We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great holiday at Sonachan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonachan House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonachan House
Ranked #9 of 101 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great holiday at Sonachan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

A real relaxing break at Sonachen except for the Girls winning the board games that Julie and Tony provided at which they also joined in. I cannot praise the service and accommodation enough.
I have told many friends about Sonachen House and they noted the Phone number in case they get to Paignton.We arrived on motor cycles all 14 of us and were greeted with happy smiles and many cups of tea and biscuits,what a welcome!! Looking forward to another visit,hope its not to far away as I miss the excellent meals

Room Tip: cannot add a tip as I have had the same excellent room on every stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
51
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Yet another great stay at this family run hotel, which is located in Paignton close to Goodrington Beach.

The hosts are very friendly and the food is excellent. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSSESDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

the welcome was great with a nice cuppa after a long trip to get here. great place to stay. i have never seen a place with so much information leaflets on things to do & other local info.nice & clean. quiet location. the only downside for me was breakfast was not early enough [08:00 was the earliest]. the only other matter was the noise some nights from the bar area but i was in a down stairs room close by. would i recommend that would be a yes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wahaejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were welcomed with a cup of tea and alocal map, which was a good start! The room was spacious and comfortable and overlooked the garden. Sonachan House is a short walk from town and has onsite parking, so is ideally situated. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just got back from an absolutely great break, staying with Tony & Julie at Sonachan House. This was our second time here but even better than the first.
We are a family of 5 with three young children so have found it difficult in the past to find such high standard accomodation. Sonochan House provides this and much more. The cleanliness and standards of the rooms is very high and gives a very homely feel to your stay. Tony & Julie provide a service that even some well known hotels struggle to give and their hard work in keeping this high standard is evident.
The breakfast in the morning is great and one of the best ones we have had - the children are well catered for too.
We cannot recommend this guest house enough and plan to return whenever we are in the area. If you intend on visiting Devon please give Sonachan a go - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We were welcomed and made to feel at home instantly. You won't find anyone better than the Smyth family to run a bed and breakfast as the teamwork was faultless. Our room was immaculate from the moment we stepped through the door. When returning to our room from days out towels had been changed, tea/coffee making facilities had been replenished and floors had been hoovered. Food was cooked and presented to a high standard every time.

Room Tip: All rooms are to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Just back from a weekend break in Paignton, staying for the first time at Sonachan House. Everything was perfect. A lovely welcome with a cup of tea, a map and local info on where to eat and drink. A really good room, bright and spacious with a sea view. Shower was good and the bed comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.8 km away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#8 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beecroft Lodge
Beecroft Lodge
#6 of 101 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 km away
Briars
Briars
#11 of 101 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 km away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 101 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonachan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonachan House

Property: Sonachan House
Address: 35 St. Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonachan House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, licensed Guest House ideally situated for the numerous attractions of Paignton, including the beach, pier, multiplex cinema, crazy golf, harbour, the green, Torbay Leisure Centre and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway. Goodrington beach is a short walk away where you will find Quaywest Water Park and many other water attractions. We have 9 en-suite bedrooms all of which have beverage tray, TV, clock radio & hairdryer. We have a bar where you can relax with a drink and/or join in the games and quizzes that we organize. Guests are welcome to enjoy our gardens where you can relax and take in the peace & quiet while you have a pot of tea or something stronger! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Sonachan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing