

Graylings
Ranked #6 of 16 Quick Bites in Barnstaple
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

A bit of a wait but the food was good and this is probably the most spotless chippy I've ever been in.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank NotABadPlaceToBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Great service, fish freshly fried to order. Crispy chips.

If you eat in, you can enjoy a delicions cup of tea too.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

Treated the family to lunch today - had a variety of things from the menu and everyone commented on how lovely the food was (and we have some fussy eaters in our family!). The shop was very busy, but the service was second to none. Very clean and tidy and delicious food all around. The lovely young lady even carried my order out to the car. Cannot recommend enough.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank LeahS1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

We've been eating here for years and would always travel past other chippys to go there. We've never had a bad meal. The fish is lovely & meaty and the chips delicious. (For some reason I'm struggling to describe a good chippy chip, but this is one! Not crunchy, just... good!)
You can phone in your order which will reduce your wait time as they do get busy and there's usually a queue.
There are a handful of small tables inside the actual takeaway if you want to eat in. The parking outside is free although it can get busy. It's next to a convenience store so you can grab a few cold beers & a desert while you're there!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Spoonios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

This is a wonderful fish and chip shop that serves take out customers but it is possible to eat in the shop as I do. The portion sizes of the fish are big and very tasty as the food is freshly cooked. A good point is that unlike so many similar outlets the batter covering the fish is not very thick. Unusually the prices for dining in are the same as take out which is a great feature. They also serve a very good coffee. Staff, despite the big workload in the shop, are always friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Graylings also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Graylings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing