We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“uncomfortable beds !!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“uncomfortable beds !!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the radisson in durham.
The hotel and staff were excellent , very professional and friendly.
The only critism is the bed was rock hard and we both felt that we didnt have a good nights cos of that !

Room Tip: I would opt for a suit it was excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    869
    297
    88
    46
See reviews for
312
1,069
73
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's location. It's right next to the river and the entrance is just across the road from the bridge which takes you over the bridge in right into the city centre. Easy reach for the catherdral and the castle. The spa is lovely and the staff couldn't do enough to make the stay a joy. We quite easily have made the break a full week.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Nice new building in a scenic location fronted by River Wear. From my room on the front corner I could also see Durham Cathedral. The hotel is an easy walk to the town centre. The hotel has a modern "Scandinavian" decor as you would expect from Radisson (even the toilet was Swedish!) The room was spacious and well-equipped and the bed was good. Breakfast was very good. The price was good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reatigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your five star review of the hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel and our fantastic location.
I look foward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

hello this is the first time i have ever used this or any other website to rate a stay before. but thought i would hvae to after such an amazing stay.
the room was great, the views were fantastic, and all the staff were so friendly and proffesional. but have to name one member off staff who was polite, helpfull and very proffesional. his name was adam and the service we recieved in the restaurant on the night we stayed was fantastic, even though the it was busy he never left us waiting on food or drinks, and looked very trendy with his glasses and skinny tie. and to who ever made the chocolate fondant mmmmmm.
thank you for a fantastic stay if we can we will certainly look to visit again

Room Tip: we didnt take the business class upgrade but probably should have as it is great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b1973c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your five star review with the Trip Advisor community.
I am pleased that you had an awesome stay and that you enjoyed Adam's service so much that you remembered him ny name. I am sure that your words will be an inspiration to him to keep on delivering excellent service (as well as irrrestible chocolate fondants)
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I had a couple of nights free from our daughter who was away with school. We decided to see our favourite comedian, Dave Gorman, who was playing in Durham. We felt the need to 'splash' out and treat ourselves....Thankfully, we ignored the bad reviews and stayed at 'Radisson Blu' in Durham.
Our room was large and clean. They had thought of every little extra to make our stay pleasureable! The staff were helpful and friendly. Dinner at Filini's was delicious and reasonably priced. As for breakfast...This had wide choices of everything a person could want!
Best of all, the hotel served until 12 noon! Thus no needing to get up too early at a weekend, race around and be down for breakfast long before you're ready to eat!
An excellent hotel.
We would stay there again and certainly recommend to others.
Thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BERNIEUK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your five star review of the hotel.
Im pleased that you picked up on all the positive comments we have on Trip Advisor and chose to sat here. Im pleased that you enjoyed the show at the Gala , we are so close to them it must have been convienient for you to just walk over the bridge.
Im happy that you made good use of the facilities as well and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Good location, Price average, rooms good, we did not eat in the hotel as it was a bit pricey, friendly staff and good parking

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Radisson Blu hotel in Durham on May 5th for 1 night. We went business class which is well worth the extra money. The room was lovely, clean, spacious and had fantastic views. The reception was warm and friendly and we loved that we could check in at 14.00 instead of 15.00 as in many other hotels. The free bar for an hour and a half was fabulous, lovely wine and bottles of beer included. We could not fault anything about our stay. The pool was lovely and the spa and sauna likewise. Towels were provided and toiletries in the showers and changing rooms, hairdriers and straighteners also which is always a plus. The breakfast which was included was amazing. Everything about it was fresh and plenty of everything. We didnt feel rushed even though the hotel was very busy the time we stayed. Tables were cleaned speedily and staff very helpful. We can not wait to return,and have recommended this hotel to many friends and family. Fab location, fab hotel , fab staff, keep up the good work ( and who needs biscuits in the room??!! pffft) :0)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathryne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities that the hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed it so much that you have recommended it to other people.
That is always very pleasing to hear!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!
Regards
Neal
PS I agree with you about the biscuits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.3 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing