We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bowburn Hall(Durham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveller rating
405
367
157
54
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
367
157
54
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotel stylemain buildingfish and chipssunday lunchroad noisecourtyard roomdurham citypark and rideexcellent value for moneybooked this hotelsconesmain coursean evening mealmember of staffnight's sleeptwo night stayfour poster bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 3 nights here over Easter 2018. Very friendly, welcomimg and knowledgeable receptionist. We stayed in a 4 poster room that was comfy and spacious. Games were available and we made use of the compendium set although others were available (connect 4, monopoly, puzzles etc)
All the staff were courteous and friendly. The room was very warm almost too warm. The downside of the room we had was that the windows were right next to the kitchen extractor fans so not very pleasant smells when opened.
Would definitely recommend. We only had soup in the restaurant but it was very tasty. There was plenty of choice for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ange P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Ange,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Leeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This s a truly dog friendly hotel, though we have stayed here without our dog in the past and had great experiences. The staff are great, friendly, and fun, always trying to provide whatever they can for you.

The food here is excellent, and as vegetarians we love herb pancakes, stuffed with mushrooms, and served in a delicious Parmesan sauce. The staff go out of their way to try to meet any dietary needs and to explain if they think items on the menu might not meet dietary needs.

For this stay, in a dog friendly room, we found the room comfortable, clean, and pleasant.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank DrEddieHalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for leaving us a review for your stay. We always do our very best to make each stay memorable, even for our four legged friends. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Leeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely afternoon tea at the honest lawyer plenty to eat and extra pots of tea if required.the choice of sandwiches were not given to us they just appeared so if a vegetarian you need to tell the staff when booking.
Emma who served us was friendly ,chatty , smart and new about the hotel and its surrounding areas. We booked this on a coupon site keep a look out as vouchers are valid for about 3-4 months so well worth buying for a gift etc. Thanks again emma

Room Tip: Model rooms with parking outside
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for your visit, we always do our best to accommodate for all dietary requirements. We will pass on your kind words to our staff and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Leeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I suppose you get what you pay for, we stayed in a courtyard room as we had our pooch with us, and the rooms are slightly dark and dated. Although clean.
The heating was stuck on high all night, and as most hotels offer king size beds now this double felt small.
The rooms were also quite noisy.
The evening food was great and the bar friendly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Donnalj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for leaving us a review for your stay. We are currently updating all of our rooms, some rooms are already decorated and this is an ongoing project. All of our rooms have now got new furniture which was delivered on the 2nd April. We really hope to welcome to you back so you can see the changes we have made in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Leeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, what can we say! Eight of us visited the hotel today for afternoon tea and it was absolutely delicious! We particularly loved the scones and warm savouries. The staff were very helpful and attentive, not rushing us despite the volume of customers! We will definitely return and can highly recommend this lovely venue!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lynneyousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review, we are glad you have enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon .

Kind regards
Leeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews