We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
18
17
4
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
17
4
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 54 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

On the positive side Nikki could not have been more helpful. When we needed a bedside table and lamp she brought one. When we asked for than just the two pillows in the room she brought more. But why weren't these already there, as standard? The breakfast was very good: I always judge a hotel on tbecsausage served. This was really tasty.
Unfortunately the general decor of the Coaching Inn lets it down. Dusty, dingy and tired. We had come for my grandaughter's birthday and shecalwsys like to come up to 'inspect tgechotel room we stay in. Wiith a child's innocence she announced from the bathroom (a very narrow space where the shower door can not be opened properly- you have to squeeze in and out. See picture) loudly "Ugghh Grandad the shower is dirty. Come and see" the skirting in the bathroom was covered inlayers of csjed on dirt and dust. Most unpleasant. The whole place has had less than the minimum spent on upkeep and repair, which unfortunately lets it down. The tv on the room was a a big screen and more than adequate btw.
I could get used to the fact that the front door is locked from 10 am to 4 pm. And after 10 pm you let yourself in by a side door and make your way up the back stairs through the complicated short, poorly lit corridors. But the general dinginess of the place means we won't be going back on our next trip to Wigan.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Flanman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2017

What matters to me is a comfortable night's sleep, a lovely breakfast in the morning and I don't want to spend a fortune. Add to this a very welcoming host and the Coaching Inn fits the bill. I stayed for 1 night and have already booked again. It's not modern design nor swish decoration but it is cosy,comfortable and clean with everything you will need in the room. I slept very well in a comfortable bed, enjoyed a nice hot shower before heading down for breakfast. The choice was as good as any hotel I have stayed in with fruit juice, yoghurt and cereal, excellent full English Breakfast with coffee and toast a plenty. Very pleased with the value for money and service provided.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Jacky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night through late rooms.com and was charged £125 for our double room. We had a family emergency followed sadly by a death in the family and had to get to Liverpool in a hurry. Late rooms.com found us this hotel after I had tried for hours to get somewhere as near to Liverpool as possible. The landlady kindly offered to allow us late arrival (22.30) due to our predicament, and a free breakfast in the morning, but that is where the goodness stopped. The rooms are usually charged at around £54 to which we were not informed of by late rooms.com.
On way to our room the staircase was dirty the quality of the room was very poor. Skirting boards were dusty and dirty as were the walls. We had a large drainage pipe running through our toilet that made the most horrendous noise when other hotel users flushed their toilet, this kept us awake most of the night.
We had not long sat down to breakfast when we got a call to return to the hospital in Liverpool immediately, because if this we didn't have the chance to complain about the room or the price. I contacted laterooms.com but was offered no refund. Below are some of the pictures of our room
I will never use late rooms.com again and will not stay in this hotel again

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Stayed here for months with work. Value for money hotel, certainly worth the £30 a night! Comfy bed, clean bathroom with shower that works properly. Can't complain at all! The Rock Inn pub just down the road was worth visiting for a decent pint.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky_hardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Thanks for your comments they are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2015

We wanted a clean budget hotel. The room was spotless with tea coffee and a kettle for our convenience. The breakfast offered a selection of cereals, fruit juice, toast ,lots of jams and spreads and a selection of tea or coffee. For a bit extra you could have a cooked breakfast. There was also a list of speciality coffees at a little extra. The couple Nicky and Bob who run the hotel work hard to help you enjoy your stay and make you feel welcome. We had a quiet nights sleep as noise and drunks are not tolerated .We found the beds comfortable and bedding pure white. There was a television in our room also two lovely chairs and a desk. There is a secure car park at the back of the Hotel with cctv. This is a no frills Hotel it will not suit everybody especially if you need a lift as it is an old building When we come back to Wigan we will be booking in here again.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Jeanette2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. Guests comments are very important to us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Wigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews