We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dwemys664756
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Great basic accommodation

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 13, 2024
Everything we needed for a one night stopover . Room was clean and comfortable . Our double bed was 2 singles joined but very functional. Some outside noise which my partner noticed but didn't keep us awake. Great shower with toiletries . Breakfast available at health spa across the way . No vegetarian option on menu ,it was a basic breakfast but edible my partner had full English, I had jam on toast. Its a ten min drive into Durham town centre and cost 10 -13 pound.
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Price, Owner at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review
Responded Jun 14, 2024
dwemys664756,

Thank you for sharing a lovely review - I will share with the hotel team and share the health club feedback with the Resort Manager.

Hopefully see you again very soon.

Best Wishes, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$70
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$48
  • Trip.com
2.0 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free parking
C$147
  • Expedia.com
    C$147
  • Algotels
    C$130
  • HotelIndigo.com
    C$147
2.6 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$201
  • Expedia.com
    C$201
  • Agoda.com
    C$162
  • Hotels.com
    C$201
2.5 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Exterior
C$200
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$211
  • Agoda.com
    C$191
  • Hotels.com
    C$211
1.6 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$131
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$131
  • Algotels
    C$127
  • Expedia.com
    C$131
2.8 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free Wifi
Pool
C$149
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$124
  • Expedia.com
    C$124
  • Hotels.com
    C$124
2.6 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Restaurant
Room service
C$205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • Expedia.com
    C$205
  • Tripadvisor
    C$205
3.5 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free Wifi
Free parking
East Side 1
C$107
  • Expedia.com
    C$102
  • Hotels.com
    C$102
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$107
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$101
  • Agoda.com
    C$93
  • Hotels.com
    C$101
6.3 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$93
  • Vio.com
4.1 km from Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Durham
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
293
299
125
64
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
299
125
64
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews health club health centre gym facilities road noise plenty of parking retail park bus stop swimming pool city centre spa break reception staff excellent value for money good size one night stay would stay again short stay family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 839 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2024

Stayed 1st and 2nd June, What a lovely hotel to stay in when we arrived Sue, sorry Susan the boss made us feel welcome also Mandy the singer on reception Colin as well the quiet one and also Karl who was on reception at night , Sharon the cleaner and Vikkie who was in the Cafe thankyou so much you made out stay wonderful
Steve and Michele Petryszyn from bedfordshire

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Price, Owner at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2024

Dear 923MicheleP,

Haha - what a great read - so pleased the team have all made an impression on you.

See you again very soon.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2024

Friendly, helpful staff at hotel front desk and also in the spa. Short taxi ride into the centre of Durham. Worth booking direct as spa access is included in price.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Price, Owner at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2024

Dear Phil F,

Great feedback and we agree - great location just off the A11 and a short taxi/bus ride to city centre. And yes if you book direct you get free access to health Club and swimming pool.

See you again soon.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2024

Overall a good stay I have to say the breakfast was the only let down it was very basic and service of the same left a lot to be desired

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank prowcl644038
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Price, Owner at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2024

Dear prowcl644038,

Thank you for the positive review - Sorry to see the feedback regarding Breakfast quality and service. I will share with my colleagues at the Health Club.

Hopefully this doesn't deter you from staying again.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2024

Would definitely recommend this little gem. We stayed for my birthday and had an amazing time. The spa facility is amazing

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jchipp320079
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Price, Owner at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2024

Dear jchipp320079,


Great review and feedback - so glad you enjoyed and took the time to share - much appreciated.

See you soon, Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2024

Always stay at hotel whilst visiting family in Durham. Love to use the health club. On a good bus route so car not always needed. Staff very friendly and helpful always.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jbeal192440
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Price, Owner at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2024

Dear jbeal192440,

Thank you for returning again. Yes the health Club is a great addition to the hotel. Complimentary use when booking direct. See you again soon.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews