We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Richard Kinley
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom

Fantastic Experience

Review of Durham Castle
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 8, 2023
Our twin room on the top floor was fairly basic but adequate, with an en suite shower room and tea/coffee making facilities. It was also up a lot of stairs, an awful lot of stairs. However, come on, IT'S A CASTLE. How often do you get to stay in a converted 12th century castle keep, with views over the green to the magnificent cathedral, literally a couple of hundred metres away, all as part of a World Heritage site. Coming back to the castle after an evening out, through the special little door in the huge main entrance gate, into the inner courtyard surrounded by the keep and the Great Hall, well, it was pretty fantastic. And, we had our breakfast in the Great Hall, feeling very like Harry Potter. Overall, an experience like no other and not to be missed.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Top floor, overlooking the cathedral green is where you want to be.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$155
  • HotelIndigo.com
    C$155
  • Lol.travel
    C$150
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Durham Castle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    C$90
  • Vio.com
    C$73
  • Hotels.com
    C$104
0.9 km from Durham Castle
Free parking
C$202
  • Expedia.com
    C$202
  • Vio.com
    C$167
  • Hotels.com
    C$207
0.5 km from Durham Castle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$134
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Durham Castle
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
C$145
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$145
  • Vio.com
    C$141
  • Expedia.com
    C$145
0.6 km from Durham Castle
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Exterior
C$200
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$236
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$198
  • Hotels.com
    C$235
4.5 km from Durham Castle
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$97
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$101
  • Agoda.com
    C$90
  • Hotels.com
    C$101
4.3 km from Durham Castle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$89
  • Expedia.com
    C$107
  • Agoda.com
    C$78
  • Hotels.com
    C$106
2.9 km from Durham Castle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
East Side 1
C$120
C$110
  • Expedia.com
    C$120
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$120
8.8 km from Durham Castle
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$99
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
3.6 km from Durham Castle
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Durham
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
147
63
27
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
147
63
27
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews student accommodation guided tour free tour palace green university college fantastic location suite wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 252 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2023

Fantastic tour by third year history student. This chap was very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about his subject. He made the tour of Durham castle/university college most enjoyable. This place is definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorit716
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 18, 2022

This was a good value tour of the main parts of the castle. For us, the tour was a great length and right level of detail. Our student guide Molly was really clear, informative and friendly. really interesting and well delivered, thank you.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2022

I had been on a guided tour in durham castle before and loved it. I decided that next time i went to durham i would go during the uni holidays so i could stay there. Two friends joined me. The castle itself is wonderful and very central, and there was a good choice of food at the buffet breakfast. However, the booking confirmation stated we would get permits for parking on the palace green (though no guarantee of a space) and as we were staying, we were also advised that we would get a free guided tour. Despite sending them an email a week before our visit and leaving messages on 2 of their different phone numbers included in the booking email (couldn't get to speak to anyone on the phone despite trying several times), nobody got back to me to clarify the process for the permits and if we could book the free tour in advance. On arrival we were told no permits were being issued due to a wedding, and the free guided tours had been discontinued 2 weeks before. Nobody had got in touch with us to advise us of this. We had a twin room and a single - both en suite. Not expecting much as it is student accommodation. However, the single room had not been dusted in weeks - fluff on the kettle and furniture, and hairs were on the shower room wall tiles. The main light in the twin room wasn't working. Reported the light in the morning to the porters (3 of them were present) who advised it would be fixed by the evening. It wasn't. The porter on duty in the evening said he knew nothing about it. We were there for 2 nights, and neither room was cleaned during our stay. Total lack of communication was disappointing to say the least, and general standards of hygiene/care were poor.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Y5910ANangelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 6, 2021 via mobile

On a day out in Durham and couldn't wait to view Durham Castle, an absolutely must go destination if you're planning a trip to this beautiful town
With parts of the castle dating from 1072 ,it was built on the orders of William The Conqueror, stones from the cliff below the castle were used in the construction of Durham Castle, its such an iconic structure, looks amazing, since 1837 it's been home to Durham University College and has even been used in the famous Harry Potter movies ,I loved visiting here ,along with the Cathedral, its the most famous site in this pretty town, if you're planning a trip to Durham a must go destination.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2021

We did a self guided tour. The welcome by the students was great and it set the scene for a very interesting visit. Thoroughly fascinating and a treat to be able to walk through outside of term -time.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank NewZealand-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews